Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Roll Initiative

by Lynx - Compo Entry

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Take Tabletop gameplay to a new level, were rolling the dice isn't just your fate, but now your WEAPON!
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bash through endless waves of creatures and enemies molded like tabletop miniatures with the aid of f your 3 trusty dice. Roll the correct number and watch your foes fall far beneath the feet.... of your table, that is! CHOOSE WISELY! For each dice will give you a different probability of rolling that perfectly needed number.

Also enjoy the 3 part soundtrack.

---------------
CONTROLS:
---------------
RIGHT / LEFT: Toggle between dice (2-sided coin, 6-sided die, 8-sided die)
DOWN: Roll Dice (Changes your dice value)
SPACE: ATTACK! (Throw the dice at your foes)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#25Audio4.11
#26Theme4.27
#30Graphics4.36
#35Innovation4.11
#60Overall3.91
#162Mood3.50
#339Fun3.32
#412Humor2.98

Comments

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20am

Not sure if it's just me, but the Web version is not loading up. I might just be lagging to death though!

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22am

The graphics and music are excellent.

The concept is pretty neat, but it isn't a ton of fun because all you're doing is rolling a die.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

Very neat! Could be cool if there was more math puzzle involved, like if the previous throw influences the next throw after you change dice.
Soundtrack fits perfectly. Nice work!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

Very cool game! Love the take on the theme!

Awesome job!

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42am

I't not you Stuffedgravy. It's a big WebGL file, it take about 10 seconds or more to load...unfortunately there's no loading bar to tell players that. I'll see what I can do

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:18am

Neat idea, using probabilities to one's favour. Music was well produced.

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:19am

This is pretty clever. It took me a little bit to get the mechanics but once I got it, it was pretty cool. Sometimes the random numbers are a little frustrating but all in all it works. Well done.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20am

Amazingly well done graphics and music, and gameplay concept is interesting as well. Some thinking involved with picking which dice to roll in order to improve your chances, but with a bit of mechanics fine-tuning could become an excellent game.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23am

Wow, what a great game! Such cool idea and was fun to play. The music made it even better, and was tight.
It was kinda slow at times, but maybe you just didn't want it to be too hard. Difficulty should be scaled better, and when switching between dice the old number stays up. Maybe you should have made it re-rolled when you switch?
Still minor nit picks, but I REALLY liked this game, haha.

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23am

Awesome game! The best i've seen in this edition so far! Congrats

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24am

It wouldn't load in either of my browsers. (like, no load bar)

I tried the windows download, but when i try to play: "Unable to load mono library from [file directory]"

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24am

Crashed chrome loading the web version, but worked fine in firefox.
Cool idea, and well executed.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38am

Graphically excellent, and the mechanic is interesting! Although in the end there's really no challenge to it. There's no penalty for just throwing every roll, and in the end I'm assuming that it's purely based on luck. But a really nice project, and that's an impressive soundtrack to boot.

natalye says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47am

This game is a lot of fun! I was very engaged in it, the flow of switching the dice and throwing them is great.
Really nice tempo with the animations and music.
One small bug - when switching dice, the previous number appears on them, even if it's "out of the range", such as a '7' on a 2-sided one.
I had many times when I accidentally pressed down again, after seeing a number I wanted, and then I instinctively pressed 'up'. So that was sometimes frustrating.

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50am

Lol! Natalye, yeah I even do that up arrow thing subconsciously too and I've been playing it all weekend!

Yeah, the bug with the number is a known issue, just was running out of time, so I put that off to the side to do other things.

Krisjet says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:15am

Very good looking entry! Would be fun if it was more to the game than just rolling one die, maybe rolling combinations of 2 dice would lead to more "strategic" decisions? Now the dominant strategy seems to be to roll the die with the least sides that has the closest enemies number on it. Good game though, I think with some work this could be a lot of fun. I got in the zone for a bit there! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25am

Hehe, neat! You could do a lot more with this concept, I'm sure. Somehow I feel like without physical dice it doesn't feel nearly as frantic (I've played realtime dice-rolling games before). ^^;

scottthoo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30am

Nice graphic, pretty cool game play for a boardgames player. the UI is cool and timer makes me tension. good job ! ;)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51am

Goes to show how great a simple mechanic done well can be. Soundtrack was awesome.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:26am

Super stylish with a unique and interesting game mechanic! The first screen is a brilliant way to make sure you understand the controls before playing.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Superb stuff. Polished and well presented, great audio work. Well done.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Woah. This game just FEELS great. Pretty nice job! Graphics and music is excellent, the overall style is pretty good and consistent.

Really really polished :) had lots of fun!

Sigrath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Haha awesome game! Really cool concept. Solid graphics and music and the gameplay is fun. It was just a bit disorientating when the "tutorial" stopped and the game started.

All in all, well done.

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Clean idea, nicely realized.

BeardyBard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

I personally hate dices irl, but this way of rolling dices is pretty innovative.
Anyway very cool.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:28am

Graphics and Music are great, but the gameplay is pretty uneventful (just random number generator and enemies marching towards you). Digging the music, it feels like a remix from something. Interesting!

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

A bit too easy, but still fun stuff.

ruerob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34am

Very very awesome nice great wondeful game! Thank you for this entry!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Love the concept, kickass soundtrack, clean graphics, prefect!

Crumpet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04pm

I really struggle to find anything to complain about. I racked my brains for a good few minutes and couldn't come up with anything other than "The gameplay could do with some spicing up after some time" and "More screenshake".

This is an achievement worth being proud of.

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Art is very clean.
Music is good, although it kinda drowns out the sfx, making it a little difficult to tell when I've made a roll and roll the same number twice.
think the difficulty should maybe ramp up a little quicker.
Neat concept.

Jon Reid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Very nice! Sometimes the use of the random generator felt unfair as I had no control over what was coming up, and what numbers wernt. Very nice entry though.

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:34am

Interesting mechanic, and the visuals are fantastic. Well done. The fact that the numbers on the dice are randomly though seemed a bit unfair.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Cool idea XD Kind of hard to play though

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:06pm

This is one of the best thing I saw this LDJAM! Amazing gameplay idea, amazing art, cool music! The controls are a little off and it feels like we're slowed down by the, but otherwise VERY impressive!

Bandersnatch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:17am

The concepts neat, but it gets repetitive quickly, that and a super unlucky string can royally screw you over without anything you can do about it.

Makay says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:02am

The concept was pretty neat and both the music and graphics were amazing. It's really easy to grasp but gets really hard when you have a lot of enemies coming at once. It really gets your blood pumping as you keep missing the number you need to clear the board. Had fun playing it for sure!

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:40am

Perfect example of how a simple game mechanic can make for an addictive and enjoyable experience. Very polished, and especially impressive for a compo game. Congrats.

NMcCoy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Excellent! Well done.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Loved the graphics and sound! The concept was pretty cool, but I wish it wasn't all random, and luck.Neat game, and cool take on the theme!

Tuism says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Man! That was good. And I hate dice. The presentation is slick, the music is awesome, the graphics are really pretty good.

BUT :) (There's always but :P)

1. It's a game about chance, and because it's about chance, the more times you throw, the more chances you have. So... Nothing is stopping me from just spamming down and space on the 8 sider. Nothing at all. So the game pretty much became meaningless. Needs an incentive to throw accurately or a disincentive to throw recklessly.

2. RNG means if your number doesn't come up, it doesn't come up. Dice sucks :P

3. The sound effects are completely terrible compared to the music. Guess that's why the volume's low.

4. Love the doof doof screen shake to the music. Nice touch.

5. That wasn't a but. Ooops.

Great entry :) Lacking in a few areas but great.

Tuism says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Oh and: Needs a bit more easing into the action - it was very confusing to see the giant number etc. It really took a bit of panic before understanding what the game is about.

And this roll has nothing to do with actually rolling initiative, so bogus name :P

Dorgam says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Nice game but you need to work more on your mechanics of play because it gets a little boring in the end.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:11am

I liked it. I like Dungeons & Dragons. Star Wars Edge of the Empire. Star Wars. Vampire the Werewolf. GURPSMAN. ShadowBladeRunner. Dawgs in the vineyard. ^_-

My compoliments to the chief, Atari Lynx.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:10am

I really liked the art style, Great work. The UI is really polished, The concept is cool.

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:15am

Good stuff guys! Really liked the graphics. Weird concept, but in a good way. Once I started understanding the gameplay, it made it a lot more fun :)

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:11am

Very interesting concept. Looks really good :)

Insality says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Glad to see you again on this LD ;)
Nice music and very stylish graphics, as excpected. Great work, man
hard to play with RNG, but i got a lot of score ;)

broknecho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:54pm

So I really liked this concept. The execution was really well done. My only gripe with it is the randomness worked against you a lot. Sometimes I would re-roll a die and it would get the same number as the previous. This ended up just looking unresponsive as the number didn't change in the background. Accidentally rolling past the number you wanted hurt you a lot.

Also, I had it times where the number of the enemy just didn't show up so that enemy got across the screen. Nothing I could do about that.

I think this is a really cool interpretation of the theme. The presentation was 6 stars top notch.

I almost think the dice should just be used to add to an attack instead of being the whole attack with exact numbers.

But none the less great job!!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:27am

Fun game, gets a bit repetitive over time, and the skewed angle is a bit odd to me, but otherwise very good.

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:32am

This is a really neat idea, but it goes on forever. It would have benefitted from ramping up the speed of oncoming enemies faster, I think, to create a shorter play session. It also would have benefitted from not having the number attached to a piece be random. You had a good visual variety of pieces, and if each piece had been attached to the same number all the time, peripheral vision would have helped me figure out which number(s) I needed at any given time. Some indicator that the die number had changed would also be nice; sometimes the number seemed "stuck" when I'm sure what happened is that I randomly got the same number again.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]