Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Static

by albinobat - Compo Entry

Aliens are invading your neighbourhood and are after your freshly picked crops! Generate static electricity by rubbing yourself on the carpet and zap those aliens away!


You play as an adorable blue fluffball, use the mouse to control him.

Use the (A) + (D) or (left) + (right) keys to move the screen left or right.

Use (Shift) to move faster.

Use the left mouse button to zap the aliens.


I only had 24 hours to finish this since I kept changing ideas

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#468Innovation3.23
#513Humor2.77
#653Audio2.44
#675Theme3.19
#825Mood2.58
#848Graphics2.54
#859Overall2.84
#864Fun2.65

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18am

The left mouse button doesn't appear to do anything.

rlangewi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27am

@Suese - you have to first build up a charge back in the building to be able to zap by clicking.

Creative idea, maybe not a ton of long-lasting appeal, but what is there is well done!

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:05am

Neat idea for the unconventional weapon. I really like the rubbing on the carpet to generate the static mechanic. The waves were a bit easy once you charge up to full and could pretty much clear the entire wave in one go. Well done!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:15am

If only it was charging up faster! Arrrgh. Good job thought.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08am

I admit I had to read the comments to see how the game works... really creative idea, good graphics too!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:25am

You should really have made some ingame tutorial or something to explain how the game mecanic works.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30am

10/10 would rub myself on the carpet again

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29am

Left mouse is a juke but I like rolling on the carpet, fun stuff.

petitpois says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:48am

Left mouse button isn't zapping the enemies.

BobMorate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:53am

Pretty fun game, good job! I loved the idea of rubbing the character on the carpet with the mouse cursor and the ability to zap more than one alien at the same time if positioned correctly! On the other hand, I think the either the waves are way too long, or I am not informed on when the wave is cleared and a new one is starting. It would be useful to have a sense of accomplishment :)

Great entry overall, congratulations!

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44am

Great game, very original idea, good job!

albinobat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:53am

I was working on putting in waves and increasing difficulty, but I ran out of time. I didn't remove the wave starting notification because I wanted to let the player know that the game has started and the danger is coming :P

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Weird game, I like it~! good job!

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I liked the carpet idea.I had trouble reading the instructions.

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Awesome game! Interesting game mechanic, never seen anything like it before.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

decent game. good job :)

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:32am

Overall a nice game. It's very innovative and fun.
It lack graphics and audio, but the idea is rock-solid.
You need some more enemies, some power-ups and you've got a great game.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Great idea for a weapon, makes me think of Peter Griffin in his onesie.

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:40pm

This is pretty fun! WOW. If you're going to polish it up and sell, please put it in the Play Store. I'll want to purchase it but I don't have an iOS device.

albinobat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:14pm

@ranmaru90

Once I save up enough money to get the mobile extension of My game creation program I would definitely look into finishing the game and putting it on there

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:56am

Like the style!

safran says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:29am

Best innovation so far!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Loved it! Really like the idea of the game! Maybe the sound effects could use some improving, but other then that, I love it! Giving a good rating!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:20am

Interesting game, I can see this being a cool mobile game. Just needs to be more obvious that you need to build up static charge before you can zap the enemies. I'm not sure everyone realized you could move your mouse back and forth faster to make it charge up.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:44pm

HAhahaha! I like the idea behind the game mechanic! Well done! :D

DesignerNap says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:38pm

PRetty good fun and happy audio!

lizard455 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Really interesting mechanic!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]