Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Candy Factory Simulator 2015

by Eggplant - Jam Entry

This is my friend and my entry. We wrote it in python/pygame, so compiling was a nightmare. Within the "build" there's a folder and in there there is an executable called 'main'. I couldn't get it to work but it may work on another computer. You will probably need Python 2.7 and Pygame for Python 2.7 in order to get it to work. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Python: https://www.python.org/
Pygame: http://www.pygame.org/news.html

So basically in our game you are an alien race that runs a candy factory and who's goal is to kill everyone with obesity. This is your unconventional weapon. You have to be strategic in buying things and managing your money.

Thank you for playing/rating! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#621Audio(Jam)2.20
#743Humor(Jam)2.40
#823Theme(Jam)2.87
#840Graphics(Jam)2.53
#852Fun(Jam)2.56
#954Innovation(Jam)2.19
#974Mood(Jam)2.13
#1041Overall(Jam)2.38
#2054Coolness28%

Comments

eott says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:31am

I could not run the packaged version, but I was able to run the python "raw" with python 3.3 + pygame, strangely enough.

I liked the concept and the game played well and feature-complete (for an LD game, I mean). Unfortunately the game explained itself rather poorly and seemed unbalanced. Eventually I figured out the relationships between the stats and the buy options, but a short info screen or tutorial was amiss. I realize the timeframe probably forbade it.

The pixel art for the factory was kinda cute, but scaled up too much, I'd have prefered a smaller view for the factory and the stats being more cleanly organized.

The sounds were okay, but the music stopped after switching to the ingame view and only played on the title screen. A bummer, because it's good.

Overall I'd say a solid game, that would have been a good game with a few turns and tweaks.

Eggplant says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Thanks for the response. I understand it had a few shortcomings which were unfortunately due to time restraints. Hopefully we can do better next time! :)

rudra says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:15am

Pretty nice one :) Very fun to play , Good work :)

Eggplant says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Thank you rudra!

f7f5 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:53am

Gameplay was a bit odd - as soon as I bought some fat, clients would start to decrease and I could never recover and game was inevitably over after a bit.

kunzbe says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:06pm

can't play, crashed :(

LadyEmaSkye says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:45pm

*Hears that the graphics were "kinda cute".*

*That is all that matters.*

*Ignores the rest of the statements about the graphics.*

Eggplant says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:23am

@f7f5 Unfortunately due to time constraints we couldn't perfect the algorithms for controlling all the factors, so it is far from perfect.

@kunzbe Unfortunately Pygame sucks in that you can't make working EXEs so you'd need Python 2.7 and Pygame to run it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]