Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Heist

by blaster391 - Compo Entry

//The Windows Build is the most tested, so it recommended.

#BEFORE YOU PLAY#

I coded everything tied to framerate. I regret this, so now to get the game in a playable state you have to lock framerate to 60fps, the easiest way to do this is set graphics options to FANTASTIC on the launcher.


#################

ROB A BANK!

You are a typical bank heister, but with a twist, you can hack the police and turn them to your side, for a time...

FEATURES:
LOOT
SOMEWHAT COMPETENT AI
NO CRASHING*
THE BEST DRAWN VAN YOU WILL EVER SEE
MUSIC**
HD GRAPHICS***



*Cannot guarantee
**Some sort of sound
***This is just a lie

REVIEWS FOR "THE HEIST"
Willhelm: "7.8/10 too much gold"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Mood3.33
#395Innovation3.33
#401Overall3.33
#470Audio2.85
#515Fun3.10
#634Theme3.24
#672Graphics2.86
#764Humor2.32
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30pm

You died too fast since the guards were moving quickly and not enough time to get around them. Found $125 though.

YM says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41pm

I am struggling with the controls, and having to swap manually to the hacked person after performing the hack takes time and wastes it.

b3jh24 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:10am

Nice game, but you can really only get 1 shot off as the guard before someone else shoots you and kills you. Plus, the aiming mechanic is a bit cumbersome. Overall though, I managed to get ~$1200 so not a bad take at all.

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:26am

The concept is great. I really enjoyed playing your game. Finished it on the second try, took me around 12 minutes. The only thing i didn't like, were the controls. The walking/standing stance requires some getting used, but adds to the difficulty, i guess.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:27am

Not bad......

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Was just going to switch to a guard to clear the area before entering the vault with over ten thousand in my pockets and I press R instead of tab. At least a confirmation would've been nice. I stopped playing then and there, sorry.

Other than that it was a nice game. The AI was indeed quite dumb, but it still provided somewhat of a challenge. Graphics and audio got the job done.

I think it was a good thing that hacking and possessing were two separate things, since you could move to a safer place before possessing a guard in the open. The aiming mechanic did take a while to get used to.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:21am

AI may be simple, but works nicely for the map design. Still didn't get to the end because I didn't manage the hacks nicely. It's a nice challenge, and everything fits together in a nice way. :)

It would be a nice thing to see this expanded upon. It took me a little bit to get the aiming/shooting, but that's just me playing first and reading later. :P

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Interesting design

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really fun idea for a game. I feel the controls could use some work - it took me a while to get the hang of them. I really like the idea though

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Nice game but the aiming is a bit hard
check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Asado says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:32pm

This is great, so much planning has to go into playing this.

plokdev says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:54pm

I ended up playing this for half an hour in one sitting, and my final score was $5,577.

I agree with the others about the controls. There's no reason NOT to use the person you just hacked into, especially since they die after 6 seconds. Switching to an enemy and aiming should be automatic. Otherwise, I really like the game.

PROTIP: All enemies have only 6 bullets, so you can sometimes bait them into wasting all of theirs by forcing them to fire at walls or a hacked enemy. As long as they're actually out of bullets, you can walk right past them.

KCrimson says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:24pm

The controls needs tightening up, it was inconsistent unholstering the gun as the controlled guard.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]