Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

5 Days with Tiffany

by goblin - Jam Entry

5 Days with Tiffany!
Tiffany is a little girl that is not popular in a all-boy school. Boys don't want to play with her, she's different. Tiffany tries to find some unconventional weapon so that she can persuade them into playing with her. That's when she finds the hula hoop that sends anything that passes through it to another dimension. The PACHINKO dimension. That's where it all begins...

USE THE HULA!
- Catch the boys that are displayed on the right hand side so you can have a tea party!
- Catching a wrong boy will dissapoint Tiffany and ruin the day.
- Avoid the teachers. Catching a boy near a teacher will get you suspended. Tip: Watch their faces! If they are angry - you are too close!
- The boys you capture a sent to a PACHINKO-universe! They have a 1/3 chance to get out by landing in the middle cup!


CONTROLS
Movement: W,A,S,D
UseTheHula: Space


We hope you enjoy the game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#257Theme(Jam)3.72
#445Humor(Jam)3.02
#479Audio(Jam)2.86
#598Innovation(Jam)2.97
#700Graphics(Jam)2.91
#751Mood(Jam)2.71
#829Overall(Jam)2.83
#891Fun(Jam)2.48

Comments

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15pm

It's really hard to pinpoint when you are supposed to catch the kids and when you'll get a game over doing so. Still an interesting little game though. Nice job!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Controls lag a lil' making it tough to control. Fun concept though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15pm

The idea of two games going on simultaneously (portal capture on the left, and ball drop on the right) was a cool idea, but I felt like the controls were too slow and unresponsive to really attempt anything skillful with the ball drop. I liked the art, it reminded me of some old anime.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45pm

I loved the idea of the Pachinko! I struggled a little understanding that i had to find the right kids, but it was pretty fun

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Idea is cool! The game is really laggy btw :(

jk5000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I like the sounds. But it is too difficult.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Controls were slow. Also, the game seems a little out of theme. I like the in general idea and with a little bit of improvement it could be quite addicting.

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Where is waldo reinterpreted. Not a bad idea. Gameplay was a little slow and not my kind of game, but good job.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:46am

Interesting idea, having two games running. But as said before, controls were too slow I feel.

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:49am

I had a good time with the story sequence. The game mechanics could be improved, sometimes the guards are not displayed angry but still catch you. Also, it would be good to have more responsive controls and diagonal movement. Were there any plans to turn the Pachinko universe into a separate minigame? It seems I can't really control anything on the right side of the screen.

goerp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:43pm

This is not just an unconventional weapon, everything's unconventional.
What a weird idea with the pinball on the right side.
I like the graphics and the sounds, they go great together. Although I cannot see very clearly if the teachers are looking angry.

very very original.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Cool game! The panchinko game on the side is a neat idea. Graphics are ok as well. The controls are a little sluggish and unresponsive. Definitely lots of potential here though.

local minimum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:44pm

The music was nice and fitting and most of the graphics too. The game was both quite easy and hard. The latter mostly because of the collision detection for bumping into the enemies and when the hoop caught someone. It wasn't really clear to me. If I understood the right side it was completely passive except the "choice" of when to spawn someone through the hoop. But since everyone was running around on the left side it seemed more like a random factor I had very little control over. The play on the stereotypes of girls wanting to be still and have tea parties while the boys likes to run around. That these are different worlds. And so on. It really didn't sit well with me. I'm sorry.

Babiole says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Kind of unexpected, I liked the concept ! Some improvements on the controls would be nice ^^

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:27pm

the core game is way too hard and clunky, but the plinko meta component is really interesting. its a cool idea.

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Very cute! Lovely voice and background music. Hard to control and aim.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Haha this was pretty funny, and it was very different as well with the mini game on the side. I think maybe the cups should be taken out when you get the ball inside unless I missed something. and maybe the movement can be worked on to be more fluid but funny indeed.

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

The controls were really slow. the graphics were nice though.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:13am

Interesting idea; found the controls a little too sluggish to play effectively, and the teachers' faces didn't seem to match whether or not they could see you. Fun use of the theme though. That girl is creepy!

Shimone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Nice idea! I liked the audio a lot, especially the background sounds really fit this game. Graphics could be improved, but a good game overall.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Found a little bug in that the spawn point for one of the teachers was the place that I happened to be standing as a level started, trapping me between the teacher and the edge of the game.

That aside, it was fun to play, with amusing animations and sound effects. It reminds me of some of the Wii games that you get in Wario Ware.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:39pm

I feel like a lot of the game wasn't immediately obvious; it's a bit hard to tell when you're in the teacher's line of sight, for instance. And as much as I love the Pachinko universe, I wish you could choose where to drop the boys so that it wasn't just "you have a 1/3rd chance of having to recapture them."

Still, it's super cute. No objections here.

MonoS says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:51pm

This is one of the cruelest game i've played in this edition XD [in a positive way]

The concept is fun, but the isometric view and the laggy controls make it a bit frustrating, a lot of time o thought to have caught a boy but NOPE.

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

This game sums up how most of my relationships went. It was very clever after you READ THE DESCRIPTION haha

bace1000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:06am

Needs a tutorial but the graphic style is pretty funny ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]