Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Beermageddon

by error031 - Compo Entry

​Game about throwing beer in people faces. What's not to like?

Game isn't polished, but because of my exams, i made it in only 24h, with bearly no sleep.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#128Humor3.66
#284Theme3.67
#384Audio3.03
#596Mood2.88
#638Fun2.95
#826Overall2.87
#830Innovation2.69
#1034Graphics2.08

Comments

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

Sorry, can't grab this game. Will you put it up on a site that isn't behind a pay wall? Cheers.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

Funny game, not a whole lot of gameplay to it but good work for 24 hours

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08am

It crashes once the music starts. Great rock and roll though.

Also... The pay wall is ultra-silly. It was hard to recognize the link past the pay-wall.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11am

For such a short development time, this is pretty solid! It is a little frustrating having people become "un-drunk" as you play and the interface could make it a little more obvious what your percentage is. Fun idea though.

error031 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

Thanks, for kind words, i will try to make game better as much as i can, and to post final version right after voting stops.
Everything should be all right now, this is my first time using itch.io, so i didn't know what was i doing to be honest. I added game on Kongregate too, because i saw many people using Unity web player, and it was working!

doitle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:39am

This actually reminds me a lot of Paperboy strangely enough. For being rushed on time this is a fine entry. I like the music. I wish there was some way I could stop the prohibition soldiers and sobering people or at least stun them because I had a hard time making much progress with them around.

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:41am

nice concept, Took me a while to figure out what the green people do and the movement in general was a bit sluggish. I really like the music though :3 Nice job!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44am

Haha, such a funny idea, so that made it fun. Could have used more player feedback on when I'm hitting people. Couldn't really tell until the sprite changed, and looked like I was hitting them before that.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:45am

Really funny Concept and works well with the theme. However it was kinda easy because the green soldier got stuck everytime. And the red ones move to slow. But good idea and well put together. Im not a fan of the soundtrack either But thats just me.

sliphtrex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46am

That was pretty fun. It kinda reminded me of Critical Annihilation except with a more clear goal.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46am

Man this was fun! Really bare-bones, and the controls felt just a bit clunky, you made up for it with humor and simplicity. Well done.

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

a bit of a wall of text before the game started but once it got going it was a fun experience. Could provide more of a challenge though from the guys chasing you. Some sound effects would be good too.

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00am

Gameplay mechanics are pretty fun, but could definitely use some spell-check and graphical improvements, but for being made in only 24 hours, it's not bad.

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27am

Funny concept, but the gameplay wasn't very enjoyable or difficult. For 24 hours though its still good so I'll go a little easier :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Hehe, one can never have enough games about beer :)
I dig the music!

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:18am

A simple game and made use of the theme. A lot of the text in the beginning needed history though, and controls should have been listed.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:49am

That was really cute! I enjoyed seeing the sprites change to that of satisfaction when I got them drunk enough :) I also really liked the hand drawn aesthetic. Great job!

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Funny little game

Larzan says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Haha, nice one. Good theme implementation. And yes, i will drink responsably in the future.
Probably.
I guess.
Maybe.
...
Cheers

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:53am

oh good god - that was fun

error031 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Thanks everyone for kind words, I am glad that you like it :)

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:50am

For something that was done in just a day, this is a pretty solid entry. Found it quite funny spreading joy through alcohol.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]