Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SUPER BRO THROW

by SinclairStrange - Jam Entry

I CAN'T BELIEVE I DID IT! This was one hell of a challenge to get complete!

I tried something different for once, I wanted to go for some humor, some platforming and a funny unconventional weapon. So I somehow dreamed up this thing.

The aim of the game is to throw your bro at the dude who are terrorizing the streets but first you must get to them. That means avoiding buzz saws, broken bottles and electrical wires. The usual stuff.

If you're stuck on the pause screen for a reason, just click off the game and then click back, it should hopefully fix it :)

The controls are simple, you pick up your bro while over him by clicking the left mouse. Hold the mouse down for more power and then let go to throw!
You move with WASD or Arrows (select in the options.)

You can restart a stage by pressing R and escape to the main menu by pressing ESC.

You can also change the volume using the -/+ keys.

Anyway hope you like and remember
THROW YOUR BRO!

Thanks to my dear friends Without Andrew for quickly whipping up some nice punk music this weekend to go along to this! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#16Humor(Jam)4.19
#31Fun(Jam)3.98
#32Audio(Jam)4.08
#32Overall(Jam)4.04
#38Theme(Jam)4.17
#60Graphics(Jam)4.40
#86Innovation(Jam)3.86
#148Mood(Jam)3.64

Comments

Dodecaplex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

Really great art style! The interactive game over screen was a nice touch. Well done!

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:07am

Fun and very polished.

trenchgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11am

Ha, that is an unconventional weapon alright. Good work!

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

Haha love the bosses! Art style and Audio are great! Gameplay is fun and challenging I could only beat level 1 & 2. This could be classed as a completed game!

Great Work!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:50am

Lol, very funny. Well done game overall I thought.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51am

Loved the art style! I loved the subtle effects like the scan lines. Really amazing job. Amazing effects too, especially the guts flying straight at the camera. You did a good job playing with depth and scale there. That was a ton of fun!

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51am

Best entry I have played so far! Awesome mood. It's really polished, graphics are great and I dig the humor a lot!
I can totally imagine this game as a couch beer coop game, chasing a friend to throw him first.

Really good job!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

Love everything about it.

SilentNight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

This is pretty fun, but rather hard. The take on the theme is definitely unique though the art is easily the best part of this game. Nice work

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

The amount of polish put into this game in the time limit is astounding. Fantastic work. Quite challenging. That ending screen is pretty dark, lol.

PoV says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:00am

Testing

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12am

Congratulation! You could earn good money with this game guys! Nice graphics, music! Everythink.

Just a note: I can not play with the other character.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40am

The title screen screaming made me have an heart attack, the reste of the game bring me to life. Nice job

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Pretty solid entry. I enjoyed the play and laughed slaughtering your brother :).

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Got bro stuck in a wall, 5/5, would play again!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38pm

hahaha ... really funny.
and the music rocks, really rocks :D

sbarrio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Great graphics and implementation of the theme idea. Quite fun as well :)

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Haha, great work. I love the aesthetic and music. it's very THPS4 skating feel.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Quality entry, solid concept good execution. It what I would have wanted.

Jagang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Great Art, great music and great concept :)

Hectate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Hilarious. Reminds me of playing Battletoads with my brother :)

sch00f says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

This is the funniest game I've payed so far!
Great music, art and and an overall high level of polish make this one of the best games of this jam!

farwyler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25pm

very nice and very polished, great work guys

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

This was awesome. One of my favorite games so far...

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Great polish and sense of humour. Great entry!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Oh, that music :3 Awesome game, really fun. Well done :)

MightyToast says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I love it! Super crazy idea. Great graphics and sound, nice and polished gameplay too. Just discovered that you can chuck the coffin around and laughed out loud!

luizgama says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Very fun, great art style, plays nice, 5 stars :)

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:42pm

A solid game! Liked the idea and style of it very much. It was challenging enough and I had fun playing it!

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Excellent crazy stuff :D Punk music fits perfectly.

Crumpet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:28pm

I couldn't ask for anything more of this game. I seriously can't think of a single improvement to suggest, and that upsets me.

Incredible work.

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:40pm

FIVE STARS ON ALL FRONTS! This game is way too hard for me but also it's completely perfect, NICE WORK!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:38am

This is the most unsubtle entry I have seen. Its really easy to play and seemingly flawless in execution. The only thing that I did't like is how I can walk on the hazards. It just seems odd. Good job!

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:46am

Pretty entertaining, definitely challenging. Great art/sound.

Great job on the polish work like the pause screen, menus, etc. I know it can be hard to find time to fit that stuff in for a jam, but it shows attention to detail which makes things really seem more "pro."

I could see this being a 2-player game, where the other player controls the Bro in some way.

sentendo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:29am

haha funny! :D

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Love it! Kinda jealous at our polished and good it looks. Think the game would have been even better if the player couldn't walk on hazards though, but maybe that would have been too hard!

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Very fun! Nice graphics and music. Great idea!

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Haha, great little game, nice execution :)

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Great game, with great music, great (and somewhat gore-y) art, great game mechanism and great level design!
Took me a while to finish the third level but it's very doable!

Thank you for such a great work!

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Hahaha cool art and very funny! Awesome work

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Really solid entry! Love the art style, idea, coffin, everything. Hope you keep making more for this!

fabriciopfs says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Love it, the best game on ludum dare 32 so far.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:35am

Too many times I have wondered what it would be like to throw my brother on a pit of spikes so hard his intestines burst.

I no longer have to only dream.

I love the in-your-face design approach and the inclusion of excessive fraternal carnage. The addition of a tutorial is great to see, too.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Really solid little piece - nice and polished and a rockin soundtrack

lubiterum says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:33pm

really fun! good job

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:13pm

really good game. The art style is charming and the controls are good. It made me laugh a couple of times too.
The only problems are: you should be able to see the trajectory you are trowing your bro and the bro shouldn't be killed by saws when you are holding it.

treasgu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

This is my favourite

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Wow, that's was super-challenging! Really unexpected gameplay =) Also like easter egg on funerals =) Nice dark humor. But with more and more tries i want faster way to replay. Like spacebar or something.

gillenew says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Certainly my brother can not play it, just me :D
I like that graphics, and the exaggeration was very well used, I only suggest you add improvements to the character, as skills.

Dreauw says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:27pm

This game is awesome in every aspect !
Even the "game over" is fun !

Bravo :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:27pm

This game is really well polished for an LD game. Super fun, too. However, I feel like the throw physics were a bit off at times, and this made the game frustrating at some points. Still, great entry overall!

FrederickK says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:01pm

It took me a while to find out that it is a time attack game.
Idea and execution are very well!
Congrats guys! :)

panurge says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very polished with great graphics, audio and controls. I enjoyed every moment and the gibs were so beautiful that I didn't mind losing! One of my top games so far.

May 6, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Really fun and nice art style.
The bad guy peeing is hilarious.

jcsirron says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 12:51am

Oh god! I think I just killed Kenny! I love the artwork and the concept. I'm not sure about how the bro flew (it seemed like he'd kinda hit like an air wall or something), but that's about the only thing that kinda bothered me. Great work!

Madball says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:17pm

That was epic! The music and the graphics are great! I liked the throw mechanics, though sometimes the bro goes in weird directions. And I managed to get him stuck on a corner of a block, he couldn't fall, but was in the air.

You can press R several times in a row, and it will make a lot of sound. Also, seems like you misspelled Dickscribbler in the level select menu.

May 10, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I like it!

Javabot says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:46pm

too hard. 10/10

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]