Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tanks vs. Bicycle

by petey123567 - Jam Entry

Made this in 8 or so hours on airplanes. You play as an invisible bicyclist dodging tanks and trying to get important intel back to HQ. Lots I wanted to add but couldn't dedicate the full weekend to it. Intended to be a pretty difficult endless runner type thing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#243Graphics(Jam)3.82
#298Fun(Jam)3.34
#465Humor(Jam)2.97
#497Overall(Jam)3.24
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#742Innovation(Jam)2.69
#876Theme(Jam)2.72

Comments

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Pretty! Looks like you had some fun!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32pm

The game wouldn't run because it didn't come with the data file - just thought I'd let you know.

Blister says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Impossible to run it, data folder missing

petey123567 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:40pm

FIXED - just re-uploaded. Thanks for letting me know!

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Really fun game, i really loved the voxel art. but the tanks, werent too unconventional.

AtecStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

what tools did u use to make the Voxel Art?

petey123567 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Magica Voxel: https://voxel.codeplex.com/

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Nice idea :) In my opinion not a very unconventional use of a weapon, but good still.

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42pm

I really like the music, and the overall mood including the low-poly 3D. Very cool look.

My biggest issue was that the controls were a bit too sensitive. The movement should be kind of abrupt because it's a bike, but it was a little too much.

Maybe also have the wider road at the beginning while you're getting used to the controls, then go to the more narrow road later. Nice job though, especially on the aesthetics.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18am

Really enjoyed this one. Seems like the perfect thing to be ported onto a mobile game. Nice job

djfariel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19am

This was fantastic up until the tanks went full Flappy Bird on me. By the time there were so many tanks that I was swerving from city to city in order to dodge, I was laughing so hard I couldn't play. I'm a bit worried about the intel in my head, though, because I'm not sure where it is. :D

Great work.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:22am

Controls were a little too sensitive, but the concept is great!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

Most fun I ever had!

HBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

Really enjoyed the visual style. The controls were just a bit too touchy for me to really get into it through.

pkenney says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27am

Aw man as soon as I saw the title, I was like this better be good because there will only be one tanks vs bicycle game in the world and you better not waste it.

Fortunately you delivered! Lots of things come together right here to make the fun, but most especially the kinda-tight-but-kinda-crazy controls on the bike. This is also a really nice use of 3D in a jam game and looks nice.

But it was all about the way a big swerve was an overcommit, that's what all the panicky fun was coming from, so nice fine-tuning there.

Two flaws I would point out: first I shouldn't have to take my hands off the keyboard to click the mouse to restart. This game needs an ultra-super-tight retry loop and the mouse was a real source of friction for me playing just one more time. Second, is there a way to quit? It went fullscreen when I launched and I couldn't find any way to quit. Easy enough to alt+tab out and kill it from windows though.

Nice work, particularly for the 8 hours on a plane that you put into it.

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Simple graphics, simple mechanic and fun. It's kinda like flappy bird when you think about it but better :D
(By the way you can try our game again, we fixed it and it's up :))

BIZM says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Touchy controls made it very challenging. Really liked the ridiculous humor and the epic feel at the beginning! Awesome fun.

lubiterum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Nice game! 61 here :D

jk5000 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

8 hours on airplanes. Not too bad:)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Nicely done!

wilsk says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Nice work, I enjoyed the game and it looked great.

oparisy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:17am

Very nice entry, and already fun as it is! I like your choise of colors and camera, and the voxel design obviously. The bicycle is nicely animated, if a little bit too hard to control. The music fits nicely.

Skiddings says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Good work for 8 hours!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]