Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Spooky Ghost

by DefectiveMelon - Jam Entry

Oh no! You're dead! Take your revenge by haunting your foes and using their own bodies against them. Jump on enemies' heads as a ghost to take them over. Find the key and escape the dungeon.

Controls:
ASD to move
SPACE to jump
Jump on heads to haunt enemies
W to access doors
H to throw knives(when haunting a ninja)
J to leave body and become a ghost again
T to respawn
ESC to Restart the level

Mac build is untested. I couldn't get the HTML5 build to run properly, so, sorry Chrome users.


------------Stuff-----------------

I didn't get to finish anywhere near what I wanted, but it's ok. I actually made everything myself this time around and I'm pretty proud of that.

I used cgMusic for the song and Bfxr for sound effects.
Paint.net for all graphics
And Unity for the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#282Innovation(Jam)3.46
#284Audio(Jam)3.27
#435Theme(Jam)3.46
#479Fun(Jam)3.12
#574Overall(Jam)3.15
#587Mood(Jam)2.96
#690Graphics(Jam)2.93
#701Humor(Jam)2.48

Comments

Bastienre4 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I really like this game! Really interesting concept, like what Kirby games COULD have been. Nice music, cute graphics, and a good unconventional weapon!

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:40pm

controls and camera movement made it difficult to accurately move/jump

gjvonn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:43pm

Nice concept. It'd be awesome to see the mechanic of possessing different kinds of enemies to explore different areas of a level. Though it's impossible to access some places after you've killed some monsters in an area. Nice job!

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Enjoyed the sound and graphics a lot, nice work. Liked the idea behind it Well done.

benbateman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Great concept and some well thought out levels.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

A nice little platformer! :D

reiknight says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Good idea! I just found a little bug (or maybe it's just a feature ;). When you collide with an enemy you die but he also dies. The background music is pretty great :).

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

This game is too difficult for me but from what I experienced its fun! I believe I've seen this concept explored to some degree in games before so it's not too unconventional but I still like how different characters allow you to do different things. The music was cool and creepy and the graphics were pretty good!

Jordan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:52pm

This is amazing, and really fun to play. Working flawlessly on Linux with Wine.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31am

Awesome job, I really liked the ghosts ability to take on the abilities of the enemies it haunts, such as when you can become smaller in order to enter some areas, as well as throw knives, which helps a lot when passing some enemies. The game was challenging, but fun. The music fit in well with the game and created a nice atmosphere. The animations for the characters is awesome, it was funny to see the ghost stare at you when you stop moving.

Jumping has some glitches though, in some cases you can float in mid-air by moving towards a wall as you are falling next to it.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:16am

There is something really cool here, the ghost control mechanic is fun, but it's marred by many problems in details:

The camera - when I was supposed to go down to a platform, I kept jumping the impossible jump and dying because I couldn't see the platform that's out of the screen.

Indication of death - dying and sending me back to the beginning and going into a door looks exactly the same. That's kinda broken.

Restarting isn't restarting because the enemies (i.e. your resources) remain gone - that's jarring and weird.

I can possess enemies... Except the skeleton. Why? No indication of why + the impossible to tell death means I tried it many times and was confused as hell.

Lack of direction - I almost completely missed the fact that when you're small you can go through the tiny gap to the right. That's frustrating, you needed to teach players that first.

Really interesting, but too many problems to be enjoyable. Hope you polish this up!

jprogman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:05am

Some parts of the game are quite tricky to get through; like when I have to be a small green ball on a moving platform and jump into a narrow passage.
The ghost-processing-enemies idea in general is neat.

jlauper says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:14pm

If you kill or possess all the creatures in the first level and don't manage to get through the one tile tunnel, the ghost can't get through because the enemies don't respawn.

spin-down says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:55pm

As mentioned, dying was a bit sudden and maybe could have done with a death(again?) animation for the spooky ghost. A few times I was left wondering for a few seconds, until I saw a life(un-life?) had been taken from the counter.

Apart from this, I quite liked the layout of the levels. They were nicely done and put me in mind of Rolo to the Rescue. Good stuff!

Ryusui says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:42am

I like the overall concept, but the platforming is a pain and it's way too easy to lock yourself out of victory. Also, wouldn't it have made more sense to map functions like throwing knives and un-possessing your current body to common command buttons like Shift and Ctrl?

murilo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Ok that was fun (forgiving all the buggy stuff) and I really like the ghost animation hehe good job, man!

ZQMony says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Very cool and interesting concept. It can be hard to jump on enemies though because of the moving camera.

Frozen Stick says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:27am

Not bad.but at beginning,if I killed all the enemies and die after crossing that small way that the ghost can't fit,I will be stuck!But good game anyways.Good grapix and nice music.

May 10, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Good game and great idea. Only problem was that the camera was positioned a little too high.

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:49pm

repeatedly fails to initialize 3D settings.

64 bit windows 7 pro. nvidia 320m

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]