Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ob3se

by ghostonline - Compo Entry

Basic controls:
- Click or drag the mouse to swap adjacent tiles
- M to mute the sound

After having a close call, you need to get your health back under control. Fight back by eating healthy food and try to avoid the burgers.

Swap food items to create a 3 or more in a row. Try to build a combo for earning more points! You win the game when you have filled up your health bar.

I have used the following to create the game
engine: Haxe + Haxepunk/OpenFL
IDE: FlashDevelop IDE
Graphics: Inkscape
Music: Fake Music Generator

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2469Coolness0%

Comments

RudeJake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:34am

nice graphics and music! what engine/framework did you use?

mcmahoniel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:31am

The graphics and sound are great. This is pretty much just Bejeweled, but I like the aesthetic.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43am

Nice game. i don't see the theme relation. but quite nice gaming and nice idea with the health stuff :)

ghostonline says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:27am

Thank you for your responses!

@RudeJake: I have updated the description with the tools I have used

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:35pm

The graphics and sound are great and this game is very good for health. Do you think that fast food is an unconventional weapon :)
Neat ++

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30pm

I liked the music, but it seemed like the fruits and burgers blended into the background just a bit. The idea isn't all that new, but it was fun, and it was a good use of theme.

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:27am

I wish I could vote on the theme because it fits in my opinion. Nice sound and relaxing gameplay. It's similar to most match 3 games but I've not played too many where you have to avoid making matches.

jmborden says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Decent game, it works and I can play it in my browser no problem. Not my kind of game, but my life would love it! Nice to see another Inkscape user =).

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I like the take on _avoiding_ combos in the match-three, though there didn't seem to be enough consequence for eating a whole bunch of burgers at once! You also would have gotten a high rating on sound from me—the music is great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]