Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Grape Escape: Banana Shadow

by tweedle - Jam Entry

***FEEDBACK WELCOME***

For centuries the evil space robot empire experimented on apes, hoping to create super soldier ape slaves. One ape in particular, Nicknamed “Grape” for his violet fur, showed promise. Grape gained the ability to form his shit into deadly ninja shit-stars. Grape grew smarter and stronger, eventually escaping the evil space robot’s facility in search of freedom...

Gameplay & Controls:
2D Sidescroller - Get to the end and kill the boss!
Spacebar = Throw | Up Arrow = Move up | Down Arrow = Move down
Enter = Select | Esc = Restart/Exit

Credits:
By: Zamboni Macaroni (This is our 2nd jam!)
Zamboni Macaroni is Josh Watson and Taylor Dunn
Programmed by Josh Watson
Design & Music by: Taylor Dunn

Things (Updated 4/20/15 10:40PM) :
Oh boy we did it! Celebratory beer time!
You get to the boss after like... 2 song play thrus.
Josh added the scoring mech. in the last 10 minutes.
Bananas and cactus are worth points?
... We need to crash & think more about all this later!
Look forward to playing many game entries!
ENJOY!

Update 4/22/15:
Thanks for all the feedback everybody!
Especially you Chris Delta ;)
Yeah rocks shouldn't kill you moving into them...
You just shouldn't be able to move up!
Keep it coming!

Update 5/11/15:
Had a blast rating games!
Thanks a ton everybody, looking forward to #33

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#124Graphics(Jam)4.15
#201Audio(Jam)3.45
#270Humor(Jam)3.37
#362Overall(Jam)3.40
#478Mood(Jam)3.13
#487Fun(Jam)3.10
#495Theme(Jam)3.38
#902Innovation(Jam)2.34

Comments

block97 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23am

Really cool simple game. The art is very well done and the level generation impressive. Maybe add a different enemy to add more variety to the level. Very cool game!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32am

Surprised this is the first "infinite runner" style game I have seen in this ludum. In any case decent concept, worked out well; but the gameplay drags on a bit after a couple minutes.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

Funny intro and nice graphics. I didn't quite understand when grape throws a star or just a regular turd...

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34am

Great game setting, nice gameplay.

jushii says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Art is really nice and I love the way you tell the story! :) Also the music is really great, it really sets up the mood!! Gameplay could maybe need some kind of a twist to make it more interesting! :)

ogrepixel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:25pm

It looks great! it was hard for me, I liked the graphics and the intro story, good work!

Ranmara says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Nice art style!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Really nice game I enjoy games like this where you have restricted movement and you have to get as far as possible, this adds a twist by allowing you to shoot different things along the way

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Great graphics and audio. I think a bigger variety on obstacles could improve the game, but had fun anyway.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Graphics, music, and mood are on point! I had fun and the bananas makes stars ;). You could work on difficulty ramping and perhaps highscore table otherwise the score is meaningless- or at least show it around the end of the game. My best score was around 300.

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:36pm

I loved the aesthetic in this and the concept is great, but I wish that theme was expressed more in the behaviour of the projectile as opposed to it's appearance... Music was great as well.

Good luck!

sydan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:12pm

I like the story and the originality but sometimes I'd find that I'd collide with a rock when move past it just as I'd move up or down. It felt like their bounding box was a bit big. I didn't feel that death by the side of a rock was necessary.

reiknight says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:04pm

When the mobile version? Nice game and funny

Alice says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Nice game, I love the art.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I liked the graphics style

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Might wanna change the collision boxes but overall a pretty nice. Special mention for the art and the intro.

CraftMuch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Nice game, looks very polished. The gameplay is a bit lacking; mostly in variety, however it plays nicely.

Chris Delta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Collision is borken, humor misses badly, looks kinda cruddy, gameplay is uninteresting.

Taldius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:16pm

First, I love that title, it's hilarious! The game itself was a pretty simple runner, but the art and the background story was really good. I also like the Genesis type music.
Good job!

Ossi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Simple gameplay and a funny little story. I really liked the graphics and the menus, those looked really good. Nice use of the theme. Grape job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:28pm

The polish in this game is phenomenal. Visually pleasing, and the music is very fitting. Nice work!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:43pm

A funny game. Art style is interesting.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:59pm

I liked the game, and the art is very nice! Good Job!

Strandypants says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:53pm

This game was quite entertaining, loved the introscenes and the music. The gameplay got a bit boring after a while, but for a jam entry I think it's very good!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Hey, that's a really nice little game! It looks pretty polished and it's fun to play. The level design is sophisticated and the difficulty is not too easy and not too hard! I really like the look and feel of the game, it looks pretty polished and the intro story is great!

Wevel says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Nice game, would be nice to see more levels or a continuation of the story

Dorgam says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Average game however the graphics style is the most amazing thing about it. I would suggest you work more on the mechanics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]