Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Wooly Defender

by gogo199432 - Jam Entry

The evil self-exploding knights are near and your only weapon are your...sheeps? Quickly, grab a hold of those wooly defenders, strap a stick of dynamite on them and you can already see them fly over the horizon to slay the enemy and themselves.

In this tower defense type of game, you have to survive waves upon waves of enemies. To achieve this you have walls around your tower, which you can repair with just 50 coins! But beware, because once a wall is destroyed, it can't be rebuilt.

Use the arrow keys or WASD to rotate your catapult and increase/decrease your power.
Press space or the left mouse button to shoot.
With R or left alt you can repair your walls, if you have the money.
ESC pauses the game.

Are you prepared? Then what are you waiting for! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#272Theme(Jam)3.70
#308Graphics(Jam)3.70
#341Audio(Jam)3.16
#365Humor(Jam)3.17
#502Mood(Jam)3.09
#543Fun(Jam)3.00
#573Innovation(Jam)3.00
#601Overall(Jam)3.11
#2143Coolness24%

Comments

Sluce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:16am

Fun game! I love the upbeat music and it can be pretty addicting. However, it took me a bit to get the controls down they can be a bit touchy.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:26pm

The controls were a bit off. The music is nice and the castle looks great. Well done.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:34pm

I found it a little difficult to get used to the controls, since there are separate controls for aiming and looking around. But it's a lovely game.

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Fun idea :) I found the game a little too easy once I really the sheep could attack once they've landed. Since you could fire all your catapult at the shortest range always and the sheep would just walk towards the enemy and kill them.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:54am

You know, medieval societies would trebuchet animal corpses into cities in order to break a siege with disease and pestilence.

But doing the opposite - flinging live sheep out of sieged castles - is much more fun.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:24pm

The game was quite fun to be honest, but it was quite hard to adjust the power to fit > _ <! Also, the menu seemed a bit derpy on my resolution. Otherwise, great! Giving a good rating!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Thanks for all the comments guys! Really appriciated :)

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:20pm

The game didn't fully capture the mouse, whenever I rotated too far and then clicked to fire, I'd end up switching to another window, because the cursor was outside of the game screen and active. Alternatively, in fullscreen mode with the game on my left monitor, I decided to only rotate one direction, so my cursor was always on the left edge of the left monitor. But then I kept muting/unmuting the sound every time I launched a sheep. :-/

Part of me wished that the sheepapult direction was tied to the camera direction. To prevent that from being overpowered, you could still cap the max rotation speed of the catapult, but still have the catapult rotate in order to realign with the camera. Might at least be something to experiment with. If you tried that, you could even have the vertical camera angle tied to the catapult "charge", with a visual indicator on the ground for how far the sheep will go. Then again, maybe I'm just wanting to make the game trivially easy. :-)

A minimap would be a nice added touch to know when knights are popping up behind the player.

reheated says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Fun! I like the graphical style and the silliness. But tell me this: If the sheep can walk towards the enemy what do I need the catapult for? SO unrealistic :)

bradur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:38pm

A cool concept, I liked the refreshing 360-degree tower defense!

- sfx & music were spot on
- everything worked well
- it wasn't too easy
- graphics were great!

Smiley says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:02pm

well done :)

GengisKhan says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:39pm

I really like the idea, it really suits the theme. Graphics and UI seem polished, which is nice.
However, the overwall experience was lacking.
There is a throw power bar, but no reason to use anything else than lowest power.
Enemies are hard to see, and the catapult is hard to rotate to the right angle; mouse feels awkward.
Maybe, because of those control and graphics difficulties, I couldn't appreciate the gameplay that much.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]