Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Bomb bringer

by Yaroslav Kravtsov - Compo Entry

Use WASD or arrow keys ←↑↓→ to avoid obstacles

ATTENTION! Final scene in WebGL build doesn't work (you can hear music, but can't see anything). Because Unity, Chrome, WebGL and some unknown reason. Please, for full expirience use other builds. In any case you can use Internet Explorer (I think you have it) to play on Unity WebPlayer.

Tools used:
Unity 5 - Code and assembling
Blender - Art
FingertipMaestro - Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#31Mood3.97
#128Audio3.56
#197Graphics3.71
#276Fun3.39
#296Overall3.46
#760Innovation2.79
#856Theme2.92

Comments

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06am

Very relaxing game... I dig it

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:41am

I'm loving the chill music.

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:48am

Quite relaxing for delivering a bomb. I sadly misread your warning, thinking the WebGL build was working. I'm curious to know how it ends. I liked the way that you had to be very predictive to avoid the obstacles, since the turn rate was so slow. Well done.

daleth90 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:18am

Nice Music, but the gameplay could be more challenging.

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30am

feel like I played for 10 minutes without reaching the target.

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30am

Nice music but I don't really see the unconventional weapon bit.

Side note, if you hit a wall its pretty much impossible to recover so the health is rather pointless.

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10am

This is a really fun game, although as Pachow says, if you hit a wall, you lose all control, removing the player from the game and pretty much ensuring you'll take more damage. If you were to work on this some more, I would recommend allowing the player to steer even though they're crashing. Reduce their speed, but don't completely remove player input from the game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:30am

PachowStudios, unconventional theme reveals at the end. I agree that it's not a good idea to hide theme into the end. But it's too late for changes.

Azure_Kyte, yes, there are tons of ideas how to polish the game. But time runs out. Now I see that I spent too much time for the ending, but most players didn't see it.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:00pm

I liked it, it chilled me out. I found it funny how the plane would start tumbling when you crashed into something.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Ok, I'm totally exhausted, but still unable to fix WebGL version. So I decide to switch playable version to Unity Webplayer. Because it more stable, works faster, no graphicals glitchs and no critical bugs that can ruin final of the game. I hope playing webplayer version is not a big problem. In any case it's better then play WebGL through the final and find out that it completely ruined.

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Pretty slow but very well polished and fluid. For some reason I get the W/S keys mixed up as I'm used to inverted controls when flying. I would have suggested dynamic obstacles to make it faster. Other than that it's pretty good, nice job!

Simon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Great mood, I was hooked!
This is really cool I really wanted to know what was going to happen.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Smooth gameplay, beautiful style.
btw, I can change health graphical indicator with my mouse.

Interface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:35am

I was almost there but hit a wall full on and no way to recover, although I had almost full health. Nice game, would have loved to see the unconventional bomb at the end I guess, but don't want to start over :-) Maybe I'll come back later. Good job.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:45am

Interface, if you get to the almost end, then you get enough scores to buy upgrades and make your next try much easier.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:50am

Your entry reminds me an old game which as been named "captain blood". Do you know? I would know how you generate this world. I will read your source code. Nice entry.
Тебя поздравляю. Желаю тебе удачи ++

honosstoa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49am

a little bit to slow, but i like the gloabl mood ;)
(sorry for my bad english, i'm french)

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56am

Music is very relaxing. I like that flying lower nets you a higher score. The gameplay does get stale after a little while though. Being able to upgrade in between rounds is a nice touch.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56am

cool concept! i could see that this game has potential esp when the graphics are done.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:02am

I was expecting a full blown when I dropped the bomb, and oh... that's unexpected;

RaysAndLazors says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:06am

When I saw a bomb, I thought that you went the "weapons-of-mass-destruction-unconventional" way, and I was pleasantly surprised by the ending :)

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:08am

Wonderfull, just wonderfull Yaroslav =) 5 stars

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:46pm

relax and chill. great mood

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Nice entry! Really liked the New Game+ functionality - it is a great way to adapt the game difficulty to players' skills and playstyle. The ending was also a pleasant surprise.

Кстати, именно ваш постмортем к игре предыдущего LD вдохновил меня поучаствовать. Спасибо!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:14am

Collision physics are great. I like the inclusion of an altitude score multiplier to shake things up, but the game could benefit from more aerial obstacles or challenges (rings, checkpoints) to sustain interest in gameplay throughout the level.

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:33am

Game takes its time to start, but is relaxing. Good work making a 3D game in 48 hours :)

calavera says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:42am

Great ending!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:45am

Nice game, particularly like the simple art style

Bardikus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:53am

I liked your game.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:56am

Very nice game, I liked the terrain generation (and generally how the terrain looks) and the surprise ending :-). Well done.
As someone else said, I always mixed up the up/down controls. Used to them being inverted somehow.

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:03am

I got bored at the very first level, and I challenged myself to the lowest altitude... Crashed 2 seconds later and lost all health in a single rock I got stuck in.

I like how you managed the physics so that the ship spins depending on which side it got hit from. The occlusion effect is cool too, good resource that makes it not very necessary to include color, however color would help the player see the rocks a lot.

Conk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:05am

Very nice! Really liked the terrain and although the first play through is relaxing and a little slow, once you have score to upgrade speed, it got really fun!

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:08am

Really relaxing, I guess the game itself is a weapon that puts you to sleep.
There should be a control to speed things up, the object (bomb?) obstructs your view, and colliding with anything isn't handled well.
All things considered, nice entry.

Chris Olsen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:36am

It kind of lulled me to sleep with the most and slow piano tune. Which wasn't really a bad thing to be honest. I do however think you should reach your destination a lot quicker, the payoff takes an age and the sluggishness of the turning doesn't help. Good effort!

carlmartus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:56am

Really good game play. Great fun to fly past the cliffs constantly trying to find the best way.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:21am

Feels very rigid and there's no feeling of momentum or velocity. It feels like you're just rotating something in a fixed point. Also the position of the ship relative to the camera make it in such a way that you can't see whether you're about to hit something or not.

juaxix says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:30am

Chilling and low poly art, good taste :)

kipelovets says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:39am

Very meditative and relaxing, nicely done. I too didn't reach the end, but I'm giving it another shot when I have more time)

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Really great feeling and fun!

Sad I couldn't see the final scene due to webgl woes

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:21pm

The athmosphere is definitely strongest part of the game; I liked how you can always change gameplay settings so that you can reach the end quicker.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Interesting mood here, and I like the low-poly 3D. Love the ending, was a neat twist. It would have been cool if the "unconventional weapon" could have been used as part of the game itself. I dunno, just would have fit the theme better I think. Oh, I also liked the multiplier for flying lower, thats a nice risk-reward mechanic. Good stuff.

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Could be good, but far too slow and unresponsive at the moment.

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Brilliant music and art style. Almost too relaxing. Inverted controls might have been nice

ianburnette says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:19am

I love the altitude mutliplier. Made it way harder because I was going for 5.0!

Andrea says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Very sweet game with the cutest ending that brought me to tears. OK, not litteraly, but still.
A little too easy, but hey, it's about the journey :)
Thank you for this, great job!

jackrugile says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:40am

I absolutely love the graphic style and the generated terrain. That combined with the low key music worked really well. The bomb of life at the end was a very cool touch. After seeing the muted colors the entire time, the color had a massive effect at the end.

I think the gameplay was good, but could be improved in a couple of areas. I'd love to have a little more sensitive controls, and little more control over the rotation of the ship. I found a few rock gaps I wanted to squeeze through by turning a full 90 degrees. And, the length of the level felt a little too long. If you were to continue this, I think breaking it all up into multiple levels, with different terrain and obstacles would be cool.

Overall, an excellent game, great job!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:35pm

music makes me wanna sleep...

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:10am

The game and the music is really relaxing but I find the flight is a bit long. An interesting concept though and the execution is really well.

morrilet says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:07am

I really enjoyed this one. It was difficult enough that I had to upgrade and retry four or five times before i got through it, and it was fun enough to keep me entertained for that whole time, as well. The final scene wrapped it all up really nicely.

lochmann-apps says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:03am

I ralaxed for about 30min on this game. Nice work!

nassi says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Crashed (my ship) near the end during my first flight, but managed to finish after that and I have to say that my second run was far more enjoyable (went for as much speed as I could get, with some score multiplier and health thrown in there too).

Good things:
- Nice ending
- Good risk vs. reward gameplay
- Simple, yet good visuals, even if the ship blocked the view somewhat.
- The upgrades make it feel like I'm progressing even if I fail. And they made me want to fly low for that extra score.
- I felt that the collisions were pretty accurate, definitely didn't feel cheap.
- The terrain was well varied too, thus forcing me to constantly keep moving.

Bad stuff:
- The upgrades made it unnecessarily grindy. Since this is a Ludum Dare entry I would've (if possible) implemented a leaderboard instead of the upgrades so that there was some incencitive to fly as low as possible. Flying low could've also boosted your speed or something like that to make the experience as good as possible on the first try, since judging by the comments, that's how long people are generally willing to play. I would've also made the base stats better (especially the speed) so that the player gets into the action straight away.
- The low base speed made the stage seem far too long on my first try.
- Collision often resulted in further collisions as already mentioned.
- Music loop was too short and got a bit jarring.

So yeah, I'd actually recommend people to crash once they get ~30k score and try again, that way it's A LOT more fun. Good game, although hindered by a slow start. In that sense it's not a very good fit for the Ludum Dare formula of people spending only a few minutes on your game, but I liked it a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]