Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dye

by solarexplorer - Compo Entry

For this LD I wanted to focus on doing the art, which I have little practice in. I also wanted to make a game specifically for LD consumption (i.e. short and one-time-use). I hope you enjoy.

Note: If the character is visible but the background is black, something has gone wrong, try refreshing the page or switching browsers, I've had this issue on Firefox (Chrome and Safari seem to work).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#587Mood2.89
#635Audio2.49
#782Graphics2.66
#1100Innovation1.67
#1120Fun1.49
#1121Theme1.57
#1138Overall2.00
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Expected some action here...

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Sorry, no action! It's less game and more "interactive story".

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28pm

i liked your try. what bothers me are the cuts between backgrounds

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55pm

@texdata totally agree, I drew each scene separately then stitched them together, I tried some blur filters in Gimp but none of them looked good. Next LD I hope to have a little better foresight (and parallax scrolling!).

sathorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18pm

The graphics could have really profited from some parallax scrolling

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Is there suppose to be something that happens at the end? Otherwise I don't understand.

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:45pm

FYI, i got a background with text "Red heart of gold" and no character no movement, no input works etc. Using Chrome on Win7 64 bit

Issacchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:47pm

With the issues above, I would also recommend making the range in which NPC's talk to you a bit larger, so that the text is displayed a bit longer.

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:14pm

@sathorn: Yeah I realized too late that I should have made all my art in separate layers.

@HeuGamer: It's a very short experience.

@nightlord: Thanks for the heads up, I'm not sure what the cause is.

@Issacchaos: I thought about that but preferred the idea of the player stopping at each NPC, thoughts?

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:35am

Although not exactly in line with the theme, the story presentation was quite good. I liked the art too.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:42am

This is different from most entries, but that's not a bad thing. Thank you for the experience. :)

Photon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

I respect the attempt at generating a mood, but its not quite there. The music stopped playing at some point for me and what little story is there just ends abruptly. Its got a little bit of charm to it but it could more. Keep at it though; you've got a base to work with at least.

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:47am

@MGhareeb32 thanks for the comment!

@DiegoEscalante thank you for playing (experiencing?)!

@Photon yeah I had trouble with the music not looping correctly sometimes, not sure what the issue is but i might need to use an alternative lib for sound instead of the phaser ones. do you think the length was an issue for mood? didnt quite sell it? didnt feel anything was at stake? I wanted to make it longer, to make the other colors really likable; to give the ending more punch. Not enough time though :P

dwemthy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:02am

Nice art and feel. Nothing really to interact with as a player, just hold down the arrow key and read the text.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:41am

Nice atmosphere. As mentioned, finding a way to transition between layers, even if it's a simple gradient or a piece of custom background art that combines two environments, should make things less jarring.

The ending was also a bit abrupt, since the player is insure if they are supposed to press something, or wait, or what.

The walking was a bit slow for me.

One note about the HTML embedding -- you might want to center the game in the browser window so it's more visually pleasing. :)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:27am

this feels like the prologue to an epic storyline! as a player its kind of boring to play, but the mood is fantastic. maybe have the screen fade to black at the end to tell the player that the game is over.

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:04am

I love narrative driven games, but I thought your game could benefit from a slightly more interactivity. I enjoyed what you've attempted here though. Keep up the good job!

solarexplorer says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:29pm

@dwemthy thanks, I agree I wish it had a little more interaction

@GAFBlizzard yeah it was my fault for not planning the art out well enough in advanced -- also i agree, there should be some notification to the player

@Evergreen Games thanks for the feedback, fade to black would have been a simple way to show that the game was over, im glad you liked the story.

@seankimdesign I do too, and I agree, more interactivity would have been better.

Thanks for all the feedback everyone.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:58am

I quite liked the way that the "sets" abruptly changed from one to the next. It worked together with the art style to make me feel like I was reading through a picture book.

I felt that the story was a little lacking, though. Even a little bit more development into the characters and their psyches (why they wanted to end it) through a small dialogue with each character or something would have added many layers to the story for me.

kristof says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:59am

I like the choice of colors in the background and wanted to know how the story progresses. But as others said, some actual gameplay is missing. Simple things like jumping over obstacles along the journey or some simple puzzles would have helped a lot in my opinion.

flummox3d says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:49am

Instead of the straight cuts a gradient or something would look nicer. Also, it's not really clear what's even happening. (assuming that when the characters disappear, that's the end) But it's a decent little game :) I liked the characters' designs :)

solarexplorer says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:06pm

@ChronuzZ agree, more story more character development would be better, thanks for the feedback

@kristof nice username, not convinced about having obstacles, but if the puzzles fit the narrative they would make the game better

@flummox3d yeah i think the screen should have faded to black or something at the end, appreciate the comment

May 2, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Nice mood, should add some more interaction ;)

chromebookbob says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I don't really know what is going on....

lochmann-apps says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:07am

I enjoyed walking around, but I expected a little action.

jk5000 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Beautiful landscape, fun story and weird ending.

solarexplorer says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:45pm

@Jacqueslelezard thanks, I agree, I think a well thought out puzzle might help tell the story better

@chromebookbob sorry it was confusing, it's a little artsy fartsy

@lochmann-apps yep a lot of people have said this, agreed

@jk5000 thanks for playing, glad you liked it!

LukuluK says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 10:38pm

I didn't feel the interactive part of this story, since I just had to wait, holding a button until the end.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]