Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Toaster Defense

by ETHproductions - Compo Entry

In the not-so-far-away land of baked goods, a war has arisen. The Toast Kingdom is hogging the Toaster of Life, and the Kingdom of Toaster Tarts is demanding it for themselves! Your mission? Play as the Toaster of Life, and destroy as many Toaster Tarts as you can for the highest score.

This game was made, using Stencyl, in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 32. There are a lot of things that could be improved, and believe me, I am going to improve them. But I think this is a good enough game for 48 hours.... :)

Controls:
Mouse to aim
Hold mouse button to load
Release mouse button to fire
R to restart
P to pause/unpause
M to switch to the menu

Any feedback is appreciated. Have fun!

P.S. As a thank-you for commenting, I'll rate your game! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#103Theme3.97
#121Humor3.69
#267Mood3.29
#282Fun3.38
#300Graphics3.49
#314Audio3.14
#357Overall3.38
#797Innovation2.73

Comments

Photon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40am

Heh, toast weapon. Its pretty straightforward as far as gameplay goes, but that little touch of humor and charm are there. Would have liked to see some different enemies or something though. Still, good job.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Rip poptarts

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Nice game. Funny to play.

xWarZonex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Probably the best game I've played so far. Everything about the game is great. I love how the toaster and bread catches on fire depending on how long you keep the mouse held down. There is nothing to hate in this game.

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:35am

Seroiusly, this game deserves to be in the top five for everything, if not win. This was FANTASTIC. Very imaginative, fun, enjoyable, challenging, and smooth gameplay. The audio is nice, and despite looping forever, actually isn't annoying! Great job!!

Donni11 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08pm

All 5 star !!

jfraser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:06pm

I don't know why, but I found it really funny to be shooting toast at angry bread. I love the burning toaster animation and mechanic!

KCrimson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Like this game a lot. I'd like to see the game expanded to include more bread based weaponry. Maybe a croissant that works like a boomerang?

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Simple concept, cute though. Perhaps consider some more extra moves?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:20pm

I really enjoyed this. Might've liked a charge meter for the toaster weapon, but other than that its very solid. Funny, good use of the theme, and functional.

One note, in your description you say R is reload. I hit it thinking I needed to reload the toaster. "Restart" might be a better descriptor :)

rg_rem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

toasts like assholes )

Tommislav says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Liked the details you put in the game, like catching fire if charging for too long.
But I managed to find an angle where the toast could just sweep along the ground which meant that the gameplay would consist of nothing more than pressing the mousebutton as often as I could. Would have loved some more challenges, like stuff blocking the way forcing you to aim higher, and reward for precision.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Graphics and audio are great. Love the little bits about it that make it intuitive. The toast handle drawing down to show you the power. Flaming toast for max power. Love it.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Wow, thanks for all of the feedback! I'm glad you folks like it. :)

@CarlsonAndPeeters: Thanks for pointing that out! I've changed that now.

@KCrimson, Tommislav: Hadn't thought about adding in some more bready weapons. Thanks for the suggestion!

@Photon: I was planning to add in more enemies, but in the end, I ran out of time. :( Definitely going to add them in the post-comp version, though!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

I'll try to play all of your games ASAP :)

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:06am

Really nice game. love the concept. the music loop is pretty repetetive and short, but overall a great game.

klbrazil says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:55am

nice game XD i like how it burns when overcharged XD

TravisRoot1 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:02am

Solid mechanic here! I enjoyed straddling the line between ultra-powerful shots and burning myself.

Music is great, but presentation is rather poor. Not the point of games, though. All in all, nice work.

P.S. thank you so much for helping me on Firefly Gun's flash embed :)

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:07am

Pretty good. I prefer more fast paced games, but was pretty funny shootin some toast at the evil pop tarts lol

ceosol says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Love the idea of a toaster fighting poptarts. I did not see a real impact between light toast to flaming toast. The light toast almost seemed better because it would roll a little on the ground. Without having an upgrade system, I think it definitely needed clear toast power levels. That was my only real complaint, it was still a great entry!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:03am

Nice game, i think funny! ^^

jk5000 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:13am

Simple and charming. Good job.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:16am

Pretty neat game, especially made by oneself in 48 hours. I do think is too simple to be enjoyable. Some abilities to either combo or power-up your attacks will be nice. Additionally to respond to those improvements, different enemy types would be cool as well. Felt a bit like a tower-defense game without any upgrades.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Interesting concept. I like it. All works well. I think that this project can be improved by adding some features, but it's good enough. Well done ++

LMT says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Interesting game - I like it. The jusic is fun and the whole game idea definitely fits the theme. it did take me quite a qhile that you can hold down to cook the bread more (xD)

crazya02 says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:56am

Funny, though it got pretty tedious.

SledKnight says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:58am

Very repetitive... but, I loved the animations, and the smiling toaster. Fits the theme well. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:59am

I actually like how you can charge your shots and get burning toast for more firepower.

IamAcoconut says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 1:00am

Nice game. Very cute and charming! It'd be nice if there was other stuff you could do, either than just clicking, but the game is pretty solid :). I liked the music :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]