Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

[BoardGame] The Rabbits Scourge !

by LeoM - Compo Entry

INTRO : This is a board game, all of it has been made to be reproducible in a FabLab without any craftsman skills.
To make a copy of it you will need a 3D printer, a paper printer, a vinyl/paper cutter and a few hours.
Details about the crafting stuffs and the files on the Thingiverse page : http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:781226

THE GAME : It's a game about farmers, rabbits and carrots.
You are a farmer, the local town is making a huge carrot fest soon and everybody is called to bring the most carrot possible !
Problems ... Rabbits going crazy, reproducing like hell and eat all the carrots, plus, the others farmers are assholes an throw all the rabbits they found into your field !
So.... you build a catapult, throw all the rodents far away and get revenge on the others farmer !


This game can be player from two players to ... (I think after four or 5fiveplayers it's too much, but we can try)
The goal is to have the maximum of carrots at the end of the game, to get all the fame at the carrot fest, use this notoriety to seduce the pretty hot-dog vendor and live happy forever ! (no more)
So, are you in ? Let's print your board and join us in THE RABBITS SCOURGE !



GAME MECHANICS :
The mains game mechanics are about luck, dexterity and strategy.
All the players play one by one, you start by rolling dices to make the carrot harvest, you can then upgrade your farm (if you have enough carrot), the rabbits eat all they can, reproduce and then you get revenge by trowing them away with your catapult on the other farms !
Easy !


Luck : You have to be a minimum lucky with dice, a bad throw can conclude into a bad harvest and a lot of new rabbits....
Dexterity : You have to be good with the catapult, if you miss your target the others farmer will not spare you.
Strategy : You will have to choose wisely the action you make and the equipment you upgrades to get the greatest benefit of all of them.

The first to harvest 30 carrots win !

DETAILED RULES (I will make an illustrated pdf as soon I play a few parties and make some balances)

All farmers have 1 Farm, 3 clear lands, 1 plowed field, 1 litle lake and 1 catapult.
The farm is like a treasure box, you keep it on the side for your score, use the carrots inside to pay for upgrades.
The clears lands are savages area, rabbits are living there and sometime we can find some savage carrots too. Maybe build an other catapult, or plowed a field here ?
The Plowed field, most of the harvest taking place here, with a nice carrot productivity.
The lake, a nice calm place to rest, and if rabbits are throw into it, they drawn !
The catapult, useful to catapult rabbits away ! :) Nothing grow here, but if rabbits fall on it, they will go to the closest land.

SETUP : All farmers have to build their properties, All tiles have to touch at least two others except for the catapult, better to keep it on a side. (easier to play)

You have to be smart on your farm disposition, some rabbits may fall from the sky soon. ;)
The distance between the farms have to be reasonable, between 50cm and 1m is fine.

At the start you set two rabbits and three carrots on each land.

Then it's every time the same, one after all the farmers play :

1 - The carrots are growing. (more details later)
2 - Rabbits are coming/reproducing !
3 - An now, they eat the carrots... ( one rabbit eat one carrot if possible)
4 - If a rabbit haven't eat, check if he's still alive.
5 - Make the harvest (if there is still are something...)
6 - Make some upgrades. (if you have carrots in stock)
7 - Use your catapult to clear your land of rabbits.

Next ! :)

Easy ?

Just a few more details about the growing process :

Each turns you add one carrot to every savage land and two carrots to the plowed onces. The land produce one more carrot for every upgrades.

For the coming process, each turn launch one dice for each land you own, for every 5 or 6 place a rabbit one the land.

For the reproducing process, for each couple of rabbit on a tile lauch a dice, if you make a 5 or a 6 congratulations, they just have a baby ! :) Add a rabbit on the tile.

If a rabbit havent eat this turn, launch a dice (dice again, if you have a 5 or 6 he starve to death, poor soul...)

Each turn you can only make the harvest of one field !

The first upgrades cost 3 carrots, and add 1 carrot for every next upgrates, the carrot used go back to the center of table and just add one carrot on a corner of the tile you just upgrade as reminder.

For the catapult, you have one launch every turns, each upgrades gave you one more shot. ;)
If a rabbit hit a field and bounce off the farm, bring him back to the first spot he hit.
If a rabbit hit the outside of a farm and bounce in it, let him inside. ;)
(the catapult process is always agaisnt the farmer beeing attacked, sorry)

That's all for now !

For now I played one with three player, was fun but still missing some craziness (maybe some random event with card or some dice combinaison?), the rules are still a bit complicated, it will need a few upgrades but I'm proud of myself, it's a good basis for further improvements, it can be easily adapt for other board game.

And I'm sure it's fun to play anyway ! :) Who doesn't like catapult rabbits away ? :p
If someone is very interested to get a copy of it you can contact me at " contact[_at] leomarius d0t com " with all the prints and the cut I can reasonably produce a copy for 15-20€ ~.
If you build yourself a copy I'm very interested about feedback ! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#51Innovation4.03
#134Overall3.71
#149Humor3.60
#194Mood3.43
#195Fun3.55
#233Graphics3.64
#266Theme3.70

Comments

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Glad you made it ! It's gonna be fun to test !

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:30am

Hey! Great Idea! I'll try it! :D

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:32pm

A board game! It looks cool! You should produce a gameplay video. I mean a video where you play the game! I wish i could do games like this. Congratulations, I am super happy to see a physical game here! (this made me happy)

HeuGamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Well this is quite unconventional, now I have to go get a 3D printer to play this!

LeoM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Thx, I should make a video soon, I already play it a bit and simplify the rules.
Still need more rabbits and more crazyness ! ;)

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:04am

C'mon! I even did not have an idea that someone will try to make a 3D game in the 3D world :D Feels like you've moved a party of gamers to a new level of 3D games perception.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:04pm

So much fun, some fixs are needed on the reproduction system otherwise throwing rabbits on the neighbour's field is very funny.

Luke Molnar says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:03am

I like how this isn't a computer game. This actually looks really fun :P

lizard455 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:07am

Yet another reason for me to get a 3D printer! The pieces look well designed, and the fact that you designed a working catapult out of 3D printed and household materials to serve as a core game mechanic is astounding! 5 stars for Innovation!

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:07pm

I love board games. It's however hard to rate this entry as I guess most people have time or resources to print every non-digital component of physical games. :-) Can you make a gameplay video or something?

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:26pm

I'm waiting for video too :)

Lo-X says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:49am

A video would be nice indeed. But I play board games a lot and I will definitively try to build that game asap. I don't have 3D printer but with some wood and cardboard I'm sure I can reproduce the caapults and pawns

slowfrog says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:12pm

I have no 3d printer, sorry.

LeoM says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 9:50am

I broke my camera last week for a video.... I will try.

I play a second time with more people, the game is very fun to play but a bit long, the moment when we have to cheak if new rabbits are coming/ reproducing, may be boring and repetitive.

I'm working on a roullette like device to make the random phase faster and funnier. ;)

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Five stars for the innovation. It's an amazing initiative. I don't know if someone in the past has did something similar for a Ludum Dare session. I wait the video which I hope explains to us the rules. Thumbs up ++

L0N3 W0LF says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:01pm

"To make a copy of it you will need a 3D printer, a paper printer, a vinyl/paper cutter and a few hours" i don't have any of that :C .... but the idea is super cool :D A great idea actually, i think you could code it for testing ;) Great work

LeoM says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Goal was to make a game reproductible on a FabLab. If you have one close to your home you could check if they have the tools.
For the paper cutting you can also do it by hand but it will be longuer. ^^

May 7, 2015 @ 1:17am

Do you have a Youtube video of the game in action for those of us who don't have access to a 3D printer?

nihilaleph says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:39am

Great concept! I would love to play it, but I don't have a 3D printer xp I'll wait with everybody to check the gameplay bideo!

May 7, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Wow, this is awesome! I was looking at the images and wondering how did you make those little pieces, then I realized they were 3D printed! I had never thought about how the 3D printing could revolutionize the indie tabletop game industry, this is incredible!
Excellent concept too, very funny! Nice job! :)

Larzan says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:20pm

The game crashed constantly, the rabbits did not want to eat the carrots and the other players prefered to pet the rabbits instead of throwing them with a catapult, but a reboot usually fixed this :p

Other than that: Wow. This is the first board game i see here at LD, i wish i had a 3D printer, but according to what i read it must be fun!
Great idea! Well done!

LeoM says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Sorry about the non existant video, I broke my camera just after the Ludum Dare and didn't get time nor motivation to get a other one and organize a test session again. ^^
I played only two times, the game suffer of slow moments, we find some soluction to make it funier to play (remove all the dice, remplace them by a roulette with some random events) but still have to design and build the piece. Hope to have a finished game soon. ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]