Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Downfall

by Johan Blade - Compo Entry

Kill everything in your way, be it robot or rat.
Run around with wasd and space.
Left click throw one of your trusty pencils, after all they're mightier than a sword.
I hope you enjoy the game, have a nice day!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#320Graphics3.45
#402Fun3.23
#608Humor2.62
#611Overall3.11
#656Mood2.81
#728Theme3.14
#759Audio2.13
#893Innovation2.58

Comments

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51am

Beat the second "boss" like entity thus far, and I must say the game is amazing for the given amount of time. Art is consistent, levels are made well, game is fun to play, and the pens are pretty unique.

You've done a really great job.

Maek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Doesnt work! Jar has only a size of 103KB. I only see a white screen.

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Liked the pens and the final boss.
However, the blue background blocks made some of the actual blocks a bit hard to see.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Good game. I like it :)
Thanks for sharing.

snade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28pm

I seemed to get stuck at a certain level, I was out of pens and i couldn't go anywhere because I kept getting hit or fell in the water.

Other than that, It was very playable. well done making this within 48 hours!

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31pm

I really enjoyed this little game. The graphics are really well done (makes tiles look really fun as cubes). Game mechanics are also good. My only criticism is that the sound effects were all quite laggy for me. Every time I would kill an enemy the sound would start 1-2 seconds later.

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Interesting art style and nice level design. The enemies didn't feel like much of a threat though and the audio seemed to have random delays on it occasionally. Otherwise it was fun, even though it was rather short. I could see it being expanded into a more complete game with a bit of polish.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I like this simple, but nice and stylish graphics!

But for me it was just too easy. :P

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Wow, lots of variety in the enemies! I liked that at one point you had to shoot the enemies in an arc through some obstacles. Game was a bit on the easy side, but probably one of the games I played the longest time!

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Lovely game and mechanics :)

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice work. It's an interesting idea (although the dicotomy between pen/pencil in text and images is compelling). It'd be nice if there were more levels or maybe an aiming puzzle - although that could be frustrating with limited ammunition. Thanks!

thaaks says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Does not work. Window opens but stays empty. Sorry.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Really interesting art style! It reminds me of early Windows games. Using fries as a weapon sure is unconventional, but as a mechanic it's pretty much like shooting anything.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Really liked it. Solid game. Only issue I had was that it was difficult at first to distinguish between background blocks and foreground blocks. You should probably make the color of blacks that don't block the player darker or just more muted somehow.

snesgaard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Pretty good level design. Would be nice with some indication when your character gets hit. Also, dat final boss :D

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

I was horrified midgame when I realized I had limited ammo, um, pens. Made it through though.

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15pm

That was really good! Really satisfying killing multiple enemies. Lots of level design there too. Great job!

aroymart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:27pm

I like this, it looks really nice and it was pretty fun. the movement was a bit awkward and clunky, but still fun to get through.

rantt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:25pm

I liked the level design and the variation in enemies. I only made it to the 4/5th room, my fps began to drop down to 5 fps which made it too hard to play. Fun game, I enjoyed it.

AdamW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:07pm

The visuals are amazing. The water for example has a really unique style. And the level design is great.

The physics could need some refinement, but overall it was a good game!

x1212 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Nice little plattformer!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Nice game, I liked the graphics very much! I didn't get the storyline, who is this robot and why does he shoot with pencils?

Oh, and I got the white screen stuff as well, the first time I ran the jar. The second time, the game loaded, but I got a javax.sound.sampled.UnsupportedAudioFileException: could not get audio input stream from input URL

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Nice game. Some of the light background blocks look like foreground. I like the way you introduced something new on each level and the imagination in enemies. ..and why were those rats underwater? :D

Jajo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:39am

Wonderful graphics, challenging levels. A few glitches with the pen colliding with bigger robots, often did about 2 or 3 damage. The final boss was a bit too easy. Music next time? You managed your time well and made a good game.

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:44am

Not bad at all, had me interested for a while. The background was a little too busy, it was distracting. Projectiles did not seem to hit where I was aiming but a bit below, and maybe they could rotate to the direction they were going?

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Pretty fun, liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]