Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Tom-Catch

by Saker Games - Jam Entry

Tom-Catch is a classic shooter-action game. It tells the story of a conflict between cats and mice. You play as Felician Squeakypants, who has to take the blueprints of "an unconventional weapon" that can be used against the cats. Have fun!

It's soo retro. ;)

HOW TO PLAY
-------------

Use W, A, S, D keys on keyboard to move.
Or use Left Analog Stick on XBox Controller to move.

Use Mouse click/Left Ctrl to shoot.
Or Right Trigger/Button A on XBox Controller to shoot.

With E key you can interact with the taxi.
Use Button X on XBox Controller to interact with the taxi.

OBJECTIVES
------------
Shoot the cats or they will.. :)
Chase the "Unconventional Weapon: Robot Dog" blueprints to win the game.

NOTES REGARDING THE THEME
--------------------------
Our take on the theme was to build the story around the concept of an unconventional weapon. This weapon is a giant robot dog that can finally terminate the war between the cats and mice. Obviously you can't make a really big story in 3 days, so don't expect too much of Tom-Catch. :) It's a shame because I really like story driven games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#437Humor(Jam)3.04
#450Graphics(Jam)3.42
#602Audio(Jam)2.32
#677Mood(Jam)2.84
#680Fun(Jam)2.80
#725Overall(Jam)2.98
#993Innovation(Jam)2.06
#1030Theme(Jam)2.04

Comments

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:55am

Wuuut?! :D This game is pretty cool ! Like some kind of twisted 80's Children TV show :D

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:12am

Hello, unfortunately the linux link is not working!

Saker Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:45am

@kivano Oops, sorry. Fixed the Linux link. Try again please. :)

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Good game ,,, nice artwork

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Cool Game, there are parts that feel really empty but its Overall is good.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40pm

the revenge of mouse on cat ... why not ^^ prety cool

Bemmu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I ended up playing longer than expected, just wandering the streets, wondering what would come up next. But in the end I was defeated, just too much feline resistance!

resty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Fun, failed 4 times driving the car.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

The graphics were nice, the levels maybe a bit long, even though the game itself was quite short.

I couldn't stop giggling at the squeaky door sound the mouse/rat made when it got shot, though :D

Jungle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Really great graphics, controls are very good too, It not fit the theme in my opinion. Scenery is big, maybe can be better put more enemies to fill it. Overall nice work!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Good graphics, liked gamepad support. Trash can kicking, yeah!

iamwhosiam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:24pm

cute little game :) I got to around level 7 and then died from something, not sure what of though, non of the enemies were touching me.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:34pm

@iamwhosiam It was an invisible flying saucer.. :P

Reccy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:09pm

The artwork looks really good but the level design was confusing. I got lost quite quickly.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:27am

I really liked the retro aesthetic. The death animations made killing the cats really satisfying.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:29am

@OnlySlightly "Best cat is the dead cat." :P

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Good job! I just think the leveldesign need be revised, but the rest is nice! Congrats :)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Crazy eyes, sets the idea off nicely heh.

The levels were a little too spread out, lots of walking around looking for things.

kivano says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:30am

Yeah, now linux link is working now, thanks :) Quite a nice game, it's a shame that there were no medpack somewhere in the labyrinth of the streets, was wandering around a lot longer that planned but died finally. I found one car that I was able to bounce like a ball ^^ Nice small game :)

Damdoshi says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 9:28am

Nice work for the story, too bad there is no music (or I can't play it ?!).

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

nopogo says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:06am

Got a hotline miami-esk vibe from this. nice entry

elefantopia says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:40pm

Very cool game, with serious dialogue. They're not messing around. Nice game play and graphics.

siryakko says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:35am

Nice concept and realization

Demy says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 9:44am

Nice game! Ah, I need some heal potions or hp-regeneration, I'm too slow at dodging shots...

Curial says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 11:17am

Hahah, funny idea and graphics. To improve gameplay even more I'll suggest to add more enemies on the street and a GUI counter for enemies you have defeated :D

scorched says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Liked the intro, why can I walk over buildings, like if they were painted on the ground?

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:33pm

@scorched Because there are unfortunate bugs. Sorry for them. We didn't change or fix anything after the game had been submitted. There are other bugs with the loading mechanism also, but the game can be finished. Those aren't crucial problems, so we leave everything as it is. :)

Zeriver says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Decent game with nice graphics. Shame there is no music, it would add to the experience. I like story, it's not too innovative but helps with immersion. From gameplay standpoint game is solid but could use some variety.

Omiya Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:20am

The graphics was definitely cool, but without music, it feels like it's missing a vital atmospheric element! Thought the game was really easy and generous, with enemies being ridiculously large for the puny bullets that they shot. Would have been cool to be able to shoot in 8 directions. I also think more time could have been spent adding special effects.

May 8, 2015 @ 1:55am

Pretty graphics! Adding a background music can help the player enter in the mood of the game. For me it has a bit of noir in the air :p

Saker Games says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:56am

@Omiya Games At least you had fun with the trash can. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]