Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Vocal Power

by JohnGalt - Compo Entry

Vocal Power

Control | WASD to move. SPACE to play. HOLD SPACE to speak. Release SPACE to rest and have special interactions.

Description | Vocal Power is based on an innovative concept of speech simulation. The art of speech is the powerful weapon in daily life. Vocal Power enjoys minimized control. Gameplay uses one button. By holding and releasing SPACE at certain time, the character makes a speech with different paces and interacts with audience occasionally.

Video Link | https://youtu.be/pG2mXlfRm0Q

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#51Innovation4.03
#330Theme3.61
#380Overall3.36
#398Fun3.24
#487Audio2.82
#572Mood2.91
#663Humor2.51
#976Graphics2.26

Comments

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56am

The concept is really fun and new, but the grahpics could be improved.

deathray says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56am

Very innovating idea - I've never seen anything like it. I like how you simulated environments with sound and simple shapes - it really worked well. I also like the simplicity of the "bar" mechanic. I couldn't get past the university level though.

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:57am

Oh man, this was unexpected and really cool!
I wish the sound and UI were better but the idea behind this is really cool. Kudos!

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

This was a real surprise, from a simple concept you've made something here that's pretty intriguing. Definitely fits the theme very well, feels like a concept that could be built upon more in the future (directional speaking, attention levels, etc). Wish there was some music, but the audio itself wasn't bad and the overall feel of the game was really good. Kudos!

Boodog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Awesome job! This game is really good! Great work!

breadstix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

Couldn't get past the University for the life of me. Would have loved to check out the other levels. Very innovative game play. You did a fantastic job.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

This is really strange thing to approach but after I played a few levels I found that it quite hypnotic and compelling. I admit I tried to actually speak at first tapping on space and leaning into the mic on my computer. Pretty silly of me. OOO WHAAA OOO!

BlakeB says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Quite an interesting little concept. Ended a little abruptly and was a little repetitive, but interesting nonetheless. Could make the basis of a solid core mechanic in some sort of political simulator. Wasn't too sure what the X/100 numbers were on the map screen. Instructions weren't entirely clear. Still managed my way through though.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

pretty interesting concept. well done

sliphtrex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:09am

I liked it. Although I didn't fully understand what was going on at first, it made sense once I had to start answering questions. That was definitely a different experience for me. Also, OOOOM-WAAAH!

deathray says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:10am

Nice use of the theme and I like the concept and genre. I also like how you can repaint the ground - a nice little touch. Unfortunately I found the controls infuriating, so I wasn't even able to make a complete movie.

met44 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

Hey there, I like your take on the theme !!

At first I thought you were using actual speed recognition technology but then I tried the game and was surprized it wasn't the case, and I had fun anyways ! You've got some good base idea for something more elaborated man.

In my game I use the player's microphone as a weapon, I thought I wouldn't be the only one but maybe i'll be haha. If you want to take a look at it, it's there:

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=52488

(it's not as elaborated as your game but pretty fun with a bit of imagination :D)

Cheers man

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:42am

I think the theme could use some work - it's a creative interpretation but the end result doesn't feel that fun to play.
I think the audio could be improved, most of the game feels like being subjected to ear worm from all the WABOO WABBOOO that goes on whenever you speak.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Could use some textures and better poly-shapes, but great idea.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Sooooooo funny !! Really Good Game !

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Great work !

gruhn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15pm

It took me a few minutes to understand controls... But after that, it's an interesting idea, and a good mechanic at the "questions and answers".

ker0chan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Great concept ! The theme is a bit far fetched in this game, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. I could totally see this as a minigame in a bigger project. Great job !

peterkirk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:40pm

It took some time to understand, but once I knew what to do I enjoyed it. A simple concept that goes far.

igorfelga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Very inoovation, but sometimes the audio is so boring!!!

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:13pm

This was a really unique concept! I really liked the audio for the speech sounds. Overall I enjoyed playing this a lot and would definitely play again if more levels / features were added. Great work!

Ossi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Really great use of the theme and really innovative. I like how you have to balance between the different interactions while speaking and how much energy you have in the day. Good use of mood by having the player walk up to the place to speak as you would do in real life. Very original, great job!

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Very clever mechanics. Unfortunately it let me do the levels out of order which confused me at first, but once I worked it out it was cool. Your use of ambient audio for the themed levels worked really well!

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Fun game, really enjoyed the concept. could use some more models, other than that, Loved it the whole way through.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43am

I like the concept. The gameplay is fun enough and I was engaged for 10 min. Good job

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52am

Amazingly unique idea gameplay. Nice way to layer techniques on top of each other.

Tomcat94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

I became the king of voice in 2 days. Nifty! I liked the bar mechanic, once I got into the flow it became really fun. The levels were a bit short, but there are plenty of places to go to with different interactions, so it was worth the ten or so minutes I spent playing it. Great job!

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25am

Might want to have signified which levels were easier and the "go home" mechanic felt unneeded but the game was innovative and interesting! I very much enjoyed it!

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18am

Very innovative idea! The correct sound feels really good. I won in 5 days.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:26am

Only complaints are that the movement didn't feel that smooth, maybe if the player could move diagonally it would feel less robotic, also the University felt harder than the Company, but that could just be me.
Really Clear UI, I could pick up pretty quickly what I had to do and what everything meant.
Loved the sound!

A really awesome Idea, that was quick to pick up.

I AM THE KING OF VOICE! OHHHh-WHaaa!

-Neith

PurpleApes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Great Idea!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Innovative mechanic of holding and releasing spacebar to enable effects, if you had actual mic input it would be drastically funnier and creative though.

leondryaso says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I saw something a bit similar in the last LD, but still a really great game. The graphics could be better and when I started it, it felt a bit chaotic. OO WHOAA

LogGiant says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Really cool concept - found a couple of glitches/bugs, graphics aren't anything special, but fun little minigames with varying difficulty levels.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:04pm

this is quite fun :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48am

Pretty nice game, I enjoyed it!

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:00am

Ingenious idea; couldn't figure out how to choose which upgrade I got, though :-D

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04am

I became king in 4 days! Cool concept loved the sounds and little scenarios.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:27am

very unique and innovative idea, and a well-chosen mechanic, well done!

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:44pm

I became the king of voice after 4 days!! Yay!

I loved the gameplay mechanics, they were quite neat and easy to understand. However, I felt the game was quite short (understandable) and could be really improved in the graphics area. Great job!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:02pm

This was a pretty interesting concept, good job!

diiq says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:20am

That was really cool! I think it would have been neat to have to control a debate -- two people talking, two buttons, and two sets of goals.

Great idea, executed simply and well.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:15am

This is a really fascinating set of mechanics to tradeoff- stamina, interaction and sustained area reached. Very cool.

Omiya Games says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:45am

Felt more like I was playing those old golf games where you have to hold the button at the right time to accurately hit the ball. Not sure where speech comes in play. It felt like any public-speaking related ideas were all just visuals. The game mechanic didn't help me feel like I was simulating speech.

I guess it kind of works as life simulator.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]