Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

WORD OF POWER

by iceburg7 - Compo Entry

You must speak the word of power that will destroy the world.

You know a few characters.

Perhaps if you combine them, you could remember a few more.


This game is written entirely in HTML/CSS/JavaScript/JQuery, so it will run right in a web browser. I recommend using a mouse (rather than a mobile device), since some elements are displayed by hovering the mouse over other elements.

This game is not meant to require any kind of skill, but is rather an idea of interactive storytelling.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#162Mood3.50
#315Innovation3.45
#395Graphics3.32
#653Theme3.22
#794Overall2.90
#855Humor2.09
#957Fun2.48

Comments

jshaffer94247 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24am

A nice zen-like game, but it needs play testing for fun. It turned into a search of pattern combinations with a lot of repeats, and then into frustration when I realized I was stuck. I think this is an interesting concept but a mechanic needs to change once there are 5 characters to work with.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34am

I liked the artwork/ drawings, though guessing got a little frustrating, I should probably sleep now...

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

I like the art style you went for, and the vibe that the game gives is mysterious and interesting.

That being said, the mechanic of randomly shifting words into slots until you get a result isn't very engaging, I got frustrated sooner than later.

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

It was a bit repetitive and was hard to keep my interest. Could use a little more substance. Good job though.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:03am

Cool idea! I really wish there was sound, a voice that would speak the words, that would make the combinations really satisfying. I was able to unlock Filn, but couldn't figure out the word from there.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:07am

Kinda reminds me to Doodle God but there are no hints as to what the words should be. I like the story, though I got a bit tired or guess combinations after a while. If there was some way to narrow down the number of potential answers with hints or riddles or something I think it would be a lot more engaging. Overall I think it's a neat concept and would love to see more of it, great work!

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21am

Pretty cool game, the search is a bit repetitive but the simplicity gives a great mood to the game.

Prowler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Good concept! But as mentioned before: 6*5*4 = 120 possibilities are a bit overwhelming. Nevertheless, good game!

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Thanks everyone for taking the time to play this and leave comments!

All of your feedback has really helped me to understand what a player sees when they play this game, and now I have a variety of ideas for how I would have structured the clues and the density of feedback differently.

And a special thanks to anyone who put in the time to make it to the end! I can see that there's not quite enough content here to engage the player for that long, but in case anyone wants to get there, know that I did include some hints in certain places. And sometimes, if you get the right syllables in the wrong order, you will get a message saying that you are close to finding something.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:57am

Very nice presentation and a good concept. The mood is very strong, and with further development this could be something really good.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:43pm

The element of guessing was frustrating, but therefore thematically solid. (I suppose if I was in that situation, I would be frustrated)

Love the writing and the art. It all comes together to create a cohesive story.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

boateye says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Ineresting concept, but the gameplay just boiled down to systematic trial and error. Eventually, i stopped reading the text since there didn't seem to be any hinting in the text.

ploy says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I like mystical atmosphere. Mechanics reminds me of the game called Alchemy.

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:45pm

I'm a big fan of text adventures, my entry was a twine, you did a good job. Kudos

May 11, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Looks nice, but the guesswork does get frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]