Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Friendly neighborhood parasite

by nitrik - Compo Entry

You are a sentient parasite, an unconventional
weapon crafted for one purpose: to find and kill
the nefarious Baron von Tophat!

You have no control over your host, but may jump
to other nearby life forms. Your lifespan is 110
seconds; after this time has elapsed, you will
automatically kill your current host.

Use the left and right arrow keys (or [A] and [D]) to switch hosts.

I would have liked to add more interesting things for the hosts to do, and many more "dead ends", but time constraints are time constraints. I think this idea would be fun to spend a bit more time on, and maybe flesh out the characters a bit more by adding more animations/interactions.


(Note: built using Unity, therefore web link may not work in chrome)

Font credit: Style-7
http://www.1001fonts.com/double-pixel-7-font.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#41Theme4.19
#99Innovation3.88
#243Overall3.53
#580Fun3.00
#2469Coolness0%

Comments

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Interesting concept, and good use of theme. Some kind of background music would have been nice, as well as a little more direction as to where we are supposed to end up, or where the target was.

dusho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

nice idea
could use more people to jump at..

Squeka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:20am

Amazing idea, especially I like the dead message xD.
A restart feature (I had to reload each time) would be nice. Also, a fast forward especially to see more of the dead messages which are fun to read xD.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Yay, Icecream!

kristof says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:14pm

The pixel art looks very good! I also like the idea of jumping hosts, but I think the gameplay needs some more work. Some more interactions with the world would make it more fun I think. Still, nice work.

flummox3d says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:03am

Awesome little game, needs music though :)

May 4, 2015 @ 7:21pm

Nice idea and graphics.
My critic is that sometimes you can't do other things but wait, which is frustrating.

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:26am

Very nice entry! Killed the smoking man... lol Enjoyed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]