Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Scary Rocks

by Pat Kemp - Jam Entry

Defend the Earth from incoming meteors with your gravity orbs!

Click or tap to create gravity orbs. Orbs will catch small meteors and halt their movement. Click and drag an orb to rotate it along with any meteors trapped inside. Click an orb to destroy it and release its contents at full speed.

Large meteors can't be affected by gravity orbs. To destroy a large meteor, fling a small meteor into its path. In fact, smashing meteors together is a great way to rack up points!

If you let too many meteors strike the Earth's surface, you're toast!



Game by Nate Slottow, Nico Prins, and Pat Kemp.
Music by Teo Acosta.
Sound effects by zimbot via freesound.org (http://www.freesound.org/people/zimbot) licensed under Creative Commons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#11Overall(Jam)4.33
#12Innovation(Jam)4.28
#24Theme(Jam)4.23
#49Graphics(Jam)4.45
#53Audio(Jam)3.95
#80Fun(Jam)3.82
#104Mood(Jam)3.76
#713Humor(Jam)2.46

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:25am

Seams very nice, but I could not play, since it only has a OS/X version, if you could make a Web/Windows version it would be nice.

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:52am

It's a great game idea and i wish i could play it on my ipad. I hope you can continue developing this amazing game. Great entry. :)

pss says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Lovely! Great graphics and fun gameplay. I really like it.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very nice, love the graphics.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Pretty awesome, loved the mechanics of turning the asteroids against each other. Great job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Very cool idea, a little difficult currently.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:13pm

I never thought trying to prevent meteors would be sooooo relaxing. Very polished, fully fledged, and a really fun game.

MikkelLevisen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:14pm

This was really nice!

chaotikZA says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Very nicely done!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Really liked the graphics, I thought it looked incredible. Very interesting game mechanic as well. Found it very hard at first, until I figured out you could turn the gravity orbs.

oparisy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Very solid, I love your graphical style (low poly and particles, yum!). The music was great too. Please add a very small tutorial at the beginning so that I don't have to read the description :)

local minimum says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Superb arcade game. Very much fun and well balance and... I don't know, kind of perfect. Well, it'd be nice to have a clear indicator of which bubble is up to pop if one just places a new one. It took me one retry to figure out what made the meteors explode at times and that the purpose was to divert and/or shoot at the others. So it might be good with a first time play instruction about the rotation and shooting. Not on every replay though. Got 1165. Don't know how that stands. Oh it would also be cool if there were bonuses for e.g. trapping two in the same bubble and then using both to shoot down two different meteors.

teirce says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

What an amazing entry! I really liked your graphics, and the aesthetics of the game as a whole. It took me a while to figure out that I could rotate gravity wells, but that's a really neat idea. This is a game I could definitely see myself playing on my phone or tablet for fun! I'm already playing it for fun right now!

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Very simple and neat concept, was very cool to play :) It really looks like it will be even better played on a mobile device/tablet

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Fun game! The art style was definitely the most impressive feature. I had a hard time getting the hang of the gameplay.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:43am

Slick and innovative w/fitting ambient music sfx etc etc! It's really impressive. For me it's only missing on the fun factor.

I wonder how it would play if you didn't need to rotate the asteroids around completely. As in - if it automatically reversed the direction on bubble entry. Would it make it too easy? It sorta feels a bit tedious to perform the same revolution every time. Although I just realized you can create the gravity orb <anywhere> and not just near the earth surface.

I sometimes get lost in which direction the asteroid is going to go. Maybe my brain thinks the triangle could be both a trail and a direction indicator? Practice I guess..

Enneract says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:21am

I really enjoyed this. Felt well polished, and graphics looked great. Awesome work!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:01am

Gorgeous, unique, welcoming. Best thing I've seen so far!

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:01am

Beautiful game! Love the graphics and music. The rocky rotating earth looks superb. Nice polish!

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Really cool game! It had a nice flow from start to finish. The effects were nice and consistent given the polygon feel

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:01am

Very interesting mechanic. Took me a round to get the hang of it (like most LD games, it could use a bit of a tutorial) but I love the art and the sound a great deal and they really add to the sense of polish that this game has.

dyfer says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:14pm

simple, smart, efficient, you're game is awesome, well done

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Hey Pat & Nico! I could see myself playing this to death. What's the top score so far that you guys have achieved? It would be cool to see how well you do against yourself and others. The art, music also is stunning. Well done fellas.

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 5:50pm

This is fantastic! Fun, simple, nice low poly art. I could see this being quite fun with more gimmicks down the line. Bravo!

surpent says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:28am

Beautiful music. Sophisticated control system.
I love this game!

Sometimes the wrong operation, after a little easy to understand and best.

May 12, 2015 @ 8:49am

Wow, I didn't know that somebody else had the same idea as me for the LD32. Congrats for your ratings!

Pat Kemp says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 5:46pm

@Mathieu-- Hah, your concept does sound very similar! I wish I could check it out, but I'm on a Mac.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]