Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Forest Hecate

by Jordan - Compo Entry

Forest Hecate is a level based game where you must use collected and cooked flowers from objects such as trees to defeat enemies and win levels, along with avoiding various objects or entities that may come in your way. There are multiple different levels and bosses with different ways of winning, though I was not able to complete many levels due to time.

All levels are unlocked and accessible via the main menu by default, but you must win a level in order to fight it's boss, therefore giving an incentive to win while
allowing the user to easily skip levels.

I did a lot of difficulty adjusting, so hopefully the difficulty is not too hard or too easy. Difficulty varies a lot between levels/bosses.


Tools/languages used:

Eclipse / Java / Slick2D / LWJGL / Gimp / Debian

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#573Innovation3.08
#619Humor2.60
#668Theme3.20
#680Overall3.04
#685Fun2.90
#705Audio2.31
#762Mood2.68
#929Graphics2.38

Comments

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:00am

The game is really fun when you know the controls. I started the game without reading the description and i didn't understand anything, then i decided to read about the game and it became very fun. The amount of content in the game is impressive for a game made in 48 hours. Good luck in the competition!

sxmn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58am

rating 5 to appease the demons

Router says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19am

Excellent game. Very original idea. Very stable for being made in 48 hours from scratch. Good job.

Psyho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:08am

Maybe I was unlucky, but for me it randomly crashed during level selection and it bugged during the levels (negative karma).

Still, interesting idea and impressive amount of content.

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:10am

OK, took me a while to get the hang of it. Would be nice to have the game taking the player by the hand at first, to make things easier. Then all hell could break lose ;).

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11am

If the negative karma occurs right after you've beat a level and before the next one has been started or you've been sent to the menu, that's normal and meant to happen as a fun effect. I believe level one has a bug where very rarely, the player will spawn on a tree that is not initiated yet, therefore causing a crash.

Thanks for rating.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14am

The game get repetetive after some time, but I had fun playing it.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:55am

I have no idea what is even happening. Amazing!

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:11am

I didn't really get it, but it seemed to be working pretty well. I beat a boss! And there were kittens. A net positive.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22am

Nice game with a good idea, but it's having issues with resizing the window: http://i.imgur.com/DE1nROX.png

I think you're not setting the viewport size on resize event of LWJGL display. It took me a few minutes to understand the game, and after that it's indeed fun to play.

Maybe you should describe the controls in the description.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56am

Could beat the first level and the first boss, but in the second level there are at least fifty volcanoes (maybe it's bugging out somehow? Using OSX Yosemite) so it became really super difficult. Nice and weird idea, took a while to figure out what to do, and I still didn't get the boss fight. Why did my "ammo" go the direction it did :D

Good job on the boss ammo graphics though! :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:46am

The mechanic that you use the flowers to control space but you still have to go collect new flowers works really well! It took me a moment to realize that you can walk through the trees, stones, etc.
The boss battles are quite funny as well
Well done!

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31am

This was a bit tricky at first, but I really liked this once I got the hang of it! The art has a nice charm to it, too. Something about the overall aesthetic gave me Realm of the Mad God vibes. Great work!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Rather fun, with a good idea, but the beginning would be better if there was a period where enemies didn't spawn so I could actually see the words instead of defending myself. But still a great game if you see made from scratch.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Impressed by the amount of content. 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

Cool game! I loved dropping the aconite to get rid of the little demons. I started on the second level and it was a little hard to know what was going on as the demons were running into random aconite and going away. After playing the first level it made sense though.

Awesome job!

Lord bobyness says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

Well, It really does need better instructions. First time I played it I was very confused (I ran out of aconite then died) I gave it another try after reading the readme that told me I could use WSAD to move(Although I really don't know why that didn't occur to me earlier)

It was enjoyable once I got it. I'm going to come back to this one tomorrow when I'm not tired and try it again.

Jordan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:15am

Yes, the one of the most important things I've learned from this is that I should include a better set of instructions for the user (probably a tutorial level). Glad you enjoyed it.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:10am

Was the art style supposed to descend into chaos for the boss fights? I thought at first the game had broken, but then it revealed I had defeated the boss so all was well.

Jordan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47am

If you mean the mass spawning of things like cats (as seen in the first boss), then yes, that was the intent; Probably could have been done better, though. Good job on defeating the boss.

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:57pm

This was a pretty challenging game, although part of that might have been the clarity of the controls. It would have been nice if the text explaining the game in the first stage was slower, or if it started at a lower level of difficulty to allow the player to adjust. The game was very creative, and kittens are an excellent choice of an unconventional weapon. The fact that there's no limit on how many you can shoot at once combined with the bosses' refusal to move too close to the edges of the screen means that boss fights are almost too easy, though. The game was still pretty fun overall~

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:59am

Very hectic gameplay in this, which is a lot of fun. It took a little while to figure out what was killing me sometimes(lava :P) but eventually I worked out the mechanics and it was enjoyable.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Good game with good graphics and good mechanics. Enjoyed playing it!

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:44am

Later levels with volcanoes started to make the game too difficult to complete as it is constantly adding lava and it just keeps piling on. There should be a way to prevent too much lava to appear in each level.

There is some fun and enjoyment though. Nice work.

Jordan says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:34am

Thanks, all of these reviews have been very helpful. I will certainly balance out the difficulty well and have better in game instructions for my next project.

rburema says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:47am

Just a nitpick, but going full-screen or otherwise changing the window-size gives some strange effects (not just the canvas not resizeing, but also, movement is affected (in the lower-right corner) when playing in a smaller window). [Maybe you already know this, but:] From my days as a Java-programmer I seem to remember that there where functions to disable window-resizeing ... hm ... yes, you can just call setResizable(false) if you're using a JFrame.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]