Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Glasses Protector 2000

by leafo - Compo Entry

Your name is adit. There are candies flying at your face as you drive, your only weapon is your ridiculously long tongue. Protect your vision by defending against the candies with your unconventional weapon in sync to the sountrack.

Glasses Protector 2000 is a two button rhythm game.

Features:
* 2 Extreme sounds at least 2 minutes a piece
* Crappy pixel art
* Practice mode
* 2 levels of increasing difficulty

Enjoy!

Coded in MoonScript: http://moonscript.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#21Humor4.13
#48Audio3.90
#128Fun3.69
#190Mood3.44
#243Overall3.53
#272Graphics3.56
#363Theme3.57
#433Innovation3.27

Comments

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40am

Really fun and funny, this is your wierdest game yet.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06am

Really great game, I love to see rhytm games in the compo. The concept of the game is weird lol. Maybe it is a little too easy?

BTW I got a 272 combo!

SiENcE says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50pm

It's fresh to see a game without tilesets! Three midi tracks and your own playbacksystem, great stuff!

I esp. love the third track. It's most fun to play.

Amazing game leafo!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

A pleasant surprise to see other rhythm games this ludumdare! And a good one at that! It's really fun and crazy in the best of ways. Kudos!

Karai17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09am

I couldn't seem to get it to work very well, and my Xbox controller started vibrating like mad and did not stop until I closed the game. I am running the Windows executable.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:22am

Really liked the audio. Nice simple graphics too. The game mechanics could have been more innovative.

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27am

Weirdest rythmic game under the sun :D I really enjoyed those beats!

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28am

This game's really funny! I loved the rhythym gameplay, and the art really added to it! Very well done.
Just a heads up, the game has ssome kind of event that causes controllers to rumble, but doesn't ever stop :)

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28am

This game is FUN! Nice job!

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31am

Wow, this is REALLY good. It's hilarious and extremely fun to play!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Love the graphics style, well presented and great audio. I played the OS X download and the sound was out of sync for me which broke the experience, so I didn't stick with it for long. Rating based on how I feel the game would of been with correctly synced audio.

Chikoness says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:12pm

This is funny yet amazing at the same time, I love it :D

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Thanks for the feedback, I removed gamepad vibration since it seemed to be bugged.

talecrafter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Wonderful game. I just wish I would be better in tongue licking.
Excellent entry.

madameberry says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:12pm

I don't know of the music beat was off or what, but the tongue would break the candy and it would say "miss"
Very confused.

wilsk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Haha, nice idea

ehtd says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:27am

Nice game, just a bit hard to start

23 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Cool! This is easily the best fit for the theme I've seen so far.

I was confused by the practice since I seemed to miss everything, but playing the other two songs it seemed to be synced normally. At first in the practice level I thought I was visually misjudging when to tap. I'm not good at rhythm games though, so it's possible I just missed the beat.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Funny and weird, I like it.

Wertle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:44am

This cracked me up, though it was rather difficult! I loved the reaction faces he makes when you miss and hit your own glasses. I had a lot of difficulty in the practice section trying to nail the timing - one tiny bit of feedback that might help is some extra visual cue for when the "right" time to hit the note is (often done with pulses or flashes). Pretty minor, though. Super weird and great compo work!

esayitch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:13pm

A hilarious and very well-realized entry at the same time xD Very stylish rhythm game... damn I wish I had that long a tongue... because... you know... reasons [whistle innocently].

Graphics are great :D

Good luck!

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:52am

This is so weird in such a great way! On top of that, it's a very solid rhythm game with enough challenge! Very nice work!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:04am

As usualy, fun a weird! Love it man, great job!

dvdfu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:15am

Very polished game! Soundtrack was great, idea is unique, and it's all funny as hell. I think only spacebar worked in the menu to select when it said enter, though.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Hehe. Very interesting game!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:06am

I didn't read the description apparently, so it was really difficult until i figured out it was a rhythm game! nice game! Playing it made me think of a hard mode with an alien with 3 or more eyes. and a cyclops easy mode.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:42pm

It gets intense!
I like to take a moment after this kind of games to think at how this idea could even came out. I haven't find any answer for this one yet. Makes it even better.

alvivar says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:28am

Fun! Excellent audio, pretty solid.

May 4, 2015 @ 10:46am

Very addictive and fun game, awesome music and the visuals fit very well, too. Somehow, the practice mode is the most difficult one for me (don't know why!) ;D

OddballDave says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:19pm

I really suck at rhythm games and this game proves that. I was hopeless at it :( Great entry though. Good stuff.

May 7, 2015 @ 10:39am

This certainly fits the theme! Fun little game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]