Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity

by rudra - Jam Entry

"Gravity" is a Pong-type game based on keeping the pong game culture in an unknown planet.

It seems that I made the game a bit difficult one at the first shot and needs a little bit of practicing. But since it is not an infinite runner type game, it has few levels and new mechanics in each level. So if you feel that the game seems to be a bit difficult one, but still are interested in viewing all the levels in a nutshell, you can check out the video I made here -

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m7gvDsUeEUM&feature=youtu.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#801Humor(Jam)2.25
#956Mood(Jam)2.21
#977Innovation(Jam)2.12
#1025Fun(Jam)2.11
#1039Theme(Jam)1.91
#1044Overall(Jam)2.36

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Well, I'm kind of sceptic with this one. Minimalist, no sound, few graphics, no innovation (just a pong game with harder controls), weird story, not really fun to play, and I don't find it matches the theme either.

I guess you can't be inspired at each time, but at least you submited something so I'll say that's quite good to have tried. Keep on the work! :)

Nilq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Seems nice.

Markus Becker says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:45pm

The game looks and plays ok, even on my old laptop. It is very simple and minimalist in every category.
But I don't think it matches the theme well.
(How does a scientist "add" Gravity?)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Fun game, you should have made it for mini ludum dare:) the graphics were great, but there were two things that you should improve: 1) background 2) add music and sfx. I will send you a tweet when I upload gameplay to youtube.

zell2002 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:50pm

pong

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Although pong isn't the most impressive game, don't be discouraged. This is still better than not making any game and maybe next time the theme will suit you better.

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Too hard... Nice idea though!

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:54pm

I can see some good mechanics in the game, but it needs work, in the current state is too harsh for the player even get to use those.
I'm a fan of "remakes" of Pong, with a rework on the gameplay, and a nice touch of sfx and music, I could play this game for hours.

abuzreq says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:19pm

the idea is new certainly . It would have been better if I didn't have a game over for each time I lose as it interrupted the game flow .
there were a strange difference in the minimized art of the menu and the space-like style

I also noticed that there is a particle effect only when the ball hits my board but not when it hits the a.i board

Andrea says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Nice idea for a game, though the ball seems to always do the two same things, wether is goes the left first or the right.
Very challenging even this way though!
Nice job!

kunzbe says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:34pm

good job! it's a nice little but effective twist you did here on the good old pong :)

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

DarkGrisen says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:00am

I didn't beat the game. But i beat the logics inside the game!

I accidently made it so the ball bounced straight up and down. After a while the velocity was so big that the ball flew outside the screen and never came back :D

I love the story and the graphics is good!

Marek Lisý says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:08am

I couldn't control anything in the game. There was just empty screen with the ball in center at the start, then the ball went left and right and I lost. I saw only that I should move bat up by pressing A, which didn't do anything. Therefore not rating your game.

rudra says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:32am

@DarkGrisen - Yes, that is a glitch in the game, which I found after the submission, Sorry for the inconvenience

@Marek Lisý - There was two white colored bats in the scene right ? Was the bat on the right side moving upwards on pressing A ? It should work as in the video (in the description). But if it dosen't, then there has been a problem in the game :/ First time I heared this though.

May 20, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Challenging game, great story! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ArGc_dQ-3Lc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]