Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Odds

by Mikhail - Jam Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and had a lot of fun. I will be doing this again! Enjoy my creation.

GOAL: Get a high score
You can push and pull the enemies into the saws and spikes.
I meant to have multiple "weapons" and multiple levels but I ran out of time.

Left Arrow - Move Left
Right Arrow - Move Right
Space - Jump
Q - Pull
E - Push

To run the game unzip the file then open the UnconventionalOdds.jar

NOTE: You must have Java 1.8 installed on your computer in order for the game to run!

NOTE: This game should run on any platform that runs Java!

**BUG FIXES**
-Movement bug after death
-Dying randomly (Non rendered enemies and bullets)
-Score bug

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#853Innovation(Jam)2.43
#880Humor(Jam)2.03
#935Theme(Jam)2.53
#939Graphics(Jam)2.00
#985Mood(Jam)2.04
#1020Fun(Jam)2.13
#1075Overall(Jam)2.20

Comments

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:51am

Only windows? no good

mikeureko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:52am

Cool idea, first of all. There are some bugs to work out, but it was interesting. I noticed that if you or all the enemies die while holding a movement key, the game behaves as if the key is still held down until you press and release it again. Also, for some reason, I sometimes die randomly without apparent cause. The collision detection also behaves weirdly sometimes when you're not falling.

Good luck for the future!

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47am

I wasn't really sure what I was supposed to be doing in this game. What do pulling and pushing do? (They don't seem to have an effect on anything that I can tell.) Beyond that, though, I won't be rating this game (at this moment), since there appear to be a few game-breaking bugs in it. After some number of deaths (it varied), I would lose control of my character, continually sliding towards the right if I didn't have a key pressed. Sometimes the character would freeze, or only move in certain dimensions (like I could jump but not go left and right, or vice versa).

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:54am

Little buggy.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:29pm

I am sorry but honestly, it was shit... i mean it's great that you have entered, but it is advised to explain to the player what they have to do and how. i had no idea so i was just trying to dodge the bullets (which is inpossible) but the more times i died, the more enemies were there. so, it punishes the player for your foult not explaining the game at all. i am sorry. you obviously can programm there's just lack of explanation and a tiny bit execution. take this as an expierience for other games.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:00am

To be honest, I'm not really sure what to do. I feel like the goal is to get enemies to the saws, perhaps by pushing and pulling, but I can't seem to figure out how to do that. Still, a decent start and could definitely be improved and expanded!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:56am

For just a few seconds I got to push and pull one of the thugs. You should reduce how often the thugs shoot so you don't find it so hard to push them to the saws and spikes.

sorlok says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Nice idea; I like the pulling mechanic. It's kind of tough to control though.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

Justin Mullin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 8:01pm

I had a hard time figuring out what to do here, but once I had the mechanics down it was an interesting concept. Nice job!

OnlySlightly says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:44am

I really liked the idea of using the environment to defeat your opponents rather than yourself. Once I got the hang of it, it was a lot of fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]