Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Zolita Mansion

by Farfin - Jam Entry

Press Z to pray.

Press Z again to stop praying.

Press X for cross.

Cross can block (most) attacks.

Praying replenishes cross uses.

Pray at graves to exorcise ghosts.

Pray to win.




bugfixes and sound effects in the post compo version

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#80Graphics(Jam)4.31
#100Theme(Jam)3.98
#330Mood(Jam)3.32
#368Overall(Jam)3.39
#370Innovation(Jam)3.31
#619Fun(Jam)2.90
#717Humor(Jam)2.45

Comments

Anikki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Beautiful art style.

nassi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:48am

Looks decent, but the cross is somewhat annoying is sometimes you get instantly killed by the enemy you guard from after using it.

Managed to exorcise Zolita, so I consider it my victory. Maybe I should've also escaped or something.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:22am

really nice composition

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:25am

great visuals

zimmy87 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:55am

how many graves are there? I exorcised 3 plus Zolita but nothing seemed to happen: even backtracked to the beginning and couldn't find anything else. Very cool art style and interesting mechanics, definitely enjoyed it

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:14am

Good game, I like that praying replenished your crosses. I thought that was a good touch

blob says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:24am

Great look and interesting idea. Gameplay got pretty frustrating with swords and ghosts killing you right after you used the cross on them. Gave up on the last boss, didn't understand what to do when he teleports over you!

OadT says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:30am

Great idea and graphics! But I think the controls should be more like: while pressing Z pray, your controls feels a bit strange, anyway good work.

Squidtank says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:22am

Art style is great - so is your take on an unconventional weapon. Dying right after using a cross gets a bit old though. I gave up half-way because I guess I couldn't get my timing down. Overall, I really liked this game.

jakub.gemrot says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:39am

Very sound, things hold together pretty well! Kept me playing for a (longer) while :-)

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:22am

Beautiful art. I agree with the others about the cross. Also, I had to zoom in 500% to be able to see. Is there a way you could make the game bigger?

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:27am

Beautiful artstyle. "The End" was tough!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:53am

Fantastic looks and really cool mechanic!

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:06am

One of my favourite entries, I wish more games used noncombative problem solving like this - almost reminds me of the puzzles in the old Abe games

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:36pm

Nicely designed. Would've helped to have a jump button for dodging ghosts at times.

lvoursl says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Fantastic art and atmosphere!:)

LimeniusTeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Very nice graphics, well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Really nice mood. A good entry for a good game. Thumbs up ++

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:09am

Loved the art style! Great job!

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:42am

Nice graphics

dieblume86 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:38am

i like the graphics, nice one

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:46pm

I love the style and theme, and think this is a really clever idea. would like to see it expanded on, with some audio (i didn't play the post jam version)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]