Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Une arme peu conventionelle

by Skywilly - Compo Entry

Français :

C’est une très courte Visual Novel créée avec le logiciel Tyranobuilder.

En fait c’est amusant : je suis rédacteur en chef de Game Side Story et j’ai reçu ce logiciel pour en écrire la critique. Je ne savais vraiment pas quoi dire, du coup j’ai profité de ce Ludum Dare pour expérimenter le logiciel. Et je dois avouer qu’il est plutôt pratique !

A côté de ça je n’ai pas pu m’empêcher d’y ajouter mes LEGO, je suis beaucoup trop fan. Et puis ça me permettait de jouer avec mon appareil photo (les fonds ont aussi été pris ce dimanche après-midi près de chez moi).

Au-delà de ça, ce n’est pas vraiment un jeu puisqu’il suffit d’aller à la Bibliothèque pour avoir le lien qu’il faut afin de terminer l’histoire.

Prenez le temps d’aller ailleurs ;) Je n’ai pas eu le temps (ni trop l’envie) de coder quoi que ce soit pour ajouter du score, etc… Désolé pour ça.

En espérant que, tout de même, vous trouverez ça amusant !

-

English :

This is a really short Visual Novel created with the Tyranobuilder software.

Fun fact : I’m the editor in chief of GameSideStory and I received this software to review it. I didn’t really know what to say, so I took advantage of this Ludum Dare to try the software. And I must admit that it’s pretty convenient !

On the other side, I couldn’t stop myself to add my LEGO, I’m such a fan. And it allowed me to play with my camera (the backgrounds have also been shot Sunday afternoon near where I live).

Beyond that, this is no really a game since you have to go to the library to get the good path to end the story. Take the time to go somewhere else ;)

I didn’t have the time (nor the will) to code anything to add some score, etc… Sorry about that.

I wish that you’ll still enjoy it !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#785Humor2.28
#899Mood2.44
#901Graphics2.44
#1118Fun1.67
#1119Theme1.61
#1128Overall2.17
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28am

its a story not a game

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:31am

I have to agree with @JacksGameSucks on this one... While it isn't a bad work it doesn't really fit in that well. :/

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47am

I wanted to make a gauge "angry" with several levels, etc ... But I did not succeed. Rather than just let go, I decided to at least finish the short story.

But yes, it is more a story ... ;)

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:24am

The LEGo characters and the blurry backgrounds are really nice touches. I must object: the fact that it is short and not very interactive doesn't make this less of a game! It's obvious you had fun doing the library scene ^^

I played the web version and loading the scenes was WAYYYY too long. Is it because you used high res pictures? (if so, you probably should have not). I'm wondering because I'm planning to use Tyranobuilder, and if the software is in cause for this, well, I might not.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Yes i use high res pictures, PNG, because it's more easy to edit fast. But you can use .JPG, etc... It's really my error, not a Tyranobuilder error ;)

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:43pm

interesting take, however I would have enjoyed it more with game -like graphics. :)

tanjent says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Hah, did not expect something like this! The range of interactive things in this compo is really part of the charm :) I've never really thought about making content with real life pieces, but I think this 'game' shows that is yet another tool to use. The LEGO characters themselves are like preset modular 3D models that you can assemble, skin and animate, just like in Blender et.al.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:23pm

It had a bit of an art film feel to it. The software you used looked cool and I like the gratuitous use of Lincoln. I did half want the girlfriend to end up being Darth Vader though.

May 9, 2015 @ 6:36pm

My, my, it's not that usual to see a journalist making a LD game in order to write a review XD. I know some people who've tried Tyrano Builder and it doesn't sound that great, so I'll stay a RenPy fan for now. Did you try it as well? It's the best engine to make visual novel IMO!

I've read the French version BTW. Not bad for someone who was just playing around and it does fit the theme ;).

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]