Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

BOOMerang!

by BroCade - Jam Entry

What is the most unconventional weapon? Answer, the humble boomerang.
Now, what happens when the boomerang explodes on hitting its target? You get the even more deadly BOOMerang!

Challenge your friends to frantically fun BOOMerang duels or hone your skills against wild critters in training mode. BUT BE CAREFUL! BOOMerangs return to sender and its never a good idea to try catch explosives.

Please to enjoy our 3rd Ludum Dare Project, BOOMerang.
Any and all feed back would be greatly appreciated.

Controls for player 1:
w,a,s,d
"space" to throw
and "e" to run

controls for player 2:
i,j,k,l
"p" throw
and "o" to run


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#90Graphics(Jam)4.26
#164Innovation(Jam)3.67
#170Theme(Jam)3.83
#199Fun(Jam)3.52
#205Overall(Jam)3.60
#283Humor(Jam)3.33
#424Mood(Jam)3.20
#434Audio(Jam)2.95

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08am

Very clever twist on the boomerang! Graphics and sound are tight too.

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48am

The graphics are awesome. Very funny take on the theme. I found it hard to aim at the beginning but eventually I got used to it. Refreshing.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48am

10/10 would kill myself with a boomerang again

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:59am

Heh indeed an unconventional weapon :D

coderitual says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:02pm

+ Graphcs style
+ pretty fun
- Unity player (not your fault:))

MGhareeb32 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:52pm

At first I thought "what's unconventional about a boomerang?", then I was blown away (pun intended :D)! I think just the concept of a weapon that can kill you if you misuse it is very creative. Also, awesome graphics! Good job!

BroCade says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Thanks so much everyone!
Glad you found killing your self an experience worth repeating SkyWolf :P

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:39pm

OK. Didn't expect that. Hahaha!

rishal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:52pm

Nice and simple. Great mechanics for the theme. Well done!

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:26am

I didn't have a second person to play with but the training was cool enough. Couldn't quite figure out how the throwing worked, just seemed to go in a random direction the whole time. But then I figured out that staying in the center just made it rotate around until something else walked into it.

I also got the boomerang stuck on a pillar a few times and had to restart.

Amazing artwork though, no complaints there.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:30am

Haha I love the you miss > you loose style of the BOOMerang. Well done, this is a very funny concept.

BroCade says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:50am

Hey tummyache, thanx for the feed back. Will have a look at the colliders on the pillars and see if we can fix that :)
Thanx for taking the time to try our game

ccglp says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:57am

11/10 would buy a boomerang right now

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17am

Really solid controls, I loved the little pictures on the pillars!

Junber says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Cool concept. Very nice graphics too. But the controls listed here for the second player arnt really correct. You use o to run and p to throw. But really fun.

BroCade says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:14pm

Thanks Junber for that. I've updated the controls for player to in the description

2R says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Cool graphic, cool gameplay :)

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I liked what I saw. I have no access to a player Two but I can see these mechanics being fun!

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Lovely art style, very frustrating gameplay! well done!

dvdking says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice explosion sound and effect!

adsilcott says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Unconventional, more like inconvenient! Great concept! Really well done :)

peterkirk says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:39pm

First of all the art is remarkable. Just the amount of detail put into it is amazing. I felt that the sprint button was awkwardly placed since it require me to use one of the fingers I was already using for moving.

Snicklodocus says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:09am

Oh great use of the theme! Art is nice too. I liked the sounds a lot, but I wish there was music. Only other complaint is it's difficult to run with the E key while using WASD. Fun though! I'll have to try this with a friend!

kaa says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:28am

Very good game!

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Hilariously funny concept but it's kind of hard to aim the boomerang (the throwing power might be too high as well) and the placement of the run buttons is pretty awkward.

ruerob says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:03am

Nice little game! I really liked the graphics! I've found a little bug! one time I was throwing the boomerang it get stuck in a wall and I couldn't reach it anymore! But except of that it was very fun to play!!! Well done!

snapman_GT says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:22am

It's a little confusing which way the rang is going to go when you release it. Seems to be always clockwise, but I've been looking left and suddenly it flies off behind me! The hold-for-strength mechanic (so familiar! ;-P ) is nice, but ends up getting it stuck in the wall a lot. And since the rang never stops, it could be pointless in multi if it just sits there in a loop forever (but maybe you can push them into it? Haven't had anybody around to try it with).

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:36am

I think this game could be a lot of fun, but it needs a catch button! dying because you missed a throw is a bit rough

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]