Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Jar of Rainbows

by CrefossusJam - Jam Entry

Use your jar of rainbows and escape.

It's embedded here. If it's black just wait a few sec for it to download.

Made With Construct 2 in great haste

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2192Coolness22%

Comments

Sean says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

Little unfair, but overall pretty good considering the time spent.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:12am

Crashed Chrome, so had to review in Firefox, thus no audio unless I bring up the scrapings of a latrine known as PulseAudio... which seems to be broken anyway. (I have a weird setup.)

I suspect this was a 1-hour-or-less job. If this is the case, then that's a very respectable effort.

Gameplaywise it felt very mediocre, but was well-explained.

Despite the lack of artwork it was fairly well utilised (dem angles), and I really want to give you exactly 2 and a half stars for it. I've decided to round up.

Overall, 2 stars. I hope you get more time next time, so I can watch you scream "THIS IS MY TRUE FORM" and kick everyone's arses.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09am

Pretty great for two hours. It was a bit challenging, but not in an unfair way, and the design of the second level was actually interesting. Also, shooting rainbows is just the best.

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

Interesting idea but a little messy. Feels rushed. It's hard to see what's in the level but fun to play once you start to learn the floaty controls. I had a couple of bugs where I fell thru the floor or failed to pick up pickups.

Crefossus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:03am

Hisss - Interesting... I felt like the spikes is unfair. I just didn't have time to mess with it. However, it's great to know other perspectives.

Avek - Interesting. If anyone else experiences falling through platforms let me know what browser+version you're on. There isn't much I can do since it's default Construct 2 though.

As for failing to pick up pickups - same thing I never saw that so which browser and if you could take a screenshot of exactly where you are when you try to pick it up and fail that would be grand.

Yeah it's messy because of the time crunch (~2hrs). Sadly I didn't really do anything innovative so it kind of kills it, but it is what it is!

Re: floaty controls - also interesting. Thanks for this feedback I didn't think about it being floaty but should have noticed.

zakchaos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:03pm

fun little game, eat my rainbows blue blocks lol

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:59pm

You can definitely see that it was rushed, I like the rainbow weapon, but the gameplay was pretty bland. I wasn't sure what the hammer-like pickup did. Sorry for a harsh review, but I didn't really see a lot of innovation, especially since it was made in construct 2, and so a lot of the mechanics are already implemented for you. Hopefully you have more time next ludum dare :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]