Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Ultimate Weapon

by LuisDC - Compo Entry

You wake up in an empty room without memories but the power to change the gravity of the objects around you. Try to find a way out to discover the truth about your powers.

Platformer / Puzzle / Exploration

A-> Left
D-> Right
W-> Jump
Mouse Click-> Change gravity of an object
R-> Restart

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#294Graphics3.50
#562Innovation3.09
#693Overall3.03
#757Theme3.10
#766Audio2.10
#805Mood2.62
#811Fun2.75
#817Humor2.19

Comments

Zielak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24pm

I got stuck and dies too many times. But I like the idea of controlling gravity in 2D world.

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

I love this kind of graphics, very well done. The gameplay is also interesting, although I don't understand why you made the character glide like on ice? For me it created frustrating situations.

Good work anyhow :)

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really cool drawing effect!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really cool art style! The gameplay isn't the most original in the world, but could be a cool concept if you made it into a full game!

When designing your puzzles, try to make it so that there's no way for the player to screw themselves over to the point where they need to restart the game. Puzzle design is tough. :)

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Really cool drawing effect!

MaesK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Nice idea with the gravity. The first levels are a bit hard, that may frustate some players. Great work with the graphics, simple, but have quite the charm as a drawing.

berkano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Very nice controls & animations! Very challenging - a bit too hard for me - but would probably reward a more patient player :-) Sounds were a bit harsh, would have been better without them. Very good all round, nice job.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:13pm

You executed the pencil drawing art style really well. The controls are a bit floaty and - as other commenters already mentioned - this game is too frustrating for me to beat.

LuisDC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Thank you very much for your comments and for playing the game. The art style is because I am terrible at drawing, so it was much more easy to draw some lines and connect then on the editor :)

When I was building the level I already knew it was going to be too difficult and people would feel frustrated. I wish I would had more time to work more on the level design.

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:06pm

I liked the zany graphics style - hand drawn but very effective! Good theme idea as well; quite original.

Mixer says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:10am

I got a 403 forbidden error on the webpage. :/

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Same error.

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:10pm

403 forbidden error for me too :( realy want to test it, fixe it please :)

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:15pm

403 forbidden error for me. If you can't fix the web build, please upload a windows build.

JoshuaBurr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26pm

This doesn't work for me in safari. Both links say : "You don't have permission to access /LD32/UnityWebPlayer/ultimateWeapon.html on this server."

LuisDC says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Im sorry. My hosting is down and I was at work. I am looking for other options and will be available soon :) Thanks!

LuisDC says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Done!

seraphki says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:34am

Art style is cute. Smart move making them squiggle instead of being static, gives it more of an art style instead of it feeling like placeholder art. I felt like I should have had more friction with the floor, but I like the mechanic =3
Nice job!

x1212 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I like the idea, but getting stuck that often and having to start over again is a little demotivating, maybe checkpoints would have helped?
Also that drawing effect is really nice :)

Blobo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:01am

Really nice art style. i like the concept, but i had no idea where to go, or what to do.

Interface says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:56am

Nice effect on the graphics. A little hard for me but good game.

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Great graphics, really nice.

bossmojoman says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:54am

Love the stick figure graphics, something about animated stick figures is just so gratifying. I couldnt get past the electric part - awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]