Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SFW

by headchant - Compo Entry

Super Fruit World

Grow fruit, make juice and use it as ammunition to protect you.

+++

Controls:
Move with WASD
Build with Mouse
Mousewheel to select options on the right

+++

Made with Love 0.9.1
Window size/resolution is fixed at 1280x700.
Probably will not run well on older computers, sorry.
4/20 09:18 Fixed a gamebreaking bug related to appleseeds
+++

Hints

1) If you fall and fall and fall, just use the teleport to get back to the start.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#90Innovation3.89
#204Overall3.59
#327Fun3.33
#373Mood3.14
#387Audio3.02
#389Theme3.53
#479Humor2.82
#529Graphics3.09

Comments

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04am

I only got to 125 seconds but it was fun. Great idea, if a little tough.

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05am

Frankly speaking, it is a little bit hardcore for an unprepared user. I died... Died a lot. And no hints were given to change the situation. However, it is possible to understand the logic and, consequently, I've stayed alive for a long period of time! Nice game, I appreciate the idea, the atmosphere, the pixel design and the game as whole

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:10am

Stellar title! I loved your game. My one comment is that the beginning is a little too challenging without a means to defend myself. If the beginning island was a little bigger, perhaps.

On all counts, I think you did a fantastic job, and I'd love to see you expand on this concept!

RudeJake says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:11am

couldn't understand what to do kill to quickly

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:12am

337 seconds :D Nice :D

Parserk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:15am

Fun but a bit too hard

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:29pm

I can only play upto 150 seconds. It's a bit hard, but the concept is nice.

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I always enjoy it when different genres are mixed together. The initial difficulty will probably frustrate many players. I died ~15 times before I really figured out the basics. After that, I found the gameplay quite engaging. It's really an exercise in multitasking since you need to build, defend (**** those projectiles), and attack at the same time. I'll probably be back to play it some more later.

Regarding the learning curve, I'd highly recommend writing some kind of starters guide.

Komos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Woo, 175 seconds :P. Great game, love "just one more go" nature of it.

ryguydavis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Great game. Like everyone else, I had a really hard time with the difficulty--which was a shame because I really was intrigued by the idea. Extremely innovative and fresh feeling. I would gladly play again with some difficulty tweaks.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:56pm

A lot of great idead but DAMN it's hard to play. A tutorial would be really nice. I didn't even figure how to plant fruit. I just build blocs and cannons and shot at stuff.

Madball says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

OK, let's be honest.
At first I though it'll be an interesting game. It's a sandbox, it has strategy elements, and look at all these different available blocks!
Nope. I played a lot, but my best time is ~130 second. I didn't get to use anything except for banana trees, cannons and glass. So much stuff in vain! And it can be fixed with just lowering the difficulty!

Let's be a bit more detailed. Here are things I long for:
* A player that can survive a hit. Or even several hits.
* A delay until first enemies. Or a small starting base. Why are you in space? How about a wrecked ship with only one cannon left?
* A better interface:
** It took me a long time to figure out where are my resources displayed. Except for juice, I didn't get to use it yet at all.
** It's difficult to distinguish placeable items and usable items. And what does "Price: 1" for the target mean? It's free as far as I can tell.

As well as some bugfixes:
* Apple trees' price display is messed up. It says it needs bananas, but it doesn't waste them, and there is some more weird stuff.
* When you use the teleport, your camera doesn't move with you. It's OK, but disorientates at first. (btw, did you know you can fly upwards freely?)

How unfortunate. I didn't fire a single fruit at enemies, though I played this game for a long time.
If you'll make a post-compo, I will come back and play this game again. I think it would be much more interesting if it was easier for me.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Cool idea! Between avoiding getting hit and managing all of your building and stuff though, it's kind of a lot of keep up with. The first time you start the game it's a little overwhelming. Probably want to give a more thorough explanation of what's going on.

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46pm

My highscore was about 350. I think you might need a bit more time at the beginning to set things up. I also got fucked up at the very start by some laser firing douchebag because I saw him too late. Still Very enjoyed it a lot, played it for about an hour haha. That explosion sound is stuck in my head...

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Wow I'm really struggling with this. I can't count the number of tries I had and I only made it up to 73 seconds. It's hectic right from the start and it's a little bit trial and error how to survive the first rockets. I think some kind of breathing time (waves like in most TD's?) might have helped to make it a little bit easier if you are new to the game. Basically I fully agree with Madballs comment. However it's still a lot fun to survive as long as possible!

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

This game is absolutely amazing. Somehow reminded me of terraria. But! I liked this one better. Its a hard game, but who cares?

rantt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Very hard game. Looks like there's a lot of detail to it but I didn't really live long enough to use much. The one hit kill is pretty punishing when you're juggling the growing, constructing, defending and attacking cycle. The graphics and controls are really nice. Cool concept, nicely done.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56pm

I liked everything about the game except for the fact that I died to quickly and no instructions on what to do.

C.Lodwick says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Very tough but presented in a simple and fun way. I love the juxtaposition of waiting for your resources and trying to survive. I felt calm because of the waiting but stressed because of the ships. Really into this, can't wait to see more!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Solid entry, really enjoyed playing it :) My best score was 312, great fun !

2R says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:41pm

I love this game style!!

SiENcE says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:31am

Hey Löver, I missed you at Amaze. Cool, complex and juicy game :-). I love the idea.

Lo-X says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:02am

Either that game is really hard, either I'm very bad. But the concept is very interesting and you can't make grow too much bananas. Bananas are good.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:05am

Got to about 120 secs, game is hard but pleasant to learn imo. I'd throw in there a noob friendly mode, so other people can play also, but do keep this hard mode as is. It is challenging and quite fun in all fairness :) Good job!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:21am

Cool concept, but it's really hard to survive!

Hovester says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Good game,The type of game that i like :)

KaiseanGames says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Amazing. Gonna play this for a while. :) Too hard at start, but once you get it, it's awesome.

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Survived 331 seconds but this game is a slight difficulty tweak away from being great. Right now it's just frustrating. Either start me with like 10 seconds before the first wave or a 5x5 grid or both.

It's a shame because you are losing points in the fun category just because you set the difficultly a bit too high.

frnknstn says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I think this the game I enjoyed the most so far this compo.

chromebookbob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:25pm

The graphics remind me of that physics game, sand!

Mossy Frog says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:44am

oof, that was difficult haha. Great game, doesnt matter if its tough as nails

May 12, 2015 @ 11:40pm

cute game, I enjoyed it, though I do wish that the rockets didnt start shooting at me until after I could see them. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/3cEj0moqZLI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]