Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Slow Extinction

by KeyboardCat - Compo Entry

"The aliens kill us without bloodshed, it's a slow death.
They destroy our fields, we can't feed us anymore.
So, you know what to do : destroy them and feed us."

-Each day you should provide food (the amount is on the top bar). You get food when you harvest fields.

-There is 3 levels of field : the first one give 10 food, the second 20 food, the third 30. Each day all fields are gaining a level.

-You can buy turrets to destroy aliens. Each turret can be upgraded (it cost 750$)

-Each destroyed alien give you 500$.

-If you don't provide enough food, some of us will die. If you provide enough food, we will be more.


If you have any problem (with the game), ask me !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Graphics3.80
#172Fun3.60
#187Overall3.62
#459Mood3.04
#478Innovation3.20
#539Audio2.72
#766Humor2.31
#1041Theme2.40
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:38am

Very fun! Loved the play between food and the turrets!

Awesome job!

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07am

Thank you !

----*Minor changes*----
-I forgot to remove the debug renderer, it's done now.
-I did not put the right sources in the archive.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Hallo!

This is one of the first detailed reviews I posted over on DonationCoder.com

That link is:

http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.msg380019#msg380019

This is an interesting "little brother" to a Tower Defense style game. The enemy aliens travel only on a certain diagonal path, so this suggests a winning strategy of planting your crop fields in the corners.

After a couple of early rounds just getting the initiative, then you slam on the accelerator by upgrading all your turrets and planting lots of fields. I don't know exactly what the final triggers of a win are, but somewhere in that range where the aliens stop damaging you and you have a lot of fields going works.

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games. Yours is one of the first!

--TaoPhoenix

--TaoPhoenix

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Really enjoyed the visual feedback and the polish. Easy to pick up and play.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Interesting use of the theme, I think the unconventional weapon is the aliens starving out humans?

It plays very well! Only thing I do not like is sometimes you start with almost zero fields and other times I started with lots!

Dungeonation says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14pm

A fun little farming/tower defense game. I don't see how turrets fit in as being "unconventional" but still a nice little time-waster. Good job!

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Thank you !
Yes, this is the "unconventional weapon". Concerning the fields, it is random (not enough time to make a "balanced generation").

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Extremely cool, this is totally my type of game. It is deep enough already so you can try out different strategies. I seem to have noticed a steep bump in difficulty around day 4 or 5 ? I am not sure.

Great work.

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Just came back to tell you I managed to beat it. Tons of fun, would love to play an extended version of this.

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Yep, around they day 5 if I remember right. I think one day I will make an extended version, for mobiles maybe.

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Very cool, addicting game.

icedvariables says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Very fun and well polished.

Kep says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:52pm

I got crushed the first time and thought it was too hard. Then I switched my strategy and it felt too easy. Balancing these games is always hard. Best of luck.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

The difficulty seemed a bit harsh at the start but after I started upgrading the turrets it became pretty easy. The difficulty scaling could be improved, but overall it's a fun game and an interesting take on the theme.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:45pm

It was a fun game, I played it to the end(I love these types of games). The sound when alout of guns are shooting will however get a bit loud and annoying after awhile

Saker Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:21am

Looks great. Simple and fun game, especially for those who like turn based strategy games. At first it seemed a little bit hard, but you can get used to it.

Coban31 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Dommage qu'il n'y est pas de musique ! J'ai bien aimé le jeu. Un peu trop facile tout de même !

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:27am

Oh, un français :). Oui, c'est facile il faut bien l'admettre... J'aurais également aimé ajouter de la musique. Mais bon, je travaille déjà sur une nouvelle version.

Deozaan says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:12pm

I found a bug that made it really easy. You can always buy upgrades to your towers, even if you don't have enough money. So spend all your money on towers and farms, then when you can't afford any farms, upgrade all your towers.

KeyboardCat says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Really !? I had never noticed this before, thank you for the information, I'll try to fix some bugs in a future version (Post-compo).

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:05am

i really enjoyed this game - very nice attention to detail and we designed - thanks for making this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]