Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Machine Mayhem

by peterkirk - Compo Entry

The idea I was going for was using the environment as a way to destroy the enemies.

-=INSTRUCTIONS=-
Press buttons to activate traps.
Destroy all robots to complete the level.
You have limited button presses and time per level.


Thank you for playing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#94Overall3.81
#95Mood3.67
#98Graphics4.03
#101Audio3.66
#109Fun3.74
#218Innovation3.63
#543Humor2.72
#702Theme3.17

Comments

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11pm

You should check this entry which had a similar-ish idea : http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=40087 :)

Apart from that, cool idea (slightly off-theme maybe), very well made and rewarding. It's damn hard though x).

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:47pm

Beautiful presentation. Love the style, and the fact that the game is instantly playable without reading any long description.
I think the playability would even be higher when I could click near the trap instead of the red trigger. Then I would have more time to think about using the right trap instead of trying to hit the trigger with the mouse.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Pretty good! Epic graphics and music =)
Good luck!

(The 3 level is so fucking hard hahhaha)

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Really nice game, I had lots of fun playing it.

Also, holy shit, the third level...

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:26am

Reminds me of Hotline Miami, but it doesn't feel like a rip-off (as Hotline's top view wasn't new either), but rahter a fresh take.

GameQuester says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:55am

After some tries I couldn't click anything, so I had to restart the game. Beside that I think this game was cool looking and fun to play.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Incredible visual style and an original gameplay mechanic. Super hard though; would've loved more time and maybe a few more button presses. But really cool and worth expanding I think.

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:06am

Very challenging and super cool Idea. Sound design is awesome. I like how music get faster with less time. I wish I had more shots and Time to shot some more. Level 3 is really hard.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:10am

Nice concept and very very hard game, a tutorial or some levels to slowly learn the mechanics would have been nice. Nice sounds and music.

mentatzoe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:16am

Fun! And also great mechanics. I can see why some people think it's off-theme as you're actually using something that could be considered as a weapon, but the overall concept is definitely unconventional. Game was fun and it felt polished.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33pm

Very polished game, lots of fun to play!

Demy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:36pm

I love this neat graphics. Nice game.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Really great concept well implemented, with some good level design and challenge to boot. Great entry!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12am

Nice concepts. Took me a few tries to beat the third level. I found a bug though :( I beat the third level with my last click and I didn't get the star.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:15am

Really great execution and polish. Not sure it's all that unconventional but I quite enjoyed it. I only wish it was longer.

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:15am

Cool game, with a very challenging mechanic. Took me a few tries on level 3 but finally beat it. Sound is relly nice.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

Graphics is great, gameplay is fun!
But a little off-theme.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

reiknight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:46am

Wow, really interesting idea! The third level was very difficult! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]