Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cat's Heaven

by Lyxilion - Compo Entry

/!\ Aparently, if you have Chrome 42, you will not be able to play ! /!\

This was my 2nd Ludumdare !
Like the last time, it was a lot of fun and i'll be there for the LD#33 !

I had some troubles with the theme, then with the code and finaly with the art ^^'.
It's has been hard to code this week end. But I'm still proud of myself.

Let's talk about the game :
You are the green spaceship, and you are attacked by 15 waves of aliens ! A new wave come every 20 seconds. But you are not ready, the ship's computer is crazy, so the carateristics of your weapon will change !
You have 3 weapon's carateristics, the speed of the bullet, the fire rate, and the type of shoot. There are 3 types of shoots, a normal shoot, a triple shoot and an useless shoot, which shoot in a random direction ! You have 27 diferents combinations.
Morehover, every 5 waves, you will have to fight a boss !

Oh ? And did I say that your vessel is shooting kitty faces ? :p I named it "Cat's Heaven", I don't even know why, but as I shoot cat's faces, I named it like this.
By the way I don't even know why you are shooting kitty faces ^^'.

You like my game ? check out my website => http://openmy-dev.net/ the new version is uner developpemnt but soon, the next version of the game (with better art) will be there. (the site is in french, but for the game it will be in english too).

The controls :
Move : Arrows Keys
Shoot : Right Click

Made with :
Code : Notepad++
Art : MS Paint / Photofiltre
Frameworks : Phaser
Language : JavaScript

Feel free to leave comments and to give your point of view, Thanks a lot!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#504Humor2.78
#889Theme2.85
#899Mood2.44
#933Fun2.52
#1010Innovation2.28
#1036Graphics2.07
#1048Overall2.50

Comments

noxuma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:49am

Makes me kinda dizzy. Hard to follow the main toon

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56am

I had a lot of fun with this title! The procedurally generated cannon was a FANTASTIC touch, and I would love to see you do more with that concept. I thought the background was a little distracting. Perhaps smaller stars would have worked better, while still keeping with your theme? Over all, this was a great effort. Thank you for sharing!

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57am

Solid Attempt. One thing which I dont think its good is having a weapon thats shoots in a random direction in this kind of game (especially at the start). This is really frustrating for the player. One more minor complaint: Sometimes I could not tell the difference between background and enemy.

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:00am

I like the randomized weapons, great job (damn the useless kitty cannon!). That boss really stepped it up a notch.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22am

Not very innovative, but a solid game.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:24am

The game spoiled me by giving the me triple fire cannon on first wave and the next wave was "useless slow kitty cannon" :D I got pretty badly butchered.

It's a nice little game. I think the graphics could use differentiation in the terms of what's on the background and what's in the foreground (what you need to worry about). Maybe make the background items smaller and/or darker.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:26am

So much going on in the scene and I am so bad at it! The changes to the gun/control don't add to the game for me, they make it more frustrating. The game seems super reliable. There were no bugs that I could find, and the performance we great.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29am

It's just fun to say kitty cannon

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:26pm

The controls were my main complaint. It took me a while to realize that I could move the ship/cannon around, and only with the arrows. Also it seems like the angle of the kitties changes if I die.

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:28pm

I feel like the "useless" shot doesn't really give the player a chance... It'd be cool to see this concept with some different weapons of equivalent overall quality so that it's not so RNG based.

Thijs Tak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:48pm

Fun enough, though good luck hitting anything with a useless slow kitty cannon...

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

its a decent effort, but the lack of player feedback really hurts it in the end. Explosions, particles, even just a cartoon "splat" on the hits would really improve the feel

khahem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45pm

The procedural cats of destruction weapon was fun, sometimes awesome and sometimes useless.

The game was too big for my screen though, I had to scroll to see what my weapon was, not easy to play like this :p

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:48pm

hehe, cute game. the random gun each level was clever, although the 'useless' types really worth useless. cat faces were a nice touch; well done!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Lagged like hell for me in firefox, had to use chrome. Felt pretty luck-based, with the out come having seemingly more to do with my cannon type than skill. It's pretty visually noisy and the background should have been faded out a bit.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42pm

The useless weapon is good fun!
It's a bit hard to follow the action because of the stars in the background.

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Thanks for all the comments ! I'm glad that you like my game ! So I realy think that I'll make a other better version with better gamplay and better arts ^^. Follow the game on GameJolt for the update ! Tanks to all of you !

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:12am

Not bad at all, the only thing is that you should definately:
* reduce the canvas size or make it fullscreen, i could barely see the whole thing on my 27" screen
* use different art for objects and background, it was a bit difficult to distinguish, but maybe you wanted to make it harder?
But good job, playable and fun, add a few more waves and you are golden

efux says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Good idea and a nice idea for this theme! But I think it's too hard with a cannon that shoots in a random direction.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Keep it going for the future !
Be careful, sometimes the shoot is a little glitchy, it fires where i'm not aiming.

Donpastor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Who doesn't love kitty faces? It's fun, but the canvas size is waaaaay too big.

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:35pm

nice game, hard and fast, that's cool, miss a little the audio. Good job!

SyBen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Felt dizzy from the background but otherwise it was fun, nice one on the hard boss. Also Phaser, yeah!

MegaBrutal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:50pm

I also love kitties and liked this game! :)

Anyway, I don't know why you say it doesn't work on Chrome 42 – you used Phaser, which uses HTML5/JavaScript technology, thus it doesn't require any additional plugins those are deprecated. You actually did exactly what the Ludum Dare announcement suggests about avoiding deprecated technologies.

Larry says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:23am

A good attempt. The ship does feel jumpy. I think it's because you're adjusting the actual position instead adjusting the velocity. Try setting the velocity at a fixed value for x and y (like up would be y = -150).

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:44am

Thank you all for the comments :)
@megabrutal yeah I know but two of my friends couldn't play it on chrome...

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice little game! I found the useless weapon quite unsatisfying, and the enemies blended with the background, but otherwise I liked it. Nice with waves and bosses, and the weapon combinations. Good luck with the continued development of it and future games :)

Arche-san says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:43am

Nice game. The random weapon is good concept. Perhaps you can split the enemies waves into smaller waves to make the game easier.

cdgugler says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:25am

The graphics are really bold, I like that. I also liked shooting cat faces, entertaining, if brief, game.

uberscientist says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:40am

Haha fun, (reviewing 1.0 version) the background and enemies blend together, maybe it's supposed to add to the difficulty on purpose, but I found it to be annoying. The title remaining on the screen during game play was also difficult. Other than those things, great bullet hell game with kitty heads as weapons :p

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Could do with some sound but the aspects of the kitty cannon being randomised every few seconds is an interesting idea.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]