Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mechanical Defender

by mar3k - Compo Entry

MECHANICAL DEFENDER is a fast action brawler game.
You play as a mech, CT-4485 aka Clawbot, and your goal is to beat as many enemies as possible and get upgraded to be the most bad ass mech in the world.

!!! DON'T FORGET to use your upgrade points at the end of each level otherwise it the game will be almost impossible (challenge?) !!!

The game contains 6 unique enemies (who level up with you) and 2 awesome BOSSES. And not to forget your hero (or heroine?) has two cool unconventional weapons - CLAW and FIST ON CHAIN!

CHALLENGES FOR YOU:
- Find and kill both bosses
- Get your mech up to level 15
- Kill enemy with projectile from another enemy (team kill)
- Get your mech up to max level - 30;

Have fun, thank you for playing and don't forget to share your thoughts with me. Thank you.

PS: I have tested the Linux version only once and for few minutes, there might be some flaws.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#248Audio3.24
#418Fun3.20
#425Mood3.08
#457Graphics3.19
#536Overall3.19
#659Humor2.52
#860Innovation2.64
#1041Theme2.40

Comments

mar3k says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:04pm

.JAR: http://www.mediafire.com/download/i2zgfb7r407bfcv/MechanicalDefender_LD32.jar

I included this .jar file, because some people had problems with running the .exe file (probably problem in converting). I'll hopefully fix the .exe soon.

Finn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28pm

I don't quite see how a mech is an unconventional weapon.
Also Att2 is overpowered. I just spanned Att2 Dam+ and ocasionally put points into other things. There's not much incentive to use Att1 at all

strawfield says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Nice game and the UI looks good. Not very innovative in regards to the theme. Good job.

Pix3M says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13pm

I am not sure why, but my mouse clicks were unresponsive and getting your attacks to actually tripper was difficult.

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23pm

I really liked you game, I kept playing for a long time but I quit because it got boring and not challenging. The robot gets really powerful very soon. Does it have a last level? I got to 20 thinking it would be the last haha

mar3k says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46pm

@rogberth No, unfortunately it doesn't have an ending it just keeps on getting harder and harder by time, so the goal is to get highest score. Also I hope you got to the boss fights, not a lot of people get to them. Thank you for playing.

broknecho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Cool Idea. The lane mechanic works pretty well in real-time although it took time running across the screen when wave was complete. Solid idea. Nice execution.

Victor RENE says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:42pm

The music is freaking awesome. I personaly do not like the lanes (freedom of movement is so constrained). But the RPG system of choosing powerups can be really nice. I rage quitted at lvl 3, because there is no point in dodging forever. Give me a goal to aim for please, my attention span is really low =).

Just to repeat what others said, there is no point in using atk1. With such a short range, it's too risky.

mar3k says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:01pm

@Victor RENE Thank you very much, I really appreciate that you like the music, because I'm not musician and you are of course right on the goal for the game, next time I'll try to make a game with a goal. And on the Att1 topic, it is probably harder to use it, but it has its cons like consuming less power, more dmg, but most people might find it useless. Thank you again for your review.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

Had a little trouble with weapons when running this on bootcamp w/a magic mouse. I liked the mechanics and the music is awesome!

taviandir says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:58pm

For me Attack1 far from always fired. Don't really understood why. Did Attack2 do anything at all? o_O

mar3k says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:21pm

@taviandir That is unfortunate, I didn't have a lot of time for testing, but that isn't an excuse. And yes attack 2 does something, it fires a fist on chain or if you thought the other attack it swipes the enemy and if you don't hit him you can still see the swipe art but if it hits it disappears. Thanks for trying out the game.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

mar3k says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:47pm

@Langouste Thank you very much, this really makes me happy that you like it :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]