Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SHiFT

by Fanttum - Compo Entry

In Shift, Gravity is you weapon!

Fight, Explore, and Test your Skills in this Unconventional Experience.

Use the arrows or 'a' and 'd' to move. Click to "Shift" Gravity.

Audio was optimized for use with Headphones. (Also some people are saying its a bit "loud")

Notes and Bugs:
Hit boxes too big; Confirmed.
If you get killed by a enemy, and then it gets killed soon after game will soft lock. Your gonna have to restart... sorry bout that.

Also has anyone finished it yet? I know it can get hard, but I'd love feedback from the later parts too.
5 levels by the way. (Not including the intro) You will know if you get there anyways ;) haha

Just put up a Windows Build (Which I like never do, but web player has been meh lately) and I am on a Mac so tell me in the comments (Or wherever really) if it doesn't work right. (Or if I even uploaded it right)
Some of the side walls might not show up correctly depending on your resolution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#560Fun3.04
#596Audio2.60
#782Overall2.92
#809Mood2.61
#867Humor2.06
#997Graphics2.21
#1013Innovation2.27
#1028Theme2.46

Comments

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:18am

Game itself is okay, but the music is unbearably loud. Also the player character moves weirdly, very jittery.

UserAnon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:31am

sounds interesting, but can't play it on this web build, on chrome.

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33am

leave a linux build please

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:35am

It was funny in it's crudeness. The gravity mechanic wasn't very original, but I think it was implemented very well. The audio did get overbearing at times. It was cool the way it developed throughout the level though

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37am

The game jitters a lot, but it still is fun.

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17am

The gravity mechanic is not very original sadly... due to vvvvvv but my main issue with it is that I can't see it being a weapon? That may be because I can't get far in the game, I keep getting stuck on the sets of spikes that are opposite each other.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21am

Took a while to get it to work because the Unity web player was mucking up. But the game is really fun overall. It would make a great Mobile game :) The game is stuttering a lot. Maybe you should use delta time. Just a tip. Good game though

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

Interesting concept to have gravity as a weapon and not just a tool. I will say, getting past the second set of spikes drove me mad... I don't know if it's just my system being jittery but it was hard to swap gravity and get the guy's inertia to change enough to get through. also the hitbox for the little guys seems a bit big. Common practice is to actual make the hotbox for obstacles and spikes just a bit smaller than the pixels so the it gives the player a little advantage

Mantlair says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32am

Conrols are bit sloppy. Idea was used before but yeah its not an exact copy. really cool game. And Music Rocks!

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32am

Not an original mechanic but well made. The music was pretty good and the animation on the dude was good. Not much connected to the theme though.

jacketsj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51am

Sometimes you can get stuck on walls, this concept has been done to death, and the graphics are almost too simple, but the game itself is fun. Good music too, I like how it changes throughout the level.

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14am

Music's super loud, but the game itself is pretty fun, if the gravity flip mechanic has been slightly over-done. Despite the loudness, the fact that music builds up as you play and progress was a REALLY cool touch. A little more in the way of mechanics and it could be a pretty damn interesting experience if fleshed out to it's fullest.

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:33am

Nice mechanic. It's been done, but still fun. Good job.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:50am

Thanks for all the feedback so far guys.
I might work on getting some more builds out there, but it works fine on Chrome for me, but I have been using Safari to test.
The "Jittery"-ness is prob the camera movement, not anything about the actual game. I wanted a dynamic moving camera, but I didn't have too much time to polish it. I Just wanted to make sure it worked fine with the platforming.
Also I never played "vvvvvv" but I remember hearing about it. I know it's not the most original idea out there, and I am sure there are much better ideas out there for this cool jam idea, but was easy for me to do, can be expanded so much, and I had so many more ideas I wanted to put in but didn't have time.
Originally there was going to be a "gun" that would shoot. (That thing you pick up at the start), but it didn't look good (cause I'm no artists), and I thought it would look weird having you carrying it around all game. (It's actually still on the character, but I made it invisible, haha)
I thought the controls were a bit slippery myself at times, but I think it works itself out once your used to it. Unity's 2d physics is different in weird ways like how friction works, and I wanted the player's gravity to feel floating enough it would be fun, and have the enemy's gravity hold more weight so you can get around them.
Getting stuck on the walls is another thing because of the friction. I tried my best, but I didn't check every wall.
The hit boxes for the enemies were a little big, but I felt like it was't a big deal. Also I do remember that most people have smaller hit boxes, but I think I had the level design take care of it not being too big of a problem. Until the later and harder parts, but then it is meant to be hard.
Sorry the music is "loud", but just turn it down? Haha. When mastering the music it is a lot easier to just make everything louder then keeping things quieter, but with Unity's new audio tools I guess I could have then just lowered the volume on different tracks.
I'm also glad people are liking how the audio grows along with the level. Something I have wanted to do for a while, and glad I got to practice it here. Was a bit hard getting some of the loops to work right with compression and all that. But I mostly keep things the same tempo, and key for the most part, I think, haha.
I could totally make this into a mobile or even something bigger, but I would have to get a good artist or 5, haha.

Anyone made it to the end yet?

EwChap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:55am

Using gravity once enemies were in play was fun. Not super original, very jittery.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:22am

The overall game is pretty charming. The controls feel very jittery and uncomfortable. The Hitboxes are too large and the game is far too difficult for the buggy controls. I got stuck multiple times in some wall.The wobbling mouth of the character in the walk animation is funny :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:28am

Impressive as hell...

jprogman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42am

I couldn't finish the game as it got too difficult. I think I was near the end since the level just got long and deadly. There are spots where controls are very touchy. Often the character accelerates too fast and the gravity is too heavy to get my reaction. The game is okay, but I don't like how there are long levels with multiple difficult parts with no checkpoints.

sally_anne says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:02am

why is gravity not the shift key?! Other than that it was pretty fun knocking all the blocks around.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:44am

The music is a bit too much for me. Controls are a bit wonky, but manageable. Otherwise it's a nice little game :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:05am

The Momentum kinda takes over as the browser lags it out.

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:11am

I'm bad at platformer game, got stuck on level 2

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:40am

That music is wayyyy too loud.

The gameplay is pretty good though, and while your original mechanic looks like it came from VVVVVV there are some major differences (e.x. how you can still shift the direction of gravity mid-air, how enemies work, etc).

The aesthetic is very pleasing.

Granted, I am skeptical about this fitting in with the theme. This mechanic only works as a weapon if the level design allows for it. But with that aside, great entry.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:13am

Nice VVVVVV reference ! The beginning was so scary !

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:19am

The player moves quite strangely, but I found it quite fun!

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:04pm

It reminds me to VVVVVV. I like the game.

daleth90 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Sadly saying, there's already a game called VVVVVV on Steam.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Nice VVVVVV inspired game - I enjoyed hovering in mid-air and flying around the levels.. also the "shift" sound effect is great, really felt good.

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:37pm

I really love the music :D It's kinda crazy. I had a lot of fun playing this.

PaulJs says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

For me it does not really respect the theme. There are more survival as there fighting.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Good job ! :)

pavel_insight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Interesting game (it's like flappy bird, but better))), nice music!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Thanks for more feedback!
I wanted to put in checkpoints but ran out of time :/
I also wanted to use the shift key also but I ran out of time xD haha.
Also I think I should go play "VVVVVV" now, haha.
People are calling the idea unoriginal, but that is the only other game they are referencing. Guess it must be that popular? haha

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Minimalistic and it has been done before. A little glitchy. 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

gruhn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Should have some visual feedback of the controls.

recursor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Very vvvvvv-esque. The music is indeed loud and a bit dissonant. It would be nice to have the option to mute it. My kids are enjoying this game as I'm typing this.

Tomcat94 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48am

Great level design, you placed the first enemy in a spot where we would instinctively shift, which would show us how to kill the enemy.
My only complaints are with the movement and gravity; the character would occasionally run so fast he would jitter around, and VVVVVV did the gravity switching thing well by making the gravity shift immediate instead of gradual.
Also, I feel like there was a huge missed opportunity here. You called the game SHIFT, but you press the mouse to shift gravity instead of using the shift key to shift instead.
All in all, a fresh coat of paint, some tighter controls, and switching shift to the shift key would make this game far more fun, but it's still a neat game nonetheless.

syawqy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:54am

yeah, you should play VVVVV
there's even the free version that come with a level editor, but you can only play the fan made level with that

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:20am

one of the coolest games i've seen so far! the music, the art style, loved it! one minor suggestion would be avoiding fade out/fade in of the background music between the state changes, as it kind of hurts the mood. but still, amazing job overall! :)

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Just went and played the "VVVVV" Demo, and yea that game is a bit tighter cause the camera doesn't move around at all. But I wanted to go back to my idea of shifting whenever you want, haha. I thought it was fun to float around. Maybe make a challenge where you never touch the ground? ;) haha
And I do love having me some nice level design, haha.
Also the shift in gravity is immediate, but because (Unlike "VVVVV") you can shift in the air, you have that momentum. Which I wish I could have done more fun things with too.
I'm still kicking myself I forgot to make it also the shift key to shift, but I bitterly ran out of time, haha. And does it really hinder your fun that much?

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29am

I also might have gone a bit overboard with the screen shake at times, and that might make it seam even more jittery to some people.
And if I didn't fade in the extra tracks then how would I have brought them in?

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04am

Not sure if that s a weapon. Still fun.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14am

Clever - I like how you use the gravity switching mechanic as a weapon. Wouldn't have thought of that, certainly. And I agree that it borrows from vvvvvv, but I really like that you can switch in mid-air, something I always tried to do in vvvvvv but couldn't. Nicely dev'd!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:23am

I liked the main character, music was good. Reminds me of vvvvv. Good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:11am

WELL DONE! its awesome to see a game created that actually uses some sort of non written tutorial (when you switch the gravity and the red dude dies demenstrating that is how you kill enemies. also the graphical style and gameplay elements are very similiar to my ios game so i love it :) tinyurl.com/galaxyc

skiddings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19am

It's a cool concept, a more aggressive version of vvvvvvvv and the music is cool.
But the player control is very juddery on my browser and the camera didn't keep up with the player when falling so that led to a lot of deaths.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:25am

Playing with the cubes is funny

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30am

Decent game, though it tends to get frustrating as you progress.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05am

Reminds me a lot of VVVVVV, with the gravity flipping and flip-flying. Not bad. Using the webplayer on this page, the game popped out of fullscreen mode every time I clicked it (Firefox). It looks like you left a development console turned on, too, which was always open with a note about a NullReferenceException. And the game froze on me in level... 3, I think? When I died at the first exploding dude.

It's got potential. The mechanic feels good, so it comes down to making interesting puzzles out of it.

pta2002 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:32am

RAAAAAAAAAGEEEEEEE
Great game :D Definetly gona try to beat it...

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58am

cool concept and more work on the graphics could make a big difference. ! :)

kikijin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:20am

Good idea but the 2nd obstacle is very difficult unfortunately

abuzreq says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:43am

It's hard ,not much motivated me to try over and over
the gravity shift although good idea might need some tuning in how it's implemented

RaysAndLazors says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:45am

The screenshake felt a little bit excessive, the motion felt jiggly and uneven. Outside the physics bugs, nice platformer there. I can see how using spikes and gravity can be considered an unconventional weapon :P

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28pm

The music so loud, but if you mute game its nice.

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Camera was jittery, but besides that I really enjoyed it. You also should've made the shift gravity button shift, could've worked on multiple levels, just sayin'.

Had a good time playing this one!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:39pm

I like the details, the screen shake and she walking animation.
I think the sideways movement is a bit cropped, I dont know if its just on my pc. Still, it was fun.

helekopeter says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Damn unity webplayer!!!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04pm

A really nice VVVVVV-clone. I like the new elements you added but I think that the camera and controls are a bit too clunky.

PurpleApes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:13pm

Awesome !!!!

hbocao says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:07pm

The movement is a bit weird and the music is "loud" and annoying at certain point, but you did it! It may be no the most original idea, but it was fun to play it.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Plays like it needs adjustments to its mechanics. I couldn't get past the first level where there are spikes up and down. Music gets repetitive fast. Keep up the effort and improve on it!

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09pm

i think the bgm could just play and dont stop at each level change

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09pm

I thought I need theese cubes in level 2 so I made an effort to push them through whole level (including the single first cube) :)

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Was pretty cool, like the use of gravity although some of the puzzles are hard to get passed until you figure out how delicate the grav switch is. good job!

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Glad everyone is still having fun! (And still thinking it was based off "VVVVV" even if I didn't play that game until yesterday)
I also think every game in the compo could have used more fine tuned mechanics, but I deff didn't have the time for that. Oh well.
I know about the bug with the bad guys, but the enemies were made with minimal effort so wish I could have spent more time on them.
Also glad to see people loving the blocks! I was going to try and maybe use then for a puzzle or too, but it is hard when you have to think about the main mechanic too. I kept them in case I thought they were fun to play around with too, and they get in the way more then help you so they are kinda like a soft obstacle. They can save you from the spikes, or push you into them, haha. Such is life.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Wooah This is nice!
Really Enjoyable! Nice job

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

it is at least fun, nice :)

nicotuason says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:31am

At first I thought it was just going to be like VVVVVV, but the puzzles are actually quite clever! Killer music too, great job!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:17am

ok, I don't know if i'm impaired from being tired, but this seems to be stupidly hard. I have trouble getting very far in it, and I'm thinking it's because the controls/gravity switch are quite floated, especially when you play games of similar nature such as vvvvvvv

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:30am

Very cool. The way the music builds over the course of the levels really blew me away.

dusho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:03pm

nice game.. and yes, music became bit loud after time
sometimes reminded me of my flappy bird experience

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:25am

the music gets rediculously loud, and clashes with it's overlaping self. the game is rediculously challenging, and i feel like the levels could have been structured much better.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Nice idea, very cool game. I love the music too. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]