Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Color Sound

by ShadowTzu - Compo Entry

Hi,
I present my game using a new TypeScript and not finished tools available in early access there are 1 month: Superpowers. So if you like it, be gentle :)

My basic idea was to create a sound-based weapon. When you kill monsters (pretty Slims) made you drop on the floor of items representing a sound. Each sound can be dragged and dropped into the interface. Then when you use your weapons now sounds above are played randomly.
Unfortunately, I do not have time to finish them.

Try still have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#518Innovation3.15
#618Theme3.27
#653Audio2.44
#685Fun2.90
#794Overall2.90
#863Humor2.07
#868Graphics2.50
#928Mood2.38

Comments

Joystikman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:54am

The idea is pretty cool. Good luck for Superpowers, I wait the release ;)

callumW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:25am

Really liked how the sound weapon mechanic worked. How it spread out and bounced.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:53am

I liked the waves bouncing everywhere. It did not seem like the waves went in order though. If you have green-blue-yellow-red, I think it would make more sense for the waves to fire in that order.

Also, I got to 800 score and I think defeated all enemies, but did not find anywhere else to go. I am guessing that is the end of the game?

ShadowTzu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:58am

yes, sorry, I do not have time to make a "Game over" screen. Your opinions are important thank you!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:03pm

I like the idea of it - the weapon feels right and it just needs some extra work to take this from a prototype to something really really good. It's like, you've got just enough there that you can see what you're trying to achieve, and you can tell it's a good idea that just hasn't yet come to fruition.

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:08pm

I did not know at first what to do with the powerup on the floor.

I liked the idea.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:12pm

It's a great concept, but it's a type of game that requires more polish. Well done for a Ludum Dare. You should finish this game! :)

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:20pm

I really liked the concept, and I had some fun figuring out what each power-up does.

Qui says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

I enjoyed it!

Hectigo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:42pm

This project has potential, with some tweaking this prototype could be made into a really cool game. First of all I'd slow the rate of fire considerably, try to add more interesting enemy behaviors and level design to play up what's special about the game. On the graphics side maybe the weapon could be presented as a musical instrument to make the concept even more unique.

ShadowTzu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:51pm

I agree with your opinion, thank you!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:13pm

The game crashed when I tried to trag the Lo powerup to the bar, otherwise it would be nice with some explenations in game.

plams says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:51am

Fun mechanic, felt satisfying to spam enemies. I would have liked a boss or something - I think I killed everything :)

Shimone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:52am

I can't play the game... It crashes as soon as it loads on Safari.

ShadowTzu says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:44am

yes, Superpowers is not compatible with Safari

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Cool game - could have needed the techno beat playing all the time though :)

jhell says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:53am

Cool idea, but I didn't notice the attack sounds were changing, just the colors? The former would have been super cool! Anyways, clean execution, liked it mostly.

Borkleby says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:37am

Wow, this is really well made. I love the bouncing off the walls effect, and the customizable weapon made it even better! 5 stars!

MegaBrutal says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:43am

I think it's too hard to kill enemies, and I have no idea what to do with the icons dropped by enemies. Probably it's because the game is unfinished.

You get 3 in all categories, and I'll be curious about the finished version. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]