Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Canker Blossom

by Headmade - Compo Entry

Warning: This game contains Shakespearean swearing.

To run the game download and run the Canker_Blossom.jar
Drag and drop the Words from the left onto the ??? on the right. If you arange the words correctly you can attack.

Made with LibGdx, Audacity, Photoshop, Krita.
Music: http://www.abundant-music.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#121Humor3.69
#131Audio3.55
#141Theme3.90
#226Mood3.36
#241Graphics3.63
#392Innovation3.34
#512Overall3.21
#571Fun3.03

Comments

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Couldn't find the jar on your link :(

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:24pm

good_will_flouting.jar
is what you are looking for. I just checked, it's there. It's probably confusing that the jar has a different name then the game, so I will change that if I can.

Headmade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Ok I'm stupid. It was there for me, because I was logged in. No it's really there. I renamed the jar "Canker_Blossom.jar"

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice art style and music. But the game is hard to those that haven't a good english (just like me)

Smiley says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:58pm

nice idea.. reminds me of the sword fighting with insults in Monkey Island :)

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Haha! I really liked this game, for all its simplicity. Or maybe I just like Shakespearean insults.

I often wanted to switch the words around once I put them in, and it would be really helpful if I could pick them up from my speech bubble and switch them in that way.

That's about the only critique I can think of.

The most infectious pestilence upon thee! :)

Leandrus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Good game. That was hard for me. i aturally speak spanish and i need it to be more slow to create the sentences.
also the font used didn't help me :P
Thanks for sharing.

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Game has lovely charm. Really pushing me to read faster too :P

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

My first thoughts on viewing the screenshot were "Defender of the Crown 4TW!", then again I am old and nobody knows that game anymore. Also, I once studies English and had a class on Shakespeare and I don't remember any of it anymore.

So this was like a whole new experience for me. And after getting stabbed in the temple a couple of times in a row, i got the hang of it, and it's like Monkey Island's sword fights in a very lovely medieval setting. Bonus points for the coat of arms with a joystick :)

I only wish that I had more time preparing longer replies, because the combination of the choice of font, the old language and making sense of the right order puts me under exactly the same amount of stress like I had in my English exams. Did I mention I failed the course? ;)

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:52am

Ok this time I got it :). Fun little game, well-made and flows well, I found the timing good on most encounters and defeated-insulted a lot of knights :D.
I also liked the animation of the oncoming knight, music is OK though could have been more "medieval" maybe, and ofc loved the mini laugh voice-over.

To answer your comment on MagDef: Yes, I totally used abundant-music :). For the progression, I'm afraid that if I make it quicker, the later planets will become too difficult. I'll think about it.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Ha ha! There's a Monkey Island swordfighting vibe to it :) Good fun!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Graphics and audio were good. I did chuckle at all the Shakespearean vulgarity. You fishmonger you.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Funny design. It's a bit difficult to target the destination positions, though. Fixing that little flaw would make it still more enjoyable.

hexagore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:35pm

This may be my favourite game so far. This is genuinely amusing on a deep level. Got to love Shakespearian insults. :)

Lizzip says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:38pm

Thou cullionly fool-born vassal! I don't know what that means, but I enjoyed the game.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

must say that i sucked hard :/ but still i enjoyed the experience :)

Ryusui says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I love the overall premise, though the interface felt a little clunky - I think the drag-and-drop approach is a bigger impediment to assembling these insults than actually parsing the Shakespearean English. ^_^;

I think a faster-paced game would suit this premise nicely, like multiple rounds of assembling insults against the same opponent. I'll confess I'm thinking specifically of the end of the Panic Talk Action sequences in Danganronpa 2, where you have to assemble the final statement which refutes your opponent's claim by quickly pressing four buttons (corresponding to parts of the statement) in the right order.

...on that note, if battles involving words are your thing, DEFINITELY give the two Danganronpa games a go.

Backlund says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Good job

VDZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:58pm

Cool idea, and ye olde English is really amusing, but gameplay-wise it's not executed nearly as well as it could've been. Using drag & drop rather than clicking or pressing buttons make your mouse movements the deciding factor in winning or losing rather than any mental challenge. But more disappointingly, there doesn't seem to be any progress whatsoever in the game. You don't get a score and the game doesn't get any more difficult - you're just doing the same thing over and over again without there being any point to it, and when you're capable of doing it right almost every time it gets rather boring.

I loved the audio, though, and the graphics were nice. Interpretation of the theme was too obvious in my opinion.

VDZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:01pm

@Ryusui; oh man, don't remind me. ON THE BONE MEAT? ON THE MEAT BONE? MEAT ON THE BONE? THE MEAT ON BONE? I absolutely love Danganronpa 1/2, but MTB/PTA has always been the part I liked the least. But yes, other than that, Danganronpa is truly 'battle with words' done right. As well as many other things done right, actually.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:47pm

I had lots of fun with this game. It's also the most stressful game I have played this far, but in a good way.

It's a bit difficult to hit the right spot to drop the words, which is a bit frustrating.

Chaoseed says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Bizarre, but fun. ;) You did a good job making it simple but effective...also tense. The music and sound effects (effect) are great, too!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]