Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dagobert

by Jellyhard - Jam Entry

Dagobert is a puzzle platformer where you must help Dagobert get his sick pet to the the forest veterinarian.

Controls:
Movement -> WASD
Charge and Shoot -> SPACE
Reset level - R

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#233Graphics(Jam)3.84
#317Audio(Jam)3.20
#398Overall(Jam)3.36
#433Humor(Jam)3.05
#575Fun(Jam)2.98

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

Love the leaf that covered up the junk. Seed idea was cool. Need a charge bar for throwing distance. Nice art!

RedFil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:51am

Nice art and music. Liked the end, but wanted to see some more hard levels.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28am

I would make the tomato plant a lot more powerful, and not have it die so quickly. Lovely game!

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28am

Good idea and execution.
I think its hard to charge the seed, and control where it could land.
Really good art and music!

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:29am

Yeah, the junk leaf is awesome :D Well done, awesome game.

Chippington says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:28am

A charge bar or something like an arc predicting the trajectory would have been nice. The collision is a little wonky, like the seeds would hit the side of a wall and grow up instead of to the side. Enemies or the player has an unnecessarily large hitbox.

Really neat idea, though, and the sound effects/music were decent.

muromets says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:34am

Nice art, had a lot of fun

juxipolo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:39am

nice art, animation, and music. A bit frustrating to aim your throws

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:42am

Awesome game, i've finished this game.
Great idea using leaf, you just need to add power bar.

bradur says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:39am

This was a fun little puzzle game. The mechanics were interesting but I was having a rough time using the shooting system. It didn't feel very intuitive, and I missed lots of shots. I did manage to finish the game though.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:43am

Lovely artwork, and a neat game mechanic. It would be helpful to have a visual indication that the character is charging, perhaps with different levels to give more of a sense of how charged they are. Nice work!

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Cool seed idea, fits the theme quite well, good exaplanation of the game mechanics at the beginning.

guoboism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Nice idea, but control is odd. Seed shoot too near

ekkiiiii says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Great mechanics, especially considering the theme. As said by others before, a visual indicator for the throwing would have improved it a lot!

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:51pm

I like the game itself a lot, and the music and art style is pretty damn good as well. The only thing that seemed to bug me is the hardness on throwing the seeds at the right places > . <! Otherwise, great game!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Fun and challenging gameplay, the puzzles with the seeds were pretty fun. Also I'd suggest a power bar or an indicator on where the seed will land. The art is cute and I wonder how the backgrounds would turn out in parallax. Good job!

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:28pm

VERY nice use of a varied set of seed tools. Gets surprisingly tough early on, but there's some rock solid work here that makes sure even if it's hard it's always fair. Really nicely done!

peterfsat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Loved the art! Definitely needs a charge bar though, you can't tell where the seed is going to land. It took me some time to understand that there are specific seeds for each level, but other than that it was a nice puzzle game.

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Very well polished, great mechanics, well-designed puzzles! Good job!

2Bit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:43am

Cool mechanics, good art, I liked it.

dallonf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:49am

Gameplay was a little bit tedious and trial-and-error for my taste. I love the seeds as weapons, though, very unique! Amazing art style... although I must confess, I usually prefer a bit more than a leaf between me and a character's privates XD

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:18am

@Everyone: Thanks for playing our game and thanks for the feedback. We hear you and we're implementing a dotted aim to help you predict where your seed will land on the post jam version.

@dallonf: We feel you. After the game was done we realized that we ended up creating a very trial-and-error sorta game, that could get somewhat frustrating. We're aiming to adress that too in our next version.

Thank's again and we're looking forward to play your games too.

dydx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Cool puzzles, great art. Like others, I got a little frustrated with the aiming, but I beat the game anyway. The blue slug thing was my favorite, I wish we could have seen more of it. Nice job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Great Job! I have comments but only constructive...mostly things youve already thought anyway. I really enjoyed this

Big Cow says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:51pm

One of the most innovative entries I've seen so far, also a really unique interpretation of the theme. It could be improved by making it more intuitive to aim the projectiles, also would be good to have visual indication of charging.

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:58pm

Dagobert was... interesting. The controls I just couldn't get used to. I kept wanting to hit Space to jump causing me to waste a seed. That's entirely user problem though, I just need to get good. It could have been the muscle memory of using WASD to move then Space to jump from playing too many FPS? Arrow keys plus Space maybe would have worked better. The visual were great! Pixel are is so charming. Character design was funny. Love the leaf loincloth. Character movement was maybe a bit too jarring? Some minor acceleration time could have been really nice. Music was fitting. What this game really needed to compliment the "Hold to Shoot Farther" main mechanic was an indicator as to how long you've held vs. max hold time. Otherwise well done.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:52am

Clever concept, frustrating mechanics. I like the idea of planting bombs and keys to use but I hate how I have to position them JUUUUUUUUST right in order to make use of them. I kept having to restart the first "bomb fruit" level because the fruit kept sailing over the mook's head instead of hitting him!

goblin says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Loved the art and music, something that help with the aiming would be great.
Ckeck ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Very nice game, mechanic and concept. Like others said, the throwing of the seeds can be quite frustrating; I see what I have to do, but I have to try so many times because I just miss by very little. Other than that, I like the art and that you created several different seeds to throw with. Great entry!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:38am

Really love the graphics on this! Agree with first poster, charge bar would be a nice addition. Good job!

renatopp says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:46pm

Good game, congratulation. My only critic to it is the collisions, I really think you should work more on that. The art is great, so it is the humor. It is a great entry.

Mossy Frog says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:50am

brilliant little platformer. Love the leaf cencoring haha. The art looks fantastic too. Well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]