Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Block Trail

by Thor7791 - Compo Entry

You are a red square. Your goal is to get to the blue square. Avoid purple circles and yellow squares. However, you know that weird trail following you? It kills the yellow squares. Have fun wall-jumping through all 6 levels! This is the first game that I've ever made! There is no score system, no sounds, and no title screen but it's still my game. It was a challenge for me to come up with an idea, stick with it, and make a fast 2D movement system. I didn't REALLY stick with the theme but, eh. All feedback is appreciated except that which is simply "ur gm sux".

Things that I know are wrong and don't need to be pointed out to me:
My collision method is sketchy
It is impossible to jump straight up while next to a wall
No menus, scoring, or sound

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#206Fun3.53
#450Overall3.28
#612Mood2.86
#670Innovation2.92
#792Theme3.05

Comments

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:22am

Interesting game mechanics and level design.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:30am

I get what you were trying to do with the zooming, but it just seemed like a huge annoyance to me because of how much it moved.

The killing mechanic is cool, but in my opinion does not go well with the theme. Everything else was pretty much just any ol' platformer.

daleth90 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38am

Really interesting mechanic!!

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:07am

Great game. Pitty me it so short. I like puzzles it have.

siryakko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Fun and great mechanics.

piratequentin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Nice little game ;) but pity for menu :/

BtheDestroyer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Good game! I'll probably try speedrunning this later ;D

CireNeikual says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

I really like the mechanic, seems a bit underused though. I mostly just avoided enemies instead of destroying theme. This would make a great multiplayer party game though!

bace1000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Really wish there were more levels! Nice graphics style and it's very fun to play around with.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Not bad. The platforming is pretty smooth. I felt a little out of control sometimes with left-right movement, slightly sharper turning might be in order.

I don't really know why the trail had to kill yellow guys. I played a second time and had no problem beating the game by just avoiding them.

Honestly, I would have prioritized making bigger and more interesting levels. I can accept a 1 minute game for a web game, but not for something I have to download and run myself.

Also, you should name the download files something more descriptive, I don't want a bunch of Windows.zip files sitting around, especially when I have tons of other Ludum Dare files in the same folder.

huminaboz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Fun to play, the trail meets the theme. Could be expanded into further gameplay features that depend on the trail for navigation.

purenickery says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:03pm

This was a fantastic entry for it being your first game! It played really well and I liked the camera zooming. I thought some of the levels seemed a bit out of order in difficulty, and they also started to repeat without warning, but great job!

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Love the level design.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Very fluid movement, impressive.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:54am

Very cool, I like the minimalism

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:19am

I would've put this up for Graphics voting; I thought the visuals worked really well. Simplistic but fitting for the game. Jumping was nice to; just would be cool to have more levels.

remiv says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:03am

I like the simplicity of it all. And the weapon make an interesting fighting style.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Not bad for your first game! It was legitimately fun!

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Fun game, and nice clean design. I really liked the controls and the ability to wall jump/stick, the only problem was that they seemed a bit too sensitive.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Nice Game, the feedback to the palyer input reminds me of Super Meat boy. Nice Idea to use the trails as a Weapon.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41pm

The feel of the platforming here is really unique, and I like it. The clean graphical style is also great. I'd love to more levels where you really have to use your trail-killing ability in interesting ways. Great job!

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Fun short Super Meat Boy style game. It would be a nice if there was a way to quit the game without having to alt-f4.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:21am

I loved how smooth it felt and the minimalist aesthetic combined with the physics and block trails made it very pretty :)

f7f5 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:05pm

Movement was super-cool, but you need some more control over that sliding.

There were some bugs on level 4 (the 1st with the purple things, had 2 yellow squares, both on the same platform - sometimes one of them just flew off the right side and the other seemed stuck - that's how I cleared the level!)

The graphics, despite having very simple shapes worked out really well! Why did you opt out of that category?

And please name the zipped folder something better that "Linux" :)

Hovester says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Simple and Fun good work !!

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:28pm

I'm getting a 404 on the windows dropbox link

Thor7791 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:43pm

Sorry, fixed it.

lizard455 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Am I the only one getting the linux download when I click windows?

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:32pm

I also get the Linux file when I click Windows.

Thor7791 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:04am

Now it's really all fixed!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:00pm

I liked it! Nice mechanics, but I would like to play more levels in which it is not so easy to avoid the yellow blocks. Good first game!

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

wcwedin says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Pretty fun; cool idea. The ability to wall-jump off the same wall repeatedly is way overpowered. I used it to do a full pacifist run my second time through, though, which was pretty easy until level 6.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]