Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceBabyShooter

by Vulture Tamer - Compo Entry

This is a modern take on the popular asteroid games.

you start with low ammo! pick up babies to get extra ammo!


bullets: 'X'
bombs: 'C'

move with arrow keys like a top down racer!

it's hard so beware :p

make sure to post your highscore in the comments!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#556Humor2.70
#582Audio2.63
#715Theme3.16
#916Fun2.56
#959Graphics2.31
#982Mood2.23
#1006Overall2.60
#1021Innovation2.24
#1436Coolness46%

Comments

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Nice music, but I found the controls a little off. It's also frustrating to get destroyed because the new asteroid popped right next to you.

sawyerWeld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I like the music!

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

I found the controls pretty frustrating (manoeuvring the ship was hard work) but it was a fun little game. Good work!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Goofy fun!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:07am

I got killed by an asteroid right after starting the game. I kept retrying over and over to see if I ever got a Baby Bomb (they are the green babies, right?) to throw it and see how it exploded. I like how you made the graphics look like childlike drawings, suits your concept perfectly!

UltraRat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10am

you're right about it being hard, but then again I'm not great at asteroids.
hehe... the logo looks like "SBS: pace aby hooter"

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:54am

Pretty raw in terms of graphics, but good job :)

Cstudios says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Fun fact: SBS is standing for private security agency in slovak. So the title was super fun. The game was okay, I liked the exploding baby!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:38pm

You're the only other baby-related game in this competition. I respect that. There needs to be more baby representation in this competition. More babies equals more happiness for the whole world. Keep fighting the baby fight.

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:26am

Controls were weird. Game was fun :D. Good use of babies.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]