Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Trap For Ants

by wellingtonbecker - Jam Entry

It aims to destroy the ants before they find the sugar using a magnifying glass. System of integrated records.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#191Fun(Jam)3.54
#257Theme(Jam)3.72
#279Overall(Jam)3.50
#317Audio(Jam)3.20
#397Humor(Jam)3.12
#518Innovation(Jam)3.09
#545Mood(Jam)3.02
#624Graphics(Jam)3.07

Comments

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Cool little game, I got 37! I love the magnifying effect and how you also used it in the menu to have a common theme.

I saw in the credits that you specified another person. That should technically disqualify you from the Compo and you should register this for the Jam I think.

Sytech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Cool magnifying glass effect! Good idea, but it became repetitive after a while.

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Interestingly, it is more fun to play than I was expecting.

But the game is full of bugs. ;)

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:43pm

This game is hilarious! So simple but totally fun!
Scored 261!!!
If you are going to develop it further, here are some things to add:
- Bigger ants taking more time to kill
- Animations
- Ants coming from all sides
- Increasing difficulty over time

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Nice game! I really loved the music and art style, I scored 189 points =D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Thank you for playing my game and for the tips . I am very happy.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Very fun little game! The magnification effect was really well done, great job!

Xinelu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:59pm

I hate ants

5/5 to you pal!

freeholdgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:03am

Ants are the natural enemy of man. Relive the halcyon days of youth.

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:17am

I played that for much longer than I expected. Ending up killing 284 of the things. Simple but amusing, nice work.

-Hando

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:38am

Have all my stars! This was amazing!!

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:49am

Fun game! I got 129. It was quite difficult to get the ants out in the open due to the distortion on the magnifying glass, but I assume that was intentional. I realised quickly that the best strategy was to let the ants come to the sugar and then destroy them at the last minute. Multiple sugar piles would invalidate this strategy.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:19am

A bit addicting, but ultimately not enough variety. I stopped at 250... It became very easy when I realized that the ants only had 8 different spawn points. The magnification effect was cool! Also, the music added a lot!

2Bit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:36am

I really liked how the magnifying glass affects aiming at the ants. Cool game.

ianb96 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:38am

This game is very polished and well done! I got 216!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:46am

Perfectly simple but effective fun. The strong must protect the sweet!

jukben says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Simple game, but fun. 107 score! Gj!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:29pm

I really like you game, it's entertaining and addicting. The optics of the magnifying glass makes it not too easy. I had to laugh when I realized that the pile of sugar actually shrinks when ants reach it.

jushii says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:39am

Love the magnifying glass effect! :D It's so annoying when you just spin the glass around without hitting the ant. :D Killed a bit over 100 ants on the first try. Good job!

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:49am

Hahahaha! I loved it! Really liked the magnification, it added a bit of disorientation and increased the difficulty. And the wiggle of the ants was a nice effect to simulate running when there was no leg movement. Simple, but nice job. I got to 87.

Selzier says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:49am

Good Job!!!

yuigoto says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Whoa, this is fun! You made it simple, but in the best possible way! :)

The whole package (graphics + audio + concept + gameplay) works really well together and the game is well balanced on difficulty.

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:39am

This has the potential to become a serious addiction.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:17am

51!

Shivur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Good idea!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:30pm

I really like games with ants for starters and I liked this one as well :-) Great Job

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:19pm

I got to 125 on the first play and turned it off a bit disappointed that no other enemy types or difficulty increase would happen. But other than that, a fun game with a lot of potential. I, for one, really enjoy the magnifying glass effect. Kudos!

MegaPonies says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:03am

133 fried ants here :p
The very cool magnifying lens effect adds to the challenge of hitting the little buggers!
Nicely done!

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 3:29am

Fun little game. :D Great magnifying effect there!

elpaulo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Fun game, a little bit repetitive, but fun :-)

KloudRazor says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Much better implemented than my version xD

CiderPunk says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:18pm

haha it's like being at school again! excellent magnifier effect

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]