Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Gun Gun Evolution

by Indiestry - Compo Entry

Gun Gun Evolution is a kinda Rogue-like where you fight your way through dozens of enemies only to absurdly upgrade your weapon.

Software used:
Gamemaker Studio
Paint.net
BFXR.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#152Fun3.64
#422Humor2.96
#459Mood3.04
#477Overall3.25
#646Audio2.46
#692Graphics2.83
#787Innovation2.75
#856Theme2.92

Comments

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I like it! I noticed the nod at Hotline Miami as well as how you kept within the theme. The weapons started getting fun after I got my first upgrades. A few times I've had enemies spawn out of bounds, though I suppose that's what happens with randomly generated levels. I'm not a huge fan of the large amount of screen shake, but that is just my preference. Great work!

Nilq says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Nice!

SadSmile says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Fun little game ;) I noticed some bugs, like enemys spawning outside of the level so i cant complete it :/ Still, gj man

Juin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:56pm

I liked the upgrades but the fact that the enemies did'nt get stonger and the levels did'nt change made them less interesting. The fact that enemies spawn out of bounds and you adding a "cheat" because of that really made the game feel pointless. But i really liked that you felt like you had a really overpowered weapon.

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:02pm

In most levels enemys spawned outside of the playing area and once I even did myself. Sometimes enemys/you just moved a LOT too fast and somtimes parts of the levels turned black for a short moment. But all this didnt keep this game from being very fun to play and quite addictive. Nicly done.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01pm

It get repetitive fast, but the gameplay is nice.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Other than some spawning issues, sweet entry! The weapon felt really satisfying

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

Everything felt good in this game.
Good good.

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:18am

I really liked it. The action is really satisfying, and the ridiculous power-ups make each level very exciting. I'm glad that you implemented the skip-level feature (had to rely on it a few times). The game reminded me of both Teleglitch and Hotline Miami, but I'm not calling your game derivative. They're great games to take inspiration from, and I do think you combined the two games in a really fun way. Great job!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:21am

It was satisfying and the upgrades kept it fresh. Surely it can't be that hard to spawn enemies inside the area? :)

Indiestry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:30am

Fixed the Spawning-bug, but uploaded the game as a post-compo version to itch.io. For rating purposes you should play the bugged version I guess

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Ha, it even spawned me outside the map at one point. Only had to skip one level after which I got the laser show to rank II and could kill the enemies outside the map too :P.

Not much of a challenge, but it was interesting to have a really overpowered weapon for a change.

Replied to your comment on my game page, maybe you could expand upon your problem a bit more?

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Good game,but should work better in the level generation

philipp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Good feedback, although it was maybe a bit too much. Enemies could have been more challenging, but I really liked the chaos that unfolded after I had several upgrades.

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

uvwar says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:41pm

I like it! The screenshake would probably make me nauseous after a while, though, and you should watch out for the seizure inducing flashing SUCCESS. I thought the upgrade weapon tone could be a lot more pleasing sound that the annoying buzz. At one point my level was a dead end but the wall was open so I could walk out into the black area, which was strange. Fun game!

jmborden says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:47pm

This game just gets more and more ridiculous as it goes on! I played the compo version, so I imagine you fixed the bugs with enemies being generated outside of the dungeon as well as your character? High fun factor from me, but pretty far from the theme. The graphics were also very humorous.

sorlok says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Loved it! Things get out of hand real fast! (Audio was a bit too much for me to handle.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]