Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

WEEABO QUEST

by akios - Jam Entry

WARNING:hey guys, just warning that this is a PC focused game, so i recommend you download one of the desktop builds (PC,mac,linux)
web version is REALLY unstable.

your name is weeabo jones,

you have to defeat your enemies that stays between you and your waifu

so you can be happy again

check in-game instructions by pressing "I" key
also press shift to run, forgot to put that


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#81Humor(Jam)3.82
#549Theme(Jam)3.31
#557Audio(Jam)2.61
#612Fun(Jam)2.92
#762Mood(Jam)2.70
#821Graphics(Jam)2.59
#875Overall(Jam)2.77
#915Innovation(Jam)2.31

Comments

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:09am

Checked it out because of Filthy Frank reference, it was a good laugh. Only complaint really is ammo is scarce, round 3 or 4 I ran out even without missing many shots at all.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

haha nice take on the theme, good one.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:29am

Am I making my pillow scream by squeezing it at my black alien friends? If so, that's amazing! Please don't quote me though...

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32am

Music was a lot of fun, interesting game :P Definitely got pretty hard later on though.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24am

The weeabo song added a lot. I'm assuming you didn't have the rights to it though? I kinda wished it played through the game.

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41pm

S-sugoi desu ne!
(although, why there are only pleb-tier waifus?!)

Tridecimal says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:48pm

om my 神 ! that was amazing. But where the heck is Shouko Kirishima? She's my waifu!

nightlord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

congrats on finishing it. I couldn't get past level one :(. Here are the things i liked
- the main menu music <3
- the enemy design and animations

how this could be an even better game imho:
- some textural difference or color on the floor. I had difficulty seeing where the floor was sometimes
- slightly faster walk speed
- smaller pillow. when i am not shooting it covers like half of my visibility

congrats on a great game

akios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:44pm

guys, have you had problems with the LINUX or OSX builds?

if so please tell me.

nassi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:31pm

*Unsheathes waifu*
*Teleports behind you*
Why is there no button for flipping the pillow? That would've been useful. For reasons. Or maybe it should've been a victory animation.

Made it to round 3 but ran out of ammo and promptly got owned in melee combat. I wonder if I can take my waifu with me to Valhalla...

I think the selection of waifus was adequate and the basic gameplay worked. Maybe some variation would've been nice instead of just endless hordes of... Aliens?

resty says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Get to the round 4. Fun.
The music is so nice ~

Xanjos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Definitely one of the more stranger entries I've seen. I did have a good laugh though.

Jagang says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Missed some Power-Ups for variation, but all in all an..."interesting" concept :P

stvr says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Quirky little arena shooter, not bad! But after the first round my mouse stopped working :(

akios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:58pm

stvr, did you play the windows build?

web version has plenty of bugs

Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Laughed pretty hard at this entry, it's odd and surreal. The dark undertones complete the mood for this game. Cute entry overall.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Best game, I submit

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]