Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

It's The Room

by Miziziziz - Compo Entry

What's the unconventional weapon in this game?



controls - move the mouse
My idea was to make the room the weapon, it ended up turning into this

Added a post compo version with more levels and a minor audio bug fixed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#4Innovation4.52
#33Fun3.96
#48Mood3.86
#53Overall3.95
#137Audio3.52
#254Graphics3.61
#347Theme3.59
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34am

Failed to run on my machine (mac). Error just said "The Application LD32 cannot be opened."

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

I almost had a similar idea to this for my ideas, but I think you executed it a lot better than I would have. Physics are pretty freakin wonky, though I'd imagine trying to make a good physics engine in 48 hours would be really hard. Neat game. I liked the little touches like having the headphones pan when you move the room, though they do seem to pan rather abruptly when your near the edge.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35am

Very nicely put together and thought out. Having the room/level as the weapon is a great idea. I really love the art style too.Very well designed. Hats off. Great soundtrack as well.

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38am

@ChrisGaudino sorry about that; I have no way to test mac builds, just using Unity's export

@GhostBomb Thank you! I just used Unity so physics wasn't a problem :/
most of the wonkiness came from the way the room moves so fast. And glad the panning is noticeable :), was wondering if anyone would catch that

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40am

@TheBigShot thanks! :)

rukai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

I really liked the idea and the atmosphere, the game was very difficult though.

Wow says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:59am

Very very nice, I like the music, the mood was neat, the game was tidy and the difficulty curve was crisp and made sense.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Really cool little game, certainly is unconventional. Just too bad there wasn't time for more levels, I enjoyed the ones that were there.

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59pm

I quite enjoyed that, its short not many levels but love the idea of moving the level instead of the ball, awesome.
Great balance of frustrating and accomplishment.
Music fairly plain but at least theres music.
Some sound effects and graphics like particles for wall hits would add a bit.
Doesn't really have anything to do with the theme.
Theres an issue between level retries where I can't physically reset my mouse position, causing me to have to fail multiple tries inorder to get my mouse back into a position where I feel good to give the level a proper try again. Maybe a button a click to activate control at the start of a level would fix this.
Love the concept and would play this outside of the compo.

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:01am

Thanks for the feedback and critique everyone
The idea for this came about when I had the idea to make the room the unconventional weapon, then it sort of evolved into what it is.
I only had about 5 hours to make this, which is why there aren't many levels.
@SelfTitled is the cursor visible? it's not supposed to be, plus level movement isn't relative to mouse position, but only sensitivity.

MoltenMustafa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50am

hey dude, I played your game and wrote about it here -- http://pastebin.com/byfbeyJA. liked the mechanic a lot, very inventive. nicely done.

Sean says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:16am

Great! This is probably my favourite entry I've seen so far.
One minor issue: The mouse isn't locked, so if you play on a dual monitor setup there's a tendency to accidentally click outside the screen.

Aevek says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19am

Really cool little game, definitely an original interpretation of the theme. Struck the right balance between challenging and rewarding, even though some levels were hard I wanted to beat them so I kept trying. I would love to see what else you could do with these mechanics.

smikulcik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:50am

Great idea. Game play is fun and challenging. Difficult, but not too difficult.

VDZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:38am

Interesting and unusual game. I didn't truly get a feel for the controls until the final level where you have no choice but learn how to play the game properly. It's not the physics that are wonky, it's the player's interpretation of what he's doing. Definitely an interesting experience to slowly shift to a different perspective of what you're actually doing like that. The game is very short, however.

I like the minimalistic graphics. The music was nice, but it got repetitive after some time. Other audio was obviously lacking (especially a death sound would be welcome, as would a congratulatory sound for finishing a level).

As for the theme...I understand you tried to use the room as the weapon, but while you're definitely using the room, you're not using it as a weapon (or even remotely like one). So yeah, it doesn't really work out with the theme.

drludos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Great idea and fun game! The music and graphics set a very relaxing mood, and I like the mouse-launching mechanic - it reminds me of those old "pocket flipper" games that we had as kids :)

Congrats, you made a very original entry!

Jaloko says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:40am

Cool game, great use of the theme. I liked how the room position in the game changed affected the audio intensity. When I played in windowed mode it would have been nice if the cursor was locked to the game window, this did cause some difficulties. Overall good job.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:44am

Great mechanic, liked this entry but just wish the physics were slightly different cause I struggled with the movement. Fun game though and liked trying to figure out the different levels.

AsixJin says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:07pm

This was a nice idea...I just didn't care to much for the mouse controls.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Fun innovative game, a tiny bit frustrating but overall very well done.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:52am

Very fun and well done. The graphic part fit very well and the whole concept works perfectly.
Like for your LD30 entry, this one has a big potential (use of movement sensor for phone and tablet ?)

Miziziziz says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 3:28am

Thanks everyone! Really happy with this LD
and great suggestion @PatAfterMoon, this would work great on a touchscreen

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]