Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lucid

by Kain.Oborin - Jam Entry

As an assassin captured by The Corporation, you must bring down reality around you as you invade the dreams of others in order to escape.

There are two possible endings, the True Ending and the Bad Ending.

I did NOT make the music for this game. However, I am not opting out of the "Audio" category, due to the addition of voice acting. So the rating for Audio is not for the music itself, but the voice acting.

Special Thanks to the voice talents of Krow and Karla.
And to you the player.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2469Coolness0%

Comments

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13am

Pretty standard RPG, first one I've seen, however, there is voice acting, one of those unique games where people actually are able to voice that. Crucial point.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:04am

Awesome story, loved the use of voice acting

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51am

No pillar/10 - ign

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Made a Twitch highlight of my 2nd playthrough of this. http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/6578378

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I just finished the bad ending (and I have no idea how I'm supposed to get the good one XD). This Ludum Dare seemed to go better for you than LD30 (I didn't play your LD31 entry), which is great. It was a simple but effective RPG, I just wished the story had been less confusing. I really wanted to know more about those characters. Also adding voice acting is risky, you're really brave XD.

Anywya, congratulations on finishing! If you have time, please try out our new VN ;)

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:42am

Some very impressive work flow for only 8 hours ;) With some fleshing out, this could become a truly great RPG.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:21pm

cool sounds and graphics.. but the game is confusing..

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:02am

I got third ending. I went right to sleep after waking up from the second dream. It was glorious.

Back to seriousness, I thought the idea was very interesting, with a narrative game for Ludum Dare. Unfortunately, it felt like time was a huge factor in this development, because a lot of ideas seemed a bit cut short.

Using combat as a test of preparation and a puzzle on its own was really fascinating. I'd like to see more work done on the narrative.

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:02am

Do you even dream, bro?

Props for the voice acting. I wish that combat was deeper and that the voice acting was more consistent. That being said, I'd be interested in seeing where you guys develop it from here.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]