Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Lalyvilley

by From Smiling - Compo Entry

[ Description ]

Come pass through the little city of Lalyvilley.
You might find a thing or two.

It's a little game about exploring, and exploring choice. The weapon originally was thought out to be "Choice", but as jams go I cut the game down a lot! So it's now just some explorey-ness fun~
With a pretty unconventional battle scheme?

Anyways, enjoy and thanks for playing if you do!


[ Controls ]

Arrow Keys
Mouse or Alpha 0 ~ 5
F5 to Restart

[ Credits ]

Created by Taylor Bai-Woo (http://fromsmiling.com/)

A bit of extra audio added on,
BGM Song, "Forgotten Land" by Doxent Zsignmond

Also special thanks to Alan Hazelden & Randy Orenstein

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#16Graphics4.50
#17Mood4.19
#117Overall3.75
#261Fun3.42
#298Humor3.22
#504Innovation3.17

Comments

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:56am

Quite hard game as I didn't figure how to properly fight the dogs without losing life. I like the hand made graphics. ;)

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07am

Core dumps for me on linux.

From Smiling says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:14am

@bentglasstube Ah! I'm not sure if it'll help with core dumps? I just put up a Universal Linux build though.

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35am

Nice visuals and music. I didnt completly figured out how the combat works but it was fun anyway. I also got stuck in a wall once.

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:35am

THIS IS AMAZING! Please, make more!

Park says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:10am

I figured out the dogs (`・ω・´)” but I haven't gone past the second locked door yet. Fun game! Cute style. Great work!

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01am

Starts good. I never heard of graphics settings _Maybe_ before. The part I figured out about the fighting was to keep the monsters on my right side and press against them. I think though that the player needs easing into the game a little more. Have a simple monster solo to start and some health to regenerate right after. Basically the ramping up of the difficulty was too harsh. I liked the 2x1 tile size and the graphics a lot though, so I think it comes down to some level design and improving on the general difficulty.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:49am

Nice little game and like the way you used the dialogue as a way of communicating with the player at the end. The swaying of the player was a nice touch with the time limitations.The visuals worked really well and will be interested to see if you expand the world.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:52pm

The art is completely beautiful, I loved it. And the music fits in the mood pretty well.

I didn't really get the combat mechanic, which is a huge part of the game, I don't enjoyed it too much, maybe the game should focus more on exploration and talking.

P.D.: I liked the fact that you can stomp on flowers :D

zell2002 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Pretty tough! really liked the mood/style :D

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55pm

First, congratulations for making very interesting graphics only using 2 colours. Second, pretty nice game even though the combat mechanic is hard to get used to, I couldn't handle more than one enemy at a time and accidentally killed some people (sorry shaman guy).

Great job and good luck!

Volatile Dove says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Excellent and visually beautiful! Maybe a bit too difficult though. I managed to get 4 stars over 5.

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

chopsquare souls

23 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56pm

I really like this - the graphics looked nice and had a lovely bounce to them, and the way the level spread out was inviting. The fight with the dogs wasn't as hard as it seemed at first, either. However, the garden path was too hard (I cleared it once but lost the key to the chest) so I never made it through the final door :/

sydan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Loved the art style, it was beautiful and the mood of the environment kept me hooked. The dogs were hard to kill, harder than the guard and I had to play it a few times to get 3 keys but I did manage it. The combat could have been easier to handle.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52pm

I really like the overall mood of your game: pretty relaxed but mysterious movie, focus on exploration, interesting graphics. It's too bad the combat system is so hard. I keep dying because of the dogs and can't really explore the world as much as I want ='(

Ditto says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:39am

This game is adorable, and sad. I love it. I tried again and again but I can't get past the door though!:( I know WHAT to do, just can't pull it off haha, I'll have to try it again at some point!

I really dig the dialogs, and the way the flowers gets stomped upon, and the simple animations, and the fighting is super simple and smart! And I love that weight everything has and you can push it around! The color scheme is super nice! I love it!
Only thing that bothers me is the difficulty, haha! I mean, it's not too bad really, but for a jam game I feel it could be a bit more forgiving heh^^

Great job on this one, I'm impressed! :D

ianh says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:41am

You've got a really nice graphical style here... I keep dying to the dogs though :(

pistolshrimps says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:37am

great graphics and atmosphere! will you keep working on it?

OddballDave says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Great entry. Some humorous text. love the art. Good stuff.

rubna says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:07am

nice entry! I liked a lot of the ideas in this! didn't manage to get 5 keys though

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]