Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Haters Gonna Love

by Floko - Jam Entry

The world has been filled with hate ever since, and you must use the best weapon of all : Love!!

Hit the haters with positive thougts to transform them into better people!!!

Instructions :

Arrows : Move
Z : Attack
X : Dodge
C : ULTIMATE HAPPINESS FLURRY! ( A.K.A. Awesomeness )


Try not to get hit,and spread as much love as you can!



I developed this game with some help and support from my girlfriend , in about 20 Hours , and I'm pretty glad with the result :) hope you enjoy it :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#86Fun(Jam)3.80
#120Humor(Jam)3.70
#163Audio(Jam)3.57
#257Theme(Jam)3.72
#291Overall(Jam)3.48
#354Mood(Jam)3.30
#407Graphics(Jam)3.52
#731Innovation(Jam)2.72
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Lovely little game, very topical considering how many haters seem to be on the internet these days!

As you used Construct 2, I'd like to post your game on twitter, do you have a twitter handle or website I can link to?

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Nice game! love the awesome powerup!

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:11pm

lovely Theme :D. Sad i only got one awesomeness to use :-(

cicanci says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Fun game! Loved the graphics and the audio!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Fun arcade style game. Was quite challenging at first, but I played until I got a bit better and had some more fun. Would have been nice to gradually introduce the player to mechanics one at a time.

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Best Game I played so far. Simple yet fun

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:14pm

"eyepads", lol. Great job. The awesomeness was indeed awesome.

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Really like this game! Can't think of anything negative to say! The unicorn girl is so cute!!

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

That was so ridiculous... I absolutely loved it.

igorfelga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Great game!
Nice graphics and Audio (music is very funny).

concalf says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:32am

Hard to play on a qwertz keyboard. Love the comments and good idea.

Kardamom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:13am

Nice and sweet! I could probably have it even sweeter, more rainbowish - robot unicorn attack style. The mechanics seem balanced and support the idea of the game.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:32am

They should hustle as hard as they hate! ^_^
Also, loved dodge animation a lot!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:34am

Interesting little action game! Nice work!

MFEP says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:04pm

cute :3
I'm not good in it, though :I

peterkirk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:44pm

I like the "love to fight hate" thing you did with the theme. The longer I played and become used to the controls the more I enjoyed it.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:12pm

great entry. I really enjoyed the well done animations. Keep on the good work! :)

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26pm

love the gameplay. no weapon though.. super fun to pass the time. :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Good music, fun and challenging. Sometimes I felt that some enemies were too distant to be reached. I'm more used to the "wasd" control style. Good job!

ZYXer says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Haha, funny game! Controls feel smooth and the graphics are great, too. And the awesomeness is truely pure awesomeness! :D

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:05am

Very lovely, wish there was more awesomeness. That was pure joy.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:25am

Need more awesomeness! Fun game :D

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Fun game, liked the concept and gameplay kept me trying to beat my own score. The player movement was really smooth and I felt in control which kept me playing.

lochmann-apps says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:03am

Nice game! Enjoyed to play it!

Fabraz says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:01pm

3.5 overall.

Fun theme, the audio, controls, and mood are good. Add a good level of polish to a simple mechanic.

It's difficult! Would have been nice to have a way of regenerating hits or "awesomeness" uses over time/with coins, but great job for the time allotted!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]