Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Microwave Man

by AlexanderTeaH - Compo Entry

TWITTER @AlexanderTeaH

--------CONTROLS--------

WASD - move
Mouse - aim
Scroll wheel - manipulate firing arch
L - toggle lighting

--------SHORT SUMMARY--------

You are a guy, with a microwave gun, fighting sausages. Yeah.

--------GUN MECHANICS EXPLANATION--------
The damage the gun produces depends on the surface area with which the microwaves strike the target, meaning if you focus your beam, it'll do more damage but affect less enemies. It also depends on whether the target is behind another target by using what I call an absorption coefficient. However, some calculations are imperfect due to lack of time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#426Humor2.95
#520Theme3.38
#537Fun3.07
#558Graphics3.04
#653Audio2.44
#749Innovation2.81
#770Overall2.93
#945Mood2.33
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

awestsecurity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:06am

I had a lot of fun killing the sausages? in the beginning. The graphics were great, except the gun kind of stood out. The detail with the camera tilt on death was a very nice touch. I don't have a mouse so I didn't last long!

HenryBell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:14am

Cool game man , lots of fun to play around with

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18am

I really love the way the sausages explode! :P

very cool

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:58am

Very cool! Love that gun!

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

The game is really fun but the level seems like it was taken from super crate box.

zakchaos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:46am

the sounds were a bit grating for me, I had a hard time with it on my touch pad, but a good bit of fun for awhile,

Chibougamau says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:13am

The endless mode is a bit easy, you just have to stay in the lower corner and shoot. The gun is fun and I liked to use the gun. Good game!

MrDave says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

I really enjoyed the look and feel of this game, I played it far longer than I should have. Really fun to play and I thought it was really clever to change the size of the cone.

The sounds were good but did get annoying quickly, however I will not mark you down for that.

The graphics had a nice feel to them and that’s quite hard to pull off in a short period of time.

The game needs to get harder faster!

Split82 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:25pm

The gun is really interesting. I couldn't change the arc in web (unity web player) though. Anyway it was fun.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:15pm

Nice firing/exploding animations.
The problem with this game is that it's really easy to find a spot where ennemies can't approach us, while playing "fair" is way too hard. Need more balancing/level design, but the game "feels" good, which is already something important.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:25pm

The game felt good to play.

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Great explosions! And the way the waves already shot moved when you moved the gun. Nice. The eternal mode was kind of unbalanced though. It was really hard in the beginning, but as soon as I got into a corner and focused the beam a bit it was all really easy.

I think a nice touch would be if the focus of the gun drifted so that you continuously had to tweak it. The level design could have had some more work put in to it, but in general it is a great foundation to build upon.

stig1 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21pm

This was fun. I also loved the level design, looks neat!

frokes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Nice game! Really like the fact that the damage changes depending on the cone that you shoot. Overall nice sounds and nice and clean graphics but i feel like you need some kind of overheating or energy limit otherwise you can just camp in the survival mode and pretty much get an unlimited score...!

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57pm

160.3921 seconds ^^
First of all: GREAT GRAPHICS!! I love the outline shaders!! But I really love sausages and now I had to kill them :( I feels like I'm a bad person :P
But let's get back to the review:
The sound effects really match the game.
Really cool game to play! Definitely a recommendation to everyone!! :D

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:17pm

microwaves + sausage. ah, now i get it ;)

lparker says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

I had a lot of fun with this, my only thing is the gun really, it didn't fall inline with the rest of the style so it stood out, but I liked this alot.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Neat. It's a good idea which can be improved. Sounds are great, but you must change this ugly weapon. Thank you ++

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32pm

The gun was so awesome! Really awesome animation with that, and the enemies dying. I agree with Pierrec though, the game is too hard for me to play fair, and too easy when you just go in a corner. But the gun is still really cool! :)

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58am

I loved the death animations on the sausages and the main character. Really nailed it :) Feedback: I found the game to be too easy. I could just sit in the corner with the shallow angle gun and aim at the middle and that would be it. Some potential easy enhancements: Vary the pitch randomly on the sound effects. It will make the game sound much more dynamic. Add a spawn door on each side of the bottom floor so that you can't camp. Add a double jump to make the player more maneuverable. All in all, nice work :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Neat game. Well done. :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:52pm

I had fun shooting things. That's the important thing.

Goutye says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:15am

Microweave gun was fun but a little bit too hard to kill the enemy. However, thanks for this game!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Great fun and a nice mechanic with the altering wave. Good implementation and I lasted 179 seconds in endless mode! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]